We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to play and eat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway

The Gateway
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Salt Lake City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Utah
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to play and eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great out door shopping. Can be a little cold in the winter, but that's what an outside mall is all about. Great restaurants and you can even catch a movie.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank flower2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    115
    49
    22
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shopping experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We can't leave SLC without going to the Gateway shopping center. It is a wonderful place to shop and people watch. You never get a hint that it is there behind the old Rio Grande building. Lots of fun.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, Ca
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Was This A Mall Or A Homeless Shelter?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

The shops themselves were nice enough but make sure you have hobo stab insurance. That's all I'm sayin'.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dlyndd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
447 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Needs A Fresh Idea”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This outdoor mall was probably terrific at one point in time. Recently a new mall was built called City Center. The new mall has really put this one out of business. The stores are barely hanging on and many are closed or moved out. I would recommend skipping this one. There is Flemings Steak and Wine Bar. I would highly recommend this restaurant for sure. Gateway is going to have to think of something to do with this mall. The place was dead and really needs help.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Misty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“LOVE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I love that is is smaller and not so overwhelming. I also have great memories of this mall, opening for the Olympics, I brought my daughter here. She has also worked here. I l;ike the flames to warm your hands in the winter. Also good memories here because the Race for the Cure ends up here. Starbucks give me coffee grounds for my garden, many great things about this mall.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing