We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Lion SLC; Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Red Lion SLC; Better than expected”
Reviewed July 20, 2007

Shuttle was prompt to and from the airport. Doorman attentive and opened the door for us at check-in. Check-in was fast. Hotel is divided into a tower section (with a Skybar) and a lower, three-sided suite stay. Avoid the partgoers and stay in the three sided, lower tower.
Room appeared recently renovated; new lighting, Bath and Body amenities, and faux Granite countertops (but nice) and ample pillows. King sized bed (pushed together two full size beds) would serve as tattletale that the room was not fully refurbished. Sadly, there is no breakfast room service card to hang on the door prior to retiring for the night, meaning you must get up and order breakfast or trust an order placed the night before was documented and correctly prepared for delivery at a specific time. Diner off the lobby was very good with friendly, attentive service and generous portions of quality food. Overall good value for price paid.

  • Liked — Access to airport and downtown.
  • Disliked — Smallest TV I had ever seen
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Notam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    238
    188
    139
    134
See reviews for
148
214
65
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

I spent three nights at the Red Lion for a conference. The conference was at Little America, which is adjacent to the Red Lion. The hotel shuttle from the airport was efficient, and the driver was courteous. Check-in was fast and friendly, the room was clean and made up every day. Everything that was supposed to keep water inside (toilet, pipes) did so, and everything that was supposed to let water run out (faucets, drain) did so as well, without undo noise. The hallways reminded me of the tri-wing hotels in Las Vegas, with elevators in the center, and a little maze to negotiate to get to your room.

Salt Lake City has some interesting liquor laws, which I understand were even more restrictive prior to the Salt Lake City Winter Olympics. To drink in a bar, you must be a member of a private club. Memberships, granted immediately upon payment, are available for $4 for three weeks, and this allows you to bring in seven additional guests. All the beer is 3.2%, and the mixed drinks are similarly proportioned. If you visit a place that brews its own beer, and there are several, there's no membership, and mixed drinks are still available. You're automatically a member at the hotel you're staying at.

  • Liked — Location and view
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CeeJayRocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2007

I won this room for $36./night on Priceline and would have been happy to pay more. My room was small but clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel has free parking. The bed was a pillowtop and had lots of pillows on it. There's even an outdoor jacuzzi and pool.

My one complaint is that the bottom half of each wall outlet did not work on 3 of the five room outlets (?!) and i had to buy a multiprong outlet so I could use my nightstand light and the clock radio at the same time. Odd.

Oh and avoid the overpriced diner located off the lobby. There's plenty of places to eat nearby that are better and cheaper.

I'm not sure why other people posting had such a bad time at the Red Lion. Maybe I got lucky but I think either they're too picky or they paid too much and expected more! This hotel is totally fine. Just don't pay more than $99 a night and you'll be satisfied.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank tobeginwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claymont, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2006

I was nervous about staying here because of some of the "iffy" reviews. In reality, for me, it was not perfect, but fine. They are doing a nice job in trying to get things all renovated, and indeed, my room was renovated. But they miss the mark on some things. My room was dusty, and the airvent in the ceiling by the door was so dusty that, well, I noticed it. The thermostat was grimy too. The new furniture, wall coverings, curtains, drapes, ceramic tile, rounded shower bar, big shower head, attractive lighting were nicely done in muted colors, and up-to-date styling and expectations. The spa type of amenities were a nice touch, with generous sized soaps. I found the bed to be totally comfortable ,and the fact that I had 4 pillows on each bed was great...no calling down for extras. There was a small hair dryer, iron/ironing board, small TV with so-so reception and limited channels, wireless internet which was free, but hard to access.

But I just got the feeling that the place was a little dirty around the edges for all the nice newer renovations.

Something that bothered me, that just might not bother another person, was the icky signs in all the elevators advertising the "Skybar" on the 13th floor. And by some of the "types" hanging in the lobby, I guess their advertising worked. I would think families and serious business typed would be put off by this...I was for sure.

The front dest people were friendly and accomodating to the point of reassigning me a new room when I checked in (as part of a larger group) because I did not want to be near the elevators.

All in all...a fine stay for my overnight, but not without some problems.

  • Liked — Price, newly renovated, amenities.
  • Disliked — A bit grimy, the signs for the "Skybar' Iin the elevator.
  • Tips/Secrets — Higher up, east side of the building will have mountain views, and sunrise views.
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Splanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2006

I had to stay at this hotel due to business requirements. Would have preferred a Hilton. Front desk was slow to answer simple questions. Dining room took an hour and fifteen mintues to deliver a simple salad to my room- The wall paper was peeling off the walls, the bathroom tub water never turned off, there were cobwebs above my mirror in my bathroom. It took three phone calls from my room to the front desk to set up a wake up call- dinners were cold and service slower. Ugh! Not sure the towels were ever changed as they were always dingy gray and not white- found a sardine cantainer on the lobby table while leaving one morning- Service staff always had an excuse and there were no managers to be found!

  • Liked — Getting to checkout
  • Disliked — The entire thing
  • Tips/Secrets — Choose a Hilton
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KB4731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salt Lake City hotels

Las Vegas, NV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2006

I wasn't sure what to expect. I got a Priceline price of $40 a night. The hotel is a bit older and has changed owners many times over the years. My experience there was very good. Upon check-in, I asked if my room would be in the new section. I was told that all of the rooms are newly renovated with the exception of the suites. The desk clerk was very helpful. My room was very nice. Great bed which was very comfortable. Nice amenities.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ruralemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison,Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2006

We just had a pleasant 3 night stay at the Red Lion. Our room was very clean and was updated within the last 3-5 years at the most. The beds were incredibly comfortable. We had 4 fluffy pillows to each bed. I would love to have a bed like that in my home. The room was on the 11th floor making it 2 floors under the night club, we were directly under ithe club too, but I could not hear a thing from it.
The staff was friendly and helpful. The shuttle drivers were friendly and drove sensibly. We were 5 blocks from the convention center and had planned on walking there each day, however, the blocks are considerably large in Salt Lake so it was a wonderful advantage having the shuttle there to take us. I would definitely stay at the Red Lion again.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Snow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#42 of 75 in Salt Lake City
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#44 of 75 in Salt Lake City
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#49 of 75 in Salt Lake City
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City

Property: Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Address: 161 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2702
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City 3*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Utah's state capitol, our downtown Salt Lake City hotel is ideal for groups of urban adventurers or intrepid solo travelers-anyone looking to experience the area like an SLC native. Welcome to the brand new Hotel RL Salt Lake City. Guests can make themselves at home with our great on-site amenities and satisfy their wanderlust with the sights and sounds of the city. Grab a cup of artisanal coffee from the on-site Victrola Coffee Roasters and help yourself to a free bike rental for an eco-friendly way to explore nearby attractions. Uniquely positioned near Temple Square, our hotel in Salt Lake City offers unrivaled access to this thriving city. Discover the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, check out the views from the Ensign Peak Hiking Trail, or learn about the cosmos at Clark Planetarium. In the evening you can catch a show at the Living Stage, our recently launched on-site venue featuring local artists and performers. Sit back and swap stories with other guests while you enjoy the laid-back atmosphere. These unique facilities, along with our prime location and comfortable accommodations, make Hotel RL an ideal starting point for your Salt Lake City adventure. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, the Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Salt Lake City partner: The Road Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Red Lion
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing