We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Lion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Friendly, accommodating staff. Nice remodel. Comfy beds. Great location downtown. Red's Lounge has great breakfast. DirectTV and channel options were great. I am terrible with names, but the woman who checked us in was super friendly!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Lala_Nuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 870 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here for New Years Eve. Room was nice and clean. The event held in the hotel was lots of fun however it was not put on by the hotel. It was a great night. Our stay was almost ruined when we went to check out. We were charged a $280 fee for smoking in our room; however my wife and I have never smoked a day in our lives. We got the run around for several days before we could get the charge taken off. The hotel manager was horrible about returning phone calls. Very poor customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogich24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Hello, and thank you for letting us know about your stay. Please accept our apology for any error on our part regarding the smoking fee. We’re happy to know that it was resolved to your satisfaction and regret any inconvenience this caused and any negligence on our part to respond quickly to your concerns. We’re also glad to hear you enjoyed the New Year’s event at the hotel and the room. We hope to see you again soon, either to ring in the new year or a weekend getaway. Best wishes to you and your family, and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel is very good if you realize that they are in the process of refurbishing it. The rate I received was good enough to make this worth it.
--very nice rooms
--good customer service
--location is good
--decent enough gym
--easy parking
--nice cookies and water upon my arrival
All of these reasons and an open mind have made for a very good stay. I almost think its like if you know what to expect its that much better. But in all fairness, its a work trip and not my actual money, so take that into consideration too.

Room Tip: ask to stay away from the construction, they were happy to work with me on that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Hallway molding fell off the wall in several places and remained on the floor for days. My toilet backed up with a single use. Maintenance repaired it, but the toilet backed up again and overflowed. Maintenance again attempted to fix the problem but the toilet overflowed a second time.

There were several burnt out lights in the bathroom.

Overall, the appearance and condition of the hotel and specifically the room bathroom was one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had.

I did report the issue to the asst GM who did respond to my initial report, but the both the bathroom and hallway issues remained through my 6 day stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

It's great to hear from you again. I apologize that the matters you mentioned were not addressed satisfactorily and hope they did not detract too much from your stay in Salt Lake City. We trust you had a successful conference and a great time skiing at the end. I hope to meet again on your next visit to our fair city, and we're confident it will be much improved. Have a great day, and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel held promise but it has seriously disappointed. The rooms were unbearably hot and never could quite cool down, even after my 2nd move to other rooms. The bed was lumpy and sunk in the middle. Pay $10 more a night and choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femag007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your recent stay, and please accept our sincere apology for the failings described in your review. Our apologies for the inconvenience associated with the uncomfortable temperature of the room and the disappointment with the bed. The comfort of our guests is our focus, and we are committed to ensure that we have a relaxing and inviting environment. Your comments will go far in helping us with our commitment. Based on your remarks, we completely understand your reluctance to return. Still, we would like to invite you back so that we may have another chance to provide the comfortable stay you expected. Best wishes to you, and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This use to be a great hotel and is currently being renovated. That's the good news and the bad. Literally had to step over construction mess every time we left or returned. Noisy all day and into early evening. No warning when we booked or checked in. The reduced price of $84/night should be the tip off. Often couldn't catch an elevator because of workers. 1st room had no hot water and missing weather stripping on slider, big cold air draft. Gave us a better room but we slept so poorly the 1st night that we decided to cancel 2nd. $50 charge for late check out = charge for leaving early. Beds were cozy, should be great when finished. But buyer beware!

Room Tip: Apparently the higher floors were updated first, W. side has poor view until sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlohaSpiritLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Comfortable.Would like to see a sleep number bed or memory foam next time.
tried the food one time...decent...Would like to have chicken marsala in menu.Hotel staffs were very nice.Only thing us that they forgot to give me the welcome packet for rewards member

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank KaushikGuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.3 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
#22 of 75 in Salt Lake City
976 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#51 of 75 in Salt Lake City
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#44 of 75 in Salt Lake City
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City

Address: 161 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $89 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City 3*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Utah's state capitol, our downtown Salt Lake City hotel is ideal for groups of urban adventurers or intrepid solo travelers-anyone looking to experience the area like an SLC native. Welcome to the brand new Hotel RL Salt Lake City. Guests can make themselves at home with our great on-site amenities and satisfy their wanderlust with the sights and sounds of the city. Grab a cup of artisanal coffee from the on-site Victrola Coffee Roasters and help yourself to a free bike rental for an eco-friendly way to explore nearby attractions. Uniquely positioned near Temple Square, our hotel in Salt Lake City offers unrivaled access to this thriving city. Discover the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, check out the views from the Ensign Peak Hiking Trail, or learn about the cosmos at Clark Planetarium. In the evening you can catch a show at the Living Stage, our recently launched on-site venue featuring local artists and performers. Sit back and swap stories with other guests while you enjoy the laid-back atmosphere. These unique facilities, along with our prime location and comfortable accommodations, make Hotel RL an ideal starting point for your Salt Lake City adventure. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, the Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Salt Lake City partner: The Road Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Red Lion
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing