We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old remodeled hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albuquerque, Nm
1 review
“Old remodeled hotel.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel has been a big part of Salt Lake City for many years and has had many names. It is still a nice place to stay but the neighborhood now leaves a little to be disired. Be careful at night in the parking lot. Rooms are clean and east side still has a really nice view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Renee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    234
    182
    131
    122
See reviews for
138
204
62
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was part of a list that was given to us by the University of Utah hospital. We came to see a very sick relative in the ICU unit and the Red Lion Hotel staff made this trip from California stress free. I would recommend this hotel, it was only 4 miles from the hospital and very close to all the beautiful scenic sites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ann Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

husband and i stayed here for one night as part of a large tour group.

red lion is located downtown, and isn't really within walking distance of any major attractions. There is a Starbucks across the road and some fast food within a couple of blocks. Very disappointing diner located downstairs, but i wouldn't recommend going there.

The rooms are spacious and well dressed. Fridge and microwave. Air Con seemed to struggle to maintain room at a cool temp. We stayed on the 8th floor so our balcony sliding door was bolted closed. Shame. Nice toiletries, lots of fluffy towels and comfy bed made for a good nights sleep. Unfortunately I was essentially unable to have a shower in the morning due to a total lack of water pressure (i got more out of the tap washing my hands). No doubt lots of people showering at the same time (my tour group of 50 people no doubt), however this is the first time I have encountered this problem.

I have basic exceptions of hotels, however a shower and a half decent meal are one of them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed here on a family reunion trip the last week of june. Upon check-in, the front desk clerk seemed in a hurry to get me out and handed me a key to the room. Didn't even tell me where to go or park. I asked the front desk clerk if he could tell me where to park and he said "around back". I was like..okay. So, I got back in my car and headed around back. I walked into the back door and up to my room. My room was up on the 9th floor, which I enjoyed. I walked to the window and the window looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months. I tried opening the balcony door for some fresh air, but it was locked. I thought, must be because on higher floor but noticed others had their doors open. Well, I decided not to let it bug me, so I went to lay down after a two hour drive from southern utah. All night long, all I could hear was the elevator going up and down. I was soo exhausted, plus I had three small children with me so i wasn't about to drag everyone downstairs to switch rooms. The next morning we all went down to breakfast. It was good. After getting done at breakfast, I went back to my room to collect baggage to check out. I had noticed as I got to the door, I had locked my key into the room. I noticed a housekeeper right across from our room. I have worked for the hotel industry for years, and figured I would ask her if she could let us in. She didn't speak english and without asking for any id just opened the door. I was shocked! I had laptops, ipads, and ipods in the room. After grabbing my bags, I went down to the front desk to check out and complain. Again, was hurried out of the hotel. I tried to leave feedback at front desk as well as when I got my survey in email, and all I got back from hotel was "sorry". Much better properties around for same price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay at Red Lion Salt Lake Downtown. We again offer our deepest apology for the less-than-ideal stay you described. We will naturally re-iterate to our entire staff the importance of making each guest feel welcomed and important with an emphasis on keeping each and every guest comfortable and safe. Rest assured that your comments will go a long way in our improvements , and feel free to contact us at any time to further discuss your stay. We would be delighted to see your again, should you decide to give us another chance. Best wishes to you, and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Back in October, my husband and I stayed at the Red Lion... best decision we could have made! We started in AZ around 8pm and ended up in Salt Lake around 6am and called to see about getting into the room SUPER early. (Being in the hospitality industry myself, I knew how unlikely it was.) The gentleman who answered (I'm sorry... I forget his name) was more than happy to get us in around 7am so we could get some much needed rest. Awesome #1!

It's super close to the TRAX rail so commuting to Temple Square was very convenient. Awesome #2!

We had a cool view of Downtown SLC from our room and the beds were uber comfortable. Awesome #3 & #4.

I really can't say enough good about this place. The staff was very friendly and I really hope to stay here again when we're back in the area in October! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INicoleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is located in a less desirable area downtown. I've been here a few times and have witnessed numerous arrests and issues with homeless residents

The hotel has a free airport shuttle which is a huge selling point.

There's a movie theater right across the way and a few restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanvokac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel is very convenient to the airport, if you have a car, and the hotel has a shuttle which is a great service. The neighborhood doesn't have too much to offer and the nicer downtown area is a bit of a walk.

We stayed for one night for the next morning flight out of SLC. The front-desk was very welcoming and professional, and changed our room to a higher floor which would be quieter. But the hotel itself shows its age and reminded us of old Vegas. The room must have used single pane window as the street noise was so loud that we thought the window was open. The room was adequate but nothing great. The bed was on the soft bouncy side, and the fitted sheet barely fit. The carpet looked like it hadn't been cleaned. Bathroom door has a hook for hanging but it's located at the top edge of the door, that only a basketball player can reach. Towels have seen many washes. With what we paid for it through Hotwire, we can't complain too much, but compare to the Radisson we stayed on our way in, Radisson was so much better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyCWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#46 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#49 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
#24 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City

Property: Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Address: 161 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City 3*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Utah's state capitol, our downtown Salt Lake City hotel is ideal for groups of urban adventurers or intrepid solo travelers-anyone looking to experience the area like an SLC native. Welcome to the brand new Hotel RL Salt Lake City. Guests can make themselves at home with our great on-site amenities and satisfy their wanderlust with the sights and sounds of the city. Grab a cup of artisanal coffee from the on-site Victrola Coffee Roasters and help yourself to a free bike rental for an eco-friendly way to explore nearby attractions. Uniquely positioned near Temple Square, our hotel in Salt Lake City offers unrivaled access to this thriving city. Discover the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, check out the views from the Ensign Peak Hiking Trail, or learn about the cosmos at Clark Planetarium. In the evening you can catch a show at the Living Stage, our recently launched on-site venue featuring local artists and performers. Sit back and swap stories with other guests while you enjoy the laid-back atmosphere. These unique facilities, along with our prime location and comfortable accommodations, make Hotel RL an ideal starting point for your Salt Lake City adventure. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, the Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Salt Lake City partner: The Road Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Red Lion
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing