We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salt Lake City
1 review
“Room Quality”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was very dissatisfied with the quality of the room. Vent did not work in the bathroom. I was into a hotel room that was already occupied by another guest. Ut too the manager 40 minutes to get me a new room that was still not to my satisfaction.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your various experiences while visiting our property. I would like to apologize that you were checked into an occupied room and that it too so long to get you a different room. . This is something we will be looking into and following up with front desk staff. We value you as a guest and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    238
    188
    139
    134
See reviews for
148
214
65
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We needed a place to stay last minute arriving in Salt Lake City and heard Red Lion would be nice. After checking in we got a really nice room at a fair price! Super clean, really comfortable beds, great shower! Everything we needed. The carpark was average.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank OzziBye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was a nice hotel to stay at. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The only thing that could have been improved was the breakfast. It looks like they are in the middle of updating it and the new parts look great!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Nichole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2013

There are some hotels that can be freshened by a remodel and stay relevant, this is not one of them. The hotel is going through a remodel of their lobby but IMHO that is akin to putting lipstick on a pig. The rooms are out dated, most amenities are non functional, and the room lighting is so dark it's impossible to see if the room is clean or dirty. I can only assume this is on purpose.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your various experiences while visiting our property. I would like to apologize for the poor lighting in your room and the construction that was going on in the lobby. We value you as a guest and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salt Lake City hotels

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

There was nothing spectacular about this hotel. They are doing renovations to their lobby and so you have to go to the back of the hotel to their makeshift lobby. It isn't very appealing and their check-in process was extremely slow. The rooms are ok. Just your average hotel room. And their lobby diner isn't that great. I would venture elsewhere if I were you.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ditzgrl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had traveled three hours on icy roads and we were looking forward to a warm bed and a meal. When we arrived we had to search for the entrance because they were remodeling their main lobby. I had expected to walk in to a bunch of smiling people at the check in desk but instead they were cold and unfriendly. One of the guys actually had a 'better than us' attitude. When we got up to our room it was warm and comfy. We had a nice view of the mountains. The main area where the bed is was nice and clean. However the bathroom could have been cleaned a lot better, the mirror could be clean and the lights had a layer of dust on them. The counter in the bathroom looked like it would buckle from the slightest of pressure. I would stay in the hotel again if the staff were friendlier and our room was in a little bit better condition. When we checked out the staff was no friendlier. It was our anniversary weekend and our only bad experience, was the horrible staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at the Red Lion in a heavy, cold, snow storm to find the two entrances with an adequate wheelchair ramp were locked. I called the phone number on the main door that read, call if you need assistance. I felt pushing a wheelchair in a blizzard qualified. The indifferent young lady who answered told me to go around back. We were attending a business function, or I would have left then. We loaded back into the car, drove around back, and found little if any wheelchair parking, and a ramp into the building that was too steep, and dangerously slippery.

Bottom line... If you are disabled, stay away from this place. They don't seem to care, and they are in violation of ADA. Even if you are renovating, it is no excuse to not make adequate arrangements for your disabled guests.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jb3962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We want to thank you for sharing your comments with us about your recent visit. More importantly, please accept our profound apology for the difficulties described in your review. There is no excuse for this type of welcome. Our objective is to make our hotel both inviting and easily accessible to all of our guests, regardless of their needs. For this reason, we provide many amenities for guests and associates that require accommodation, including entrances that are step, curb and incline free. You mentioned our south entrance—though it is outfitted with a ramp, it sounds like the weather conditions made this entryway problematic. Shame on us as it appears we failed to communicate our alternative, more accessible entrances. For any of the inconveniences we caused, please know we are filled with regret. Our only wish is that your business function was a huge success and you found some relaxation in your visit. Naturally, we hope you will give us another opportunity to better serve you. If you like, please contact us at your earliest convenience to further discuss your stay. We look forward to hearing from you and wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#42 of 75 in Salt Lake City
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#44 of 75 in Salt Lake City
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#49 of 75 in Salt Lake City
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City

Property: Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Address: 161 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2702
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City 3*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Utah's state capitol, our downtown Salt Lake City hotel is ideal for groups of urban adventurers or intrepid solo travelers-anyone looking to experience the area like an SLC native. Welcome to the brand new Hotel RL Salt Lake City. Guests can make themselves at home with our great on-site amenities and satisfy their wanderlust with the sights and sounds of the city. Grab a cup of artisanal coffee from the on-site Victrola Coffee Roasters and help yourself to a free bike rental for an eco-friendly way to explore nearby attractions. Uniquely positioned near Temple Square, our hotel in Salt Lake City offers unrivaled access to this thriving city. Discover the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, check out the views from the Ensign Peak Hiking Trail, or learn about the cosmos at Clark Planetarium. In the evening you can catch a show at the Living Stage, our recently launched on-site venue featuring local artists and performers. Sit back and swap stories with other guests while you enjoy the laid-back atmosphere. These unique facilities, along with our prime location and comfortable accommodations, make Hotel RL an ideal starting point for your Salt Lake City adventure. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, the Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Salt Lake City partner: The Road Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Red Lion
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing