We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it! Even if you only have an hour”

Big Cottonwood Canyon
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.00*
and up
Big Cottonwood Canyon Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Wasactch Mountains, this wilderness region offers a limitless range of recreation for outdoor enthusiasts.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Worth it! Even if you only have an hour”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A week ago I had a few hours with my wife and she wanted to go for a hike - So we drove to the canyon and started driving up. I took her to a favorite trail of mine and we hit the trail. Parking at the 'S' curve, we headed up the Broads Fork trail. Within minutes we were in another world. Sure we could hear the cars streaming up and down the canyon, but the aroma of pine trees and wild flowers melted the din into an unobtrusive aside.

We both loved just being out in the wild, unattached and undeterred by the electronic junk that dominates our day to day living. yes, we had no cell service - HOORAY!

45 minutes up the trail (probably 25 for the faster moving crowd) we came upon a huge rock. We paused to enjoy its unique form and then continued up a ways. We passed only 2 other people on our trek up and I pondered the proximity to more than a million people only a few miles away, and here we were in solitude.

After an hour we turned back and quickly retraced our steps. The trail was alot steeper on the way down, but we managed. Soon we arrived back at the parking lot and rested by the rushing waters of the mountain stream. We didn't want to leave and so we just basked in the overpowering sound of the rushing water.

You know we will be back

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    133
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a beautiful drive, just don't be in a hurry. At Brighton Resort take a walk around Silver Lake. We saw a moose grazing. We were in the area for a week and took the drive twice and the walk around the lake. Our grandchildren, ages 3 and 8, loved it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
536 reviews
335 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Beautiful Drive; Lots of Hikes”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We enjoyed our drive through Big Cottonwood Canyon, including hiking to Donut Falls and Hidden Falls. Research the hikes before you go because the signage isn't very good. Be sure to take water and a camera! We ended our drive down the canyon road by going up over Guardsman Pass. Spectacular. Where the pavement ends and it becomes more dirt/gravel, there is a place where cars were parked. Be careful... there isn't a guard rail and you could easily drive straight off the mountain!!! I wouldn't want to drive it at night!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank morrishj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Utah
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Magnificent scenery and wildlife”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We enjoyed a beautiful summer afternoon in the canyon walking the trail around Silver Lake. Majestic peaks still had snow and the foliage was so green. We spotted several moose which were just amazing to behold.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauracello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
358 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Just as I left it”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I learned to ski at Brighton in 1961. It hasn't changed in any appreciable fashion since then. The scenery driving up the canyon and especially at the ski resorts was as stunning as I remembered.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CommanderChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Cottonwood Canyon also viewed

 

Been to Big Cottonwood Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing