We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good”
Review of Metropolitan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropolitan Inn
Ranked #51 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a basic motel. The furnishings are not new but everything is in good working order and the place is clean. A few special touches place it apart from the 'cookie cutter' motel - art deco styled furniture, the complimentary toiletries are good quality and the mattress was amazing. Air conditioning in the room (which was essential). Free reliable wifi in the rooms, plus access to a desktop computer in reception.
Short walk (along a main-ish road) to the centre of town. Easy drive to/from airport. Staff were very helpful.
Continental breakfast was good for this style of motel - we were impressed by the range of bagels on offer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateE006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 236 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

the Metropolitan inn is well placed almost in the heart of Salt Lake city, it about 15min slow walk to the main temple and restaurants.
we enjoyed the walk to the shops which is easy and safe, we stopped at a Italian restaurant for pizza which was great.

the rooms at the inn where of a good size and clean, the wifi was good and fast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HARRYLIME51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights mid of September and had a look at 2 rooms.
Negative: furnishing is old-fashioned and partially broken; strong smell in the room; loud A/C (better to turn off at night); small double-rooms
Plus: close to city center, free WiFi, free parking

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband works in S. Jordan several times a year and decided to have me come up with him on this trip. We picked the Metropolitan because it was half the price of the Hilton Doubletree right next door ($225 for 3 nights) and it's close proximity to downtown (Temple Square) since I would be hoofing it during the day while he worked. So, here are the pros: 1) King size bed on temperpedic mattress; 2) Very friendly and helpful staff; 3) Very nice continental breakfast and 4) Lots of food delivery options and restaurants/bars within walking distance. Cons: 1) No mini fridge in the room, so we had to fill up a trash can with ice to keep our waters and other libations cold; 2) Pillows were abundant, but not the most comfortable, and 3) Difficult time finding a median comfortable room temperature (either too cold or too hot). We would stay at the Metropolitan again because the pros definitely outweighed the cons.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank Holymerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel was a little disappointing, but for the low price it was acceptable overall. The lever which opened and closed the sink drain in the bathroom was broken and the drain had to be manipulated manually to keep it open. The housekeeper did not replace the bath mat or remove the shower mat from the bathtub on my second day, and she also did not replace the washcloths. Other than these things, the place was comfortable, and the A/C worked really well on these 100 degree days. The bed and pillows were also perfectly comfortable. The clerk who was working the front desk appreciated the information about the faults when I brought them up with him. I did also miss a couple of amenities, such as a refrigerator and a microwave.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Front desk let a call through to our room at 1:30 a.m. The caller said HE was the front desk, asked me if I was in room x. when i said yes,he said I had to come down immediately to re-register. I declined to walk through the dark outdoor hallways and parking lot, called the front desk, and the woman that answered said there was no guy working there. What hotel that cares about your safety passes potentially dangerous calls to guests? Who wants to try to sleep with furniture barricaded against the door?

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stopped here for one night while driving from Las Vegas to Yellowstone. Looking for an inexpensive hotel just to sleep and shower. Well, after reading reviews here we decided to stay here. Room was ok, kind of on the smaller side. Bathroom was small and shower was even smaller! It was so small, none of us even used it! I have to say the beds were very comfortable, even for someone with a bad back. Good motel if you just want a good night's sleep. We walked 1 to 2 miles to Temple Square. Other than that, there is nothing to do in this town. Super quiet and seemed a little deserted.

Room Tip: Ask if they have rooms with a bigger shower, maybe ours was a fluke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jp_alvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#45 of 75 in Salt Lake City
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
66 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Salt Lake City North Temple
Ramada Salt Lake City North Temp...
#60 of 75 in Salt Lake City
474 reviews
0.8 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Inn

Address: 524 S West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $62 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Metropolitan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful little Gem of a hotel among the many giants of big box hotels is perfectly nestled in downtown Salt Lake City just 12 minutes walk to the Salt Palace Convention Center, add another minute to that and you are at Temple Square, City Creek Center Shopping Mall, one block away from a "trax" free zone Utah's public transportation (UTA). Dozens of of restaurants, cafes, and bars walking distance availability. If you dont want to walk, cycle cabs are a phone call away, and make regular passes by our front entrance for convenience. 5.7 Miles from Salt Lake City International Airport (7-10 minute drive). A 4 minute drive or 15 minute walk to The Venue (1.2 Miles). Free daily Continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, Cable t.v. in every room. Metropolitan Inn is the ONLY hotel in Utah with America's Most Recommended Mattress, Tempur-Pedic Mattresses! Sleep in Health and Luxury at the Metropolitan Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Metropolitan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Salt Lake City
Metropolitan Salt Lake City
Metropolitan Inn Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing