We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Front Desk Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Front Desk Service”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel seems pretty well run and the front desk staff are always eager to assist. The room is a reasonable size and the bed gives a comfortable night's sleep. A couple of points I need to make. In the documentation for the hotel it gives instructions on what to do if there is a fire. It gives instruction to open the window, yet the locking mechanism has been removed, making this impossible.

Also, when using the Internet I continually got weird webpages from a company called CenturyLink trying to redirect me and telling me I had a virus on my computer. I showed the lady at the front desk and she said that it's not the hotel's ISP provider. Since leaving the hotel I have not had these webpages appear again. So the system really needs to be looked at as other less tech savvy computer users will be confused.

I did also request a room with a view of the mountains. I understand that requests can't always be granted but would be surprised to if every single other guest also requested the same. The hotel is in a reasonable spot. Further into the downtown area there are people constantly asking for money. I didn't see any of this near the hotel.

There is a Denny's just over a block away which offers reasonably priced food. I had a look at the diner in the hotel but it seemed somewhat over priced.

Overall it's quite an acceptable hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    238
    188
    140
    135
See reviews for
150
215
65
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I never give a complete excellent rating but the Red Lion deserves it. There were no rooms available anywhere. They went over and above to try and get me into a room. I was very tired when I walked in and by that point discouraged I thought I had to sleep in the car in January. But at the front desk they managed to get me into one. I was too tired to eat breakfast but ate there later in the day and enjoyed it too. Thank you so much you have a customer for life when I get back to Utah. I had to be there for business and a personal appointment at the hospital and was able to make both on time. Thank you I cannot say enough. Besides the front desk everyone there was great and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank ChristelMartens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is horrible! Not ventilation in the rooms. Way too warm in the rooms. Balcony doors are bolted, so you cannot open the doors for air. AC doesn't work to cool the rooms off. Warm air trickles out vent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dexter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We value your feedback and the opportunity to respond, especially when our guests have a less-than-ideal stay. Please accept our apology for the discomfort you experienced. I’m sure it doesn’t help to tell you that many of our balcony doors do open—only a small number are sealed for safety purposes. Shame on us if we failed to make every attempt to move you to one of these rooms. At any rate, more should have been done to make your stay more enjoyable. Perhaps you will give us another chance to demonstrate that this inconvenience was a rare one. Should you decide to stay again, please feel free to make special requests that would enhance your comfort. We offer you our best wishes and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salt Lake City hotels

Salt Lake City
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stay here a few times a year for work. This hotel is ckean the service is great and I always sleep good. Its close to the freeway and down town places to go shopping and resturants. They are just down the street from the city library. If you are a breakfast person you can get that right in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Marci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
584 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

It's a good location. The walk to and from town lets you explore the down town Salt Lake. The rooms are ok. It was a decent bed, clean bathrooms and quiet night's sleep. Not flash but a good place for one night's stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IOGWFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was very dissatisfied with the quality of the room. Vent did not work in the bathroom. I was into a hotel room that was already occupied by another guest. Ut too the manager 40 minutes to get me a new room that was still not to my satisfaction.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your various experiences while visiting our property. I would like to apologize that you were checked into an occupied room and that it too so long to get you a different room. . This is something we will be looking into and following up with front desk staff. We value you as a guest and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We needed a place to stay last minute arriving in Salt Lake City and heard Red Lion would be nice. After checking in we got a really nice room at a fair price! Super clean, really comfortable beds, great shower! Everything we needed. The carpark was average.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank OzziBye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#42 of 75 in Salt Lake City
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
#21 of 75 in Salt Lake City
933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#44 of 75 in Salt Lake City
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#49 of 75 in Salt Lake City
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City

Property: Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Address: 161 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2702
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City 3*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Utah's state capitol, our downtown Salt Lake City hotel is ideal for groups of urban adventurers or intrepid solo travelers-anyone looking to experience the area like an SLC native. Welcome to the brand new Hotel RL Salt Lake City. Guests can make themselves at home with our great on-site amenities and satisfy their wanderlust with the sights and sounds of the city. Grab a cup of artisanal coffee from the on-site Victrola Coffee Roasters and help yourself to a free bike rental for an eco-friendly way to explore nearby attractions. Uniquely positioned near Temple Square, our hotel in Salt Lake City offers unrivaled access to this thriving city. Discover the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, check out the views from the Ensign Peak Hiking Trail, or learn about the cosmos at Clark Planetarium. In the evening you can catch a show at the Living Stage, our recently launched on-site venue featuring local artists and performers. Sit back and swap stories with other guests while you enjoy the laid-back atmosphere. These unique facilities, along with our prime location and comfortable accommodations, make Hotel RL an ideal starting point for your Salt Lake City adventure. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, the Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Salt Lake City partner: The Road Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Red Lion
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing