We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Red Butte Gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Butte Garden

Red Butte Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Salt Lake City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Garden offers something for everyone from children who want to explore to adults looking for landscape and planting ideas. You might enjoy taking a class, packing a picnic, attending a concert or hiking. Red Butte Garden is open year-round with plant interest and events during every season. Red Butte Garden, a part of the University of Utah, is a non-profit organization located in Salt Lake City, Utah. With 100 acres including display and natural gardens, walking paths and natural areas with hiking trails, Red Butte Garden is the largest botanical garden in the Intermountain West. New four-acre garden opens May 2017 highlighting: see, grow, save H2o.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
Wapiti, Wyoming
Level Contributor
163 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Red Butte Gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I spent a lovely day wandering around Red Buttes' lovely gardens. The vibe was peaceful, there was plenty of shade and no shortage of beautiful flowers to photograph. A walk along the main path of the gardens takes about 2 hours at a slow pace and is an easy walk for children. Red Butte also has miles of walking trails through natural areas above the gardens. I recommend you allow yourself extra time to explore some of them.

I didn't find any food there to purchase and the gardens closed four hours early due to a concert that evening. If you want to maximize your time there, make sure there is no concert that day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    128
    23
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
324 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“So Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

A friend who lived in Salt Lake recommended this as a spot to visit during our one day in town. Without her recommendation, we would not have considered this. But if you have a hour or so and want to experience a small but exquisite garden, this is your place. We came early in the morning and wandered slowly through the venue. It was a certainly a lovely way to start our day!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank janiewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Gift shop is expensive, so took pictures for scrap books instead. This place would be lovely for a wedding! Loved that there was a children's section also! Great places for picnics. Just a very pleasant visit. Will come again if I make it back to the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank coppersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
282 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Field trip to Red Butte Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Went to Red Butte with 15 kindergarteners. They had a great time. They especially loved playing in the water. There were lots of bathrooms and drinking fountains through out the garden which made life much easier.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Concert Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you love the outdoors in a beautiful garden setting - the Red Butte Gardens is your place. Oh, and regarding the performers. . . Some of the top performers on tour during the summer. It's a smaller venue. I like the up close atmosphere. Plus, don't plan on vendors to buy food from, you carry your own in and picnic on the grass.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1randy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Butte Garden also viewed

 

Been to Red Butte Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing