We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Items being sold here were from other countries for the most part”

Utah Museum of Fine Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Salt Lake City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #60 of 160 things to do in Salt Lake City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Utah Museum of Fine Arts is temporarily closed for remodeling and will reopen August 26, 2017.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Palm Beach
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Items being sold here were from other countries for the most part”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Beware of what you purchase here. You may think you are buying locally made Indian items and I found stickers on many pieces from Indonesia. I was very disappointed.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank colony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good cafe at the museum too”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We actually went here with friends. One of our friends had donated art to this museum so we enjoyed a personal tour with the director and curator. Enjoyed a wonderful lunch after at the museum cafe.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Bug-369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
1,971 reviews
1,084 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,919 helpful votes
“Very good art museum with striking interior on university campus”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

This is a very good museum on the campus of the U. of Utah with free visitor parking. The interior design is spectacular with a center gallery that is 2 to 3 stories high and dramatic stairs leading to the 2nd floor. The art work is eclectic. Excellent American and Western art--Remington Bronco Buster, Dixon, Gilbert Stuart, Sargent, etc. European art was OK, but not great. Interesting temporary exhibits, especially Levitt photographs. This place is worth a viist and is is a member of the North American Reciprocal Museums (NARM) so it is free to members of other museums. There is also a small cafe.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenheath, Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable visit”
Reviewed October 2, 2010

We wanted to go here when we visited Utah last year but the only day we had free then was a Monday and they don't open on Mondays. We had a voucher from a leaflet and were able to get one free entry so bith got in for $7. There were some great things to see with quite a range of stykes and cultures. The only bit we didn't enjoy was the Salt 1 exhibit - we couldn't see any artsitic value in a part-used toilet roll or an empty suitcase.

Helpful?
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Nice, moderate size museum”
Reviewed September 1, 2010

This is a nice museum in a nice building; no flashy architecture by starchitect like gehry or libeskind but self-effacing building shows art very well. they do not have big name art like picasso or monet but small though comprehensive collection of european and american paintings as well as sculpture from asia and africa. full details on their website. i did not eat at their cafe. free parking. great place to spend a few hours if you like art museums.

Helpful?
Thank PULAOKHAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Utah Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Utah Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing