We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Makes nice photo”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Salt Lake Temple

Salt Lake Temple
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The original granite temple of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
584 reviews
435 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Makes nice photo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Like Mecca only members of the faith (and our guide told us only once a week) are allowed inside so all anyone else can do is take a postcard photo, admire the facade and leave. It kind of reminds me of the Chrysler Building with a sort of art deco design combined with the grandeur of an ancient greek temple. Not the most amazing religious building (or any building for that matter) I have seen but since there aren't too many LDS temples it's worth a swing by just to check it out.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IOGWFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    753
    269
    92
    18
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Be Prepared.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We went to visit the temple while we were in Salt Lake, but only were allowed to see the visitor's center. Be prepared to be followed around by one of the Mormon missionaries who ask you all types of questions and want to explain all about their faith. We did not stay very long because we just wanted to be left alone.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjnishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful building and grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Note: If you're not of the mormon faith, you're not permitted inside the temple, but you are still free to tour the grounds. Members are required to have "temple recommends" for admittance. For those of the LDS (Mormon) faith the temple has great significance. To those who are not LDS, one can still appreciate it's architecture and the beautiful grounds! Since this is a religious square don't be surprised if missionaries ask if they can answer any questions you might have. They were very helpful when I had questions about the faith, and if I didn't feel like talking I simply said "No thanks" and they didn't pester at all. Very beautiful up-kept grounds, and right next door is a building that has tours about the mormon faith. It was nice to have a place right in the heart of down town Salt Lake that was away from the hustle and bustle and could relax in the gardens, even if it is religious grounds. I would recommend to those who simply want to get up close to the temple and have questions about the Mormon faith, this is a good place to go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Advisor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, UT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wedding at the Temple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Went to Salt Lake City Temple for a Niece's wedding and was very impressed with the large rooms in the Temple. It was very quiet and a feeling of peace and calm came over me. It was great to be in the Holy House of The Lord.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ltlangford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shame”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Coming to Salt Lake City after traveling through Idaho and parts of Utah, I frankly was enjoying to visit the Temple. But when I arrived, I had to live the experience that the Temple is closed for people, which I think is a shame. Everywhere in the world, one can visit religious buildings, i.e. Rome, Paris, Istanbul, etc..., but this one is surrounded with a huge wall. It's of course understandable that they cannot let in a huge, huge crowd of people, but this makes the place a disappointment. The area around is very nice, very clean. What also bothered me, is the fact that you feel observed all the time and that every moment disciples of the Church make "propaganda" for their believes. Nevertheless, the building is impressive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BeschP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Lake Temple also viewed

 

Been to Salt Lake Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing