We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,777)
Filter reviews
1,777 results
Traveler rating
1,394
272
68
29
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,394
272
68
29
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden cafe toy store macaroons lobby lounge turn down service an executive suite gorgeous hotel salt lake five star hotel nicest hotel four seasons room service dressing area outdoor pool sitting room rooms are huge self parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,777 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2019

We stayed in a gorgeous suite for our wedding night. From check-in at the stunning lobby, they treated us like gold, special chocolate surprises and gifts, as well as making sure we had a room that was tucked away from the main traffic. The suite was large and very comfortable, very clean! The light switches were in odd places and we have a problem with parking (quickly resolved), but it was a fantastic hotel. We look forward to returning soon.
Stay for Brunch! It's pricey, but worth every cent!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromage13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dru L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Dear Fromage13,

Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your lovely review! We are delighted you had a positively memorable stay during your special celebration! It is our pleasure to provide you with a wonderful place to stay on your wedding night. It is great that you were able to experience our Sunday Brunch as well! Happy Anniversary and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Annie Fitzgerald
Director of Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019 via mobile

Built just prior to the Olympics, this Grande Dame of hotels is a beauty. Stunning grounds and topiaries. Very large executive suites and master bathrooms, makes this property a perfect place to stay in downtown Salt Lake.
Food was pretty good and staff is trained well.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Sunshine34500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dru L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Dear Sunshine34500,

Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your review! It is wonderful to read about your enjoyable experiences during your stay. Thank you for your compliments about the decor, grounds, and guest suites. We are grateful for the opportunity to serve you and hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Annie Fitzgerald
Director of Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

This is a gorgeous hotel. The hotel itself is magnificent: beautiful decor and grounds. I loved the courtyard. The floral arrangements were amazing and the service was exceptional. The concierge Joan is top notch and did not steer us wrong. She was wonderful and you felt like you had a new friend. The staff were very kind and helpful. A fantastic experience and great location.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank 707LISAA707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dru L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Dear 707LISAA707,

Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your 5-star review! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and were provided with excellent service during your stay. Thank you for recognizing Joan. She certainly is wonderful and we are happy to read that she provided you with a great experience. We are grateful for the chance to serve you and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Until then, we remain at your service.

Kind Regards,

Annie Fitzgerald
Director of Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019

From the moment we arrived until the time we had to leave we were impressed with the elegance, the attention to detail, the gracious and excellent service, and the impeccable cleanliness of this hotel. We were greeted upon arrival and check-in was easy. We were given our keys (real keys, not cards) and directed to the elevators.

Upon entering our suite on the 23rd floor, we were immediately drawn through the living area to the windows with sweeping views of the city with the snow-topped mountains in the background. Through a set of double doors off the living area was the bedroom, again with windows and views of the city and mountains. Through another set of double doors was the incredibly beautiful and elegant bathroom. Housecleaning came twice each day, once to clean and make the bed, and once for the turn-down service, complete with chocolates. The room has a mini-fridge stocked with items for purchase.

We did use the gym facilities to work out one morning. There were plenty of machines (stair-steppers, treadmills) and some weight machines and free-weights as well as a separate room for yoga/aerobics if you so desire. Towels and water are provided.

Although we did not get to have afternoon tea, I would definitely make that a priority if we are able to stay here again. We did get lattes from La Bonne Vie one afternoon, and we took some macaroons home with us - excellent! My husband attended a conference and noted that the food was some of the best he has ever had at a conference - fresh and healthy.

Only a few things to note:

1) Upon checking in, there are cookies and water in the lobby, but it isn't apparent right away. It would have been a nice gesture if the person checking us in would have pointed them out. I read a TripAdvisor review to find out a) that they were offered and b) where to find them.

2) I was surprised that there were no coffee makers in the room. The first morning I went downstairs to find coffee and was directed to the lounge and paid $3.40 for drip coffee. Refills were free until 11 AM, but I was heading out for the day. Just good to know for the next person. I did request the coffee maker (I read it on TripAdvisor) and it was in our room by the time I returned, complete with Starbucks coffee pods, creamers, and real coffee cups with saucers. Again, impeccable service. On that note, I think because we declined the turn-down service that first night we did not read the turn-down card that states we could have requested a coffee maker in our room.

Those two things did not in any way detract from our stay at the Grand America Hotel. It felt like a luxurious getaway even though we were traveling for a business trip. We walked everywhere, or took Trax as the hotel is located in the "free zone." Shopping is just a few blocks away at City Creek. The Grand America hotel is an incredible place to stay and we highly recommend it.

Room tip: Room 2389 - sweeping views of the city and mountains. If you like coffee in the morning, request a Keurig to be brought to your room.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The Simpson s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dru L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Dear The Simpson S.,

Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your thoughtful review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to read about your wonderful stay and the excellent service you were provided. We appreciate the time you took to recognize the small details of The Grand America Hotel, such as the fresh cookies upon check-in, our small French pastry shop, and the level of service you experienced each day. It is wonderful that you were able to visit La Bonne Vie and our fitness center during your stay, and we hope you'll get to try our Afternoon Tea services someday! We appreciate your insight into our check-in process and turn-down services. Please accept our apologies that we missed the opportunity to provide you with a coffee-maker sooner.

It is also great that you were able to take full advantage of our central SLC location to explore the city during your business trip. We strive for every guest to have the same wonderful experiences that you did. Thank you again for taking the time to share your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Until then, we remain at your service.

Kind Regards,

Annie Fitzgerald
Director of Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019 via mobile

The service is unparalleled. You will be treated with deference and care. The staff are the beat trained and most affable people in the industry. The facility is lovely, the room was elegant and well appointed. The bed however was terrible. Feather pillows, which I suppose is a matter of preference are standard. They are non supportive. Foam pillow were offered however with a call. The bed may have been the worst I have encountered in years. The mattress sagged and was unsupportive resulting in the worst rest possible. I will never understand how a top shelf and beautiful hotel would supply their rooms with cheap and dated mattresses. Anyhow, it’s a lovely place, excellent dining options, cute shops with carefully procures items for sale. Just wonderful. If they only spent the same attention on literally the most important part of your stay. A good nights rest.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank raleighj2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dru L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Dear raleighj2019,

Thank you for being our guest and for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are thankful to receive your kind compliments regarding the look and feel of the hotel and its facilities as well as the high level of service our staff members provided you. We appreciate your candid feedback regarding your mattress. We are regretful that we were unable to ensure optimal comfort and enjoyment while you were staying with us. Please know that we strive to provide an excellent sleep experience for each of our guests. We know that sleep preferences vary and we are apologetic we were unable to ensure the mattress was to your liking. We are thankful you have taken the time to share your feedback so that we may know your experience and work to ensure each guest stay is positively memorable. If you have any further information about your stay or would like to speak to me personally, I encourage you to reach out to me a cerickson@grandamerica.com

I am grateful for the chance to serve you and hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Erickson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews