We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun twist on Asian food”
Review of Plum Alley - CLOSED

Plum Alley
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Provo, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A fun twist on Asian food”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

With a name like Plum Alley, you wouldn't expect it to serve very good, and yet very different Asian food. Think of it as Asian food with a California twist. The food was very good food, as was the service, however the servings were a little small.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank salupm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    3
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Funky Asian Food”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We really enjoyed this place on a recent visit. Everything we ordered was amazingly good. Our kids enjoyed the shaking beef, steamed buns and ramen. My husband and I enjoyed all that as well as the zucchini flatbread. Different than any other place I have tried. The menu is inventive and the quality of the food is great too. I really recommend it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RosieWynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Funky Asian fusion joint”
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Cool and funky place. We dig Asian fusion and gave it a shot.

Some food was good, some ok. Service was quirky.

Worth a shot, but not a must visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank BigBlue120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Delish!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I love Asian fusion cuisine and Plum Alley did not disappoint. We started with the the pork shoulder steamed buns and loved the twist of having them folded over the filling instead of stuffed. We also had the Larb, another of my favorites, yum. For an entree, I ordered their Kimchi stew and loved it. The only less than outstanding dish was the broccoli and beans side, they were a bit under-seasoned but with the spice of a couple of the other dishes, maybe that was a blessing!
The help was friendly and attentive. The decor was fun and trendy with the communal tables. When I ordered a hot tea, I was underwhelmed by being handed a cup of hot water and a packaged tea bag, I expected a more fun presentation or at least a tea pot.
Plum Alley will be my go-to restaurant when seeing a show at the Broadway.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Order whatever the special is”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Wow. We went to Plum Alley just because it was near the Broadway movie theater, but we couldn't have been more happy with a dinner choice. The food was incredibly fresh and flavorful, with none of that corn syrupy sauce that gets put on Chinese food other places. The mix of mint, basil, and cilantro on the pork was dynamite, and the flat noodles were cooked perfectly. There were strange and delicious pickled things that complemented the overall dishes. The coconut-lime sorbet at the end was another happy surprise - kept me smiling all night. Order anything they offer you. It's going to be good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uluave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plum Alley also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing