We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Ranked #57 of 77 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed at the Red Lion last week due to location and rate. The service I recieved was good, but the rooms was in bad shape. The bathroom was loaded with hairs, there were stains on the bed and armchair. The sink drained right onto the bathroom floor. Overall the room was dirty and outdated.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Director of Operations at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Red Lion Salt Lake Downtown. And thank you for the kudos regarding the service you received—we always appreciate hearing a kind word. As for the condition of the room when you checked in, please accept our sincere apology. We did not live up to our promise to provide you the comfortable stay you deserved, and for this we are sorry. Please know that we are attending to these matters immediately, and we are committed to making the necessary corrections to ensure that our guests have a wonderful experience here at our hotel. We remain optimistic that you will give us another try and that your next experience will be much improved. Have a wonderful day, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 910 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is very nice and is located on the edge of downtown. It has convienient restaurants and shopping nearby. The hotel restaurant has a good selection and is very good. Behind the hotel you will find a movie restaurant and a sport bar with lots TV's to watch the game.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B737Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Director of Operations at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to tell us about your recent stay at the Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown. We're happy to know that all went well on your visit. Do think of us again on your next trip to the city. Have a wonderful day, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had no choice but to stay at this hotel as it was assigned by my company. First of all, when I walked into the room, it was really hot. I switched off the heater, went away to have dinner with some friends, I came back it was still a bit warm. Apparently the heater in the bathroom didn't switch off.

The entire 2 days stay there it was not comfortable. To top it off, the bed and pillows are not comfortable with the warm room I barely slept of my 2 nights stay there.

The restaurant is ok. The wait staff is best at the restaurant. She's friendly and very knowledgable of what she got to offer from the restaurant. All in all, you will have other hotels to choose from if you can make your own choice.... Mine, I didn't have any choice but to stay there. Would not return there if I didn't have to.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spotmenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Director of Operations at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. We greatly appreciate that your company sent you to our hotel and only wish that your stay had been a bit more comfortable. Please accept our apology for the high temperature of the room and the poor sleep that resulted. We are resolving these matters immediately so that your next stay will be far more relaxing. Also, thank you for your kind words about our waitstaff in Red's Diner. We are always happy to hear a kind word about our employees. We hope you will remind us of this stay the next time your company brings you to Salt Lake City and to our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon and hope for a much happier outcome. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

not good at all, customer service was horrible, hot tub was closed because staff was lazy then they told me if i didnt like it i could go somewhere else, the manager was rude the staff were rude and everything they did screamed the fact that they hate their jobs i would never cone back to red lion again

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angus565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Director of Operations at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

We at Red Lion Salt Lake Downtown greatly appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay. We want you to know that it pains us to learn that you left our hotel with such a negative impression, for which we deeply apologize. Our intent is to provide the most comfortable stay possible for all of our guests, and in this case, we fell short of our objective. Know that we will do our upmost to improve, and we will make every effort to provide the kind of welcome and service that allows our guests to leave feeling cared for and important. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Best wishes to you, and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My first time staying at a Red Lion Hotel. Located downtown, but probably a 4-5 block walk to Temple Square, etc. Hotel is clearly not new (I'm thinking 1970s?), but is clean and well-maintained. The public spaces are due for an update, but again, clean and well-maintained. Despite having the amenities of a three star hotel (valet, bar, etc), the lobby was very small and the bar was not the chic affair you'd usually find in something like a Hilton (more of a local sports bar feel). Our room had a lovely view of the mountains, but other rooms' views are obscured by other tall buildings. It seemed the rooms had been updated in the past five years or so (flat screen TVs, newer furniture, etc) - albeit our room had a floor lamp with no place in which to plug it in. Super comfortable beds! The desk staff and bellhops were friendly and greeted us with a smile. If you're looking for a modern, chic hotel, this is not your place, but I'd not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porchsitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We ended up staying here because our flight was cancelled and this is was the place Frontier airlines put us up at. I was honestly expecting a crappy hotel, but it was quite nice. It was clean, the beds were comfortable, amenities are modern, and staff was friendly. There was a gift shop, a bar, restaurant, and gym. It made our travels frustrations a little more tolerable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three days recently. I got an excellent price on Priceline. Upon arrival, I thought the hotel might be older - yet inside it was impeccable. I've learned this from staying at several different hotels in Salt Lake City - Don't judge it from the outside. The place was huge and extremely modern inside - both the lobby and rooms. The staff were very friendly. Room service staff were amazing. And, the bathroom products - the soaps and shampoo and conditioner, etc. were the BEST! I even called and asked for some more. I wish I could buy some of the soaps etc. as they would make great gifts. They were all natural and smelled amazing. I loved the hotel and would stay there again - best price in a great area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollybethmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Director of Operations at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
We at the Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown are pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. Thank you for your kind words about the staff and the accommodations. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to comment--you have brightened our day! We certainly look forward to your next visit, and we wish you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#47 of 77 in Salt Lake City
265 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Salt Lake City
Ramada Salt Lake City
#54 of 77 in Salt Lake City
649 reviews
1 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#18 of 77 in Salt Lake City
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#10 of 77 in Salt Lake City
1,925 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City

Address: 161 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2702
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $83 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City 3*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Utah's state capitol, our downtown Salt Lake City hotel is ideal for groups of urban adventurers or intrepid solo travelers-anyone looking to experience the area like an SLC native. Welcome to the brand new Hotel RL Salt Lake City. Guests can make themselves at home with our great on-site amenities and satisfy their wanderlust with the sights and sounds of the city. Grab a cup of artisanal coffee from the on-site Victrola Coffee Roasters and help yourself to a free bike rental for an eco-friendly way to explore nearby attractions. Uniquely positioned near Temple Square, our hotel in Salt Lake City offers unrivaled access to this thriving city. Discover the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, check out the views from the Ensign Peak Hiking Trail, or learn about the cosmos at Clark Planetarium. In the evening you can catch a show at the Living Stage, our recently launched on-site venue featuring local artists and performers. Sit back and swap stories with other guests while you enjoy the laid-back atmosphere. These unique facilities, along with our prime location and comfortable accommodations, make Hotel RL an ideal starting point for your Salt Lake City adventure. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, the Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Salt Lake City partner: The Road Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Red Lion
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing