We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's a good deal”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel amenities are ok and the service is ok too.
There is a free airport shuttle which is a big plus.
Breakfast is well served for a reasonable price.
Wi-fi works well but sometimes the signal is weak depending on where you are in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielGFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hello and thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at Red Lion Salt Lake Downtown. We’re happy to learn that you had an enjoyable visit and a good breakfast. We’ll do a little polishing on our service so that your next experience will jump from OK to FANTASTIC! And we’ll also take a closer look at our amenities and Wi-Fi to see where we can make improvements. For now, we just wanted to say thanks for your patronage and feedback. Have a wonderful day, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    242
    192
    142
    136
See reviews for
154
220
66
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked a stay for 3 nights (Thurs-Sat night) so we could attend the first Comic Con in town. First, we were bummed that the shuttles were not really used unless going to the airport. Understandable! So we walked.

The room we got was much smaller than expected- hardly enough room for our luggage and the pac-n-play for the baby to sleep in!

We were on the 4th floor, but we were constantly disturbed by strange, rumbling sounds (as if we were above/below a subway or something). Also I think the walls might just be very thin, because we could hear another family yelling through the hallway. If that wasn't bad enough, housekeeping paid us a visit at 8:17am on Saturday morning.

Though the room was supposed to be non-smoking, the moment we got off the elevator, you could smell that nasty, old tobacco smell. It permeated everything. Pretty gross.
Lastly, the cleaning staff does NOT do a good job at all! In fact, they actually left hair in our shower that was not there before they cleaned (my husband and I both have short hair and there was a long, dark hair under our soap bar AFTER they had come through). The carpet had stains and the chair in the room was ripped (I don't really care about that, but I was worried that they might try to blame it on us and charge us for it, but that did not happen).

OH and the "gym" was in such poor condition. They even had a treadmill situated under a huge ceiling leak; debris was falling on it and water was leaking through all over the power cords... hotel staff wedged a towel underneath it to soak up the water. Super safe. :P

Overall our stay in the hotel was not pleasant at all. I would highly suggest going somewhere else. We were able to get a special friends & family rate, and it still wasn't worth the price we paid. Take your hard-earned money elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_Very_Huckleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your recent stay, and please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings described in your review. There is no defense for interrupting a guest’s rest and relaxation, and your comments will serve as a reminder that our guest’s comfort is paramount. Based on your remarks, we completely understand your hesitation to return. Still, we would like to invite you back so that we may have another chance to provide the comfortable stay you expected. Best wishes to you and your family, and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salt Lake City hotels

Aloha, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel seemed nice and the location was good. The staff were helpful. However, rooms ending in "51" have the elevator right next to them and you get the sound of cables clanging and banging, and the elevator going up and down day and night. The balcony doors don't open and there are no windows, and it felt a little stuffy even with A/C. People booking through third parties like Expedia, Priceline, etc. don't get the free breakfast. We had one issue with housecleaning, but Erin at the front desk made good on the issues.

Room Tip: Don't use rooms next to the elevator. East facing rooms might have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mugshotmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Shabby, tired and grubby. By 10pm the noise in our second floor room was so bad we thought we were above an underground train line. So we moved, at 10.30pm to a 9th floor room. The stink of stale tobacco smoke hit us as we opened the door, and this was a non smoking room. By this time after a long day of travelling we were too tired to change again so we went to bed...and I laid my head on a pillow stinking of someone else's greasy hair. We could put up with the concrete wall four feet from our window on the 2nd floor but noise, stinking rooms, soiled used smelly pillows, no..never. Go somewhere else. Sleep in your car. Just don't go there.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caro-arrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your recent stay. Please accept our apology for the disturbance and the subsequent inconvenience of changing rooms. All of our guests are entitled to a good night’s rest, and we are greatly disappointed to learn your experience was less than superior. We are also alarmed to hear about the tobacco smell emanating from the room. We are a 100% smoke-free hotel and are committed to removing any lingering cigarette smoke in cases where a guest violates this policy. While we can understand your reluctance in returning to the hotel based on your remarks, we certainly would appreciate another opportunity to welcome you. We hope to hear from you again and wish you a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Came in late and found a very unfriendly staff member who put me up on the ground floor, first room, overlooking garbage bins and a gas station, while the balance of the hotel remain almost vacant. Felt unsafe as a female with slider doors to this dark alley way. Felt I should have been asked a preference in this case. Room was fairly dirty with NO WIFI -- how can that be in this day and age.

Green Features: Did not notice any but if Red Lion offers the option of not having your sheets and towels done every day, I feel that is a consideration contribution to the environmentally friendly practice belief.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YodlePortland_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Red Lion Salt Lake Downtown. First of all, a thousand apologies for assigning you a room that did not fit your needs. We want all of our guests to feel comfortable and safe, and we do our best to anticipate what is most preferable for our guests—in this case, it sounds like we missed a golden opportunity. We certainly will learn from your comments and raise our awareness. More disheartening is to learn that you did not receive a warm reception from our staff. Any unfriendliness on our part is inexcusable and indefensible! Please know that we will be sharing your comments with the staff regarding the impression we made, Also, we want to apologize for the trouble you described with our complimentary Wi-Fi. We know how important internet access is to our guests and regret any inconvenience this caused. It looks like we have some room for improvement, and the matters you presented will help guide us in those improvements. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware, and we hope that your next visit will be closer to a 5 star review. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good hotel with lower cost rooms and one of the best coffee shops in SLC across the street. The hotel has friendly, service oriented staff and most of the rooms are updated, or in the process.

Easily accessed from I-15 and is a good spot on the south end of town to access downtown and other areas of Salt Lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whit987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutdale, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here 8/24/2013 Got in late, about 1:30, drove around the parking lot to find a parking space and found a suspicious looking car idling in the back of the lot. Went to our room and upon looking out the window we saw a man who was cruising the lot looking into cars, when he saw we were looking at him he casually walked in the other direction until he thought we weren't looking anymore then came back around out of our sight then a few minutes later suspicious car left the lot. Okay back to the room, by 2:15 we were ready to go to sleep and as I was checking my ipad for our itinerary the next day I opened the drawer in the night stand next to the bed and what was in it? Someone else's condoms, female contraception device and personal lubricant!!!! Disgusting! To late and to tired to change rooms we tried to sleep, thoughts of car prowlers and who knows what else was in that room prevented much of that though. Daylight does show how old and poorly cleaned the room really was though, or should I say how DIRTY it was! They did refund 40 dollars when we checked out and told them everything :-( I would sleep outside before I would ever stay here again. Don't stay here!

Room Tip: There isn't one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your invaluable feedback on your recent stay. In light of your comments, please accept our deepest apology for the unsatisfactory condition of the room at check in. We would never want our guests to find the things you described, and we will redouble our efforts to make sure this does not occur in the future. I was relieved to see that you were offered some compensation but pained to learn that you did not receive the rest you were counting on. Please know that our security team patrols the parking lot at night, and we take any suspicious activity seriously. We regret that this information was not communicated to you during your stay. It gives us no peace of mind in failing to provide a comfortable visit; to ensure this experience does not happen again, we will share your comments with all departments and remind all staff of our responsibility to provide an enjoyable stay for each and every guest. We wish you a wonderful day and do hope that your visit to Salt Lake City on the whole was a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
#23 of 75 in Salt Lake City
948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#50 of 75 in Salt Lake City
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#45 of 75 in Salt Lake City
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City

Property: Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Address: 161 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2702
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City 3*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Utah's state capitol, our downtown Salt Lake City hotel is ideal for groups of urban adventurers or intrepid solo travelers-anyone looking to experience the area like an SLC native. Welcome to the brand new Hotel RL Salt Lake City. Guests can make themselves at home with our great on-site amenities and satisfy their wanderlust with the sights and sounds of the city. Grab a cup of artisanal coffee from the on-site Victrola Coffee Roasters and help yourself to a free bike rental for an eco-friendly way to explore nearby attractions. Uniquely positioned near Temple Square, our hotel in Salt Lake City offers unrivaled access to this thriving city. Discover the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, check out the views from the Ensign Peak Hiking Trail, or learn about the cosmos at Clark Planetarium. In the evening you can catch a show at the Living Stage, our recently launched on-site venue featuring local artists and performers. Sit back and swap stories with other guests while you enjoy the laid-back atmosphere. These unique facilities, along with our prime location and comfortable accommodations, make Hotel RL an ideal starting point for your Salt Lake City adventure. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, the Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Salt Lake City partner: The Road Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Red Lion
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing