We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Might not be able to stay anywhere else. We've experienced the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand America Hotel
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Might not be able to stay anywhere else. We've experienced the best!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Grand America Hotel was just what we needed after five days in Moab sizzling in the hot desert environment. After hiking, climbing, and just over-exposure, the cool pool, luxurious environment with a little spa time worked wonders for us before returning home.
I have never really been a spa girl but I put together my own little package with an express facial, express pedicure and EXTENDED massage with Meagan for a fairly reasonable price. Well, maybe not really reasonable. $300 is a TON of money to spend on all this fluff but I really felt like I'd rather spend it there than shopping and received excellent treatment above and beyond what I expected! The service here was wonderful, the rooms were large and beautiful. I enjoyed the view of the city and the mountains.
The only thing lacking was in the concierge department-- Neither of the girls working this week were able to answer any of my questions. She told me to stay away from the Great Salt Lake (which I found to be stunning at sunset-- no smell, no bugs and a fantastic drive through Antelope Island.) She did not know where to find real, fresh juice or how to have it delivered to the hotel. There is not a place at this time that you can just walk to so they do deliver but neither concierge could help arrange this but apparently the juice company makes daily deliveries to the hotel. She directed me away from the Yoga studio I wanted to walk to (The Parlour-- another great find) and when I asked about yoga, she did not tell me about the community class that was offered right there in the hotel THAT EVENING! The girl working in the business office was extremely efficient and helpful but the policy that a guest must pay $5 for every 15 minutes with no option for an extended use pass purchase, was disappointing. I lost my iPad on my flight (it was returned by Delta) so I really needed to spend a little time working once we arrived in SLC and could not justify the expense there at the hotel. These days not many people need this service so the cost is unjustifiable. Regardless, I am a pretty good at exploring in unfamiliar cities and found computer use elsewhere.
We found the Grand America to be a wonderful oasis! I doubt I will be able to stay anywhere else in town. The Grand America made our few days in Salt Lake City delightful!

Room Tip: Room 1179 was quiet, clean, facing the mountains and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristin z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Kristin z,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand America Hotel! We were delighted to read your review. Thank you for highlighting the excellent service you received as well as our beautiful rooms and the Grand Spa. We are happy you were able to enjoy the amenities of the hotel. I am sorry the Concierge was unable to provide you with the details of the city you were looking for. We are constantly striving to stay up to date on the best local businesses and happenings. Thank you for reviewing your favorite local attractions! We look forward to having you return as our guest in the future. Until then, we remain at your service.

Best,

Annie Fitzgerald I Director of Guest Experience
afitzgerald@grandamerica.com
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    224
    59
    24
    12
See reviews for
238
411
53
620
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altoona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

It has the right to call itself Grand.. The room at an on line rate of $229 per night was amazing... huge! comfortable and clean... the bathroom was bigger than some Parisian hotel rooms I've stayed in :) Staff were very friendly and helpful. The decor in all parts of the hotel was very nice. Food in the bar was very good - late evening limited menu and the price for food and drinks wasn't bad considering the luxury hotel. It is right next to the Trolley to downtown or enjoy the walk for good restaurants and interesting locations, a very large antique/unique book store for instance.. When in SLC you have to eat at Red Iguana .. worth the 15 min drive and minimum 30 mins wait for their mole. Sawadee Thai was excellent too.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiejb1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear aussiejb1949 -

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Grand with us. Feedback is such an important part of our effort to keep improving the Grand's hospitality experience. Thank you again for your kind remarks and for recommending us so highly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

just spend 3 nights at the Grand America Hotel, and had a simply wonderful experience. Everything about the hotel was first class-the ambience, furnishings, restaurants, spa, service, comfort level, cleanliness.
Everyone was quite nice, and Chief Concierge Marcie Burger was especially helpful.
Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear eews -

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Grand America Hotel. We were delighted that the service quality and facility met your expectations. We are humbled by your kind remarks about Marcie, restaurants, spa and accommodations. We will look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilds of New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Expect to see marble everywhere. And lots of warm woodwork. Expect a lot of Old World charm, although the hotel itself is not very old. Your room will be huge: ask for one facing the garden. It is only a half-block from the TRAX light rail stop, which is convenient for the airport or anywhere in the downtown or University area. The concierge staff was always helpful and friendly. The Garden Court restaurant serves a wonderful brunch buffet. Or, for a change of pace, try the Coffee Shop restaurant at the sister hotel, Little America, right across the street. The outdoor pool is also a great place to relax; food is also available poolside. Note to imbibers: The purchase of alcohol is just as much of a problem here as anywhere in Utah.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor, garden and mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Ken B -

Thank you very much for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We are always delighted to hear from our guests as part of our continual effort to improve the experience at The Grand. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests were able to attend our lunch buffet and enjoyed their experience.
We are honored to have earned your trust and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had a really nice visit to the Grand America. Our suite was big, clean, and comfortable. Everyone we dealt with at the hotel was very friendly and professional. The retail in the hotel was excellent as well. The buffet lunch at the restaurant was excellent, and we enjoyed getting macaroons at La Bonne Vie and toys at Jou Jou. The kids particularly loved the big outdoor swimming pool. Parking was convenient and the location was ideal.

Room Tip: We requested a room on the first level with convenient access to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mera99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny,ny
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This property is very high on telling you it is a five star diamond hotel. And it certainly looks grand when you step inside the very grand looking lobby. And the rooms are big and clean and nice. But the service is second rate. For instance, the lobby bar is supposedly open for dining until 10. We arrive at 9:45 and were told by the bartender that the kitchen was closed. So sorry. When I pushed the issue, the kitchen amazingly was still open, on the condition that we accept the bill as soon as we ordered. Of course this was false too, since the bill did not come until we finished. I ordered a coffee at 10. No coffee available. At 10 on a friday night in a five star hotel. That is truly preposterous. On return to our room, I learned that our keys were deactivated. I went back to the front desk, to be told that there was a problem with my credit card. Now, I understand the hotel wants to ensure it is paid, but locking a family out of their room, with all of their stuff inside, at a "five diamond" hotel, when i cannot even get a cup of coffee, is not the way to do it. Tacky. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akazin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Director of Restaurant Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Akazin,

Thank you for providing your valued feedback on TripAdvisor. Although you did enjoy breakfast, an experience such as you have described reflects the complete opposite of our intentions. I hope you will accept our earnest apologies for the disappointment you experienced in our Lobby Lounge as well as the confusion with room keys. Please rest assured that we have shared your comments with our management team so that we can avoid a lapse in service in the future. If you have further comments, I would welcome an opportunity to discuss your stay in greater detail with you. If your travels bring you back to Salt Lake City, I would be very pleased to personally oversee the details of your next visit to restore your every confidence in us.

Until then, you may be assured we will remain at your service.

Regards –

Kasey Dubler
Director of Restaurant Operations
kdubler@grandamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDWAY,UT
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Came down from Midway to celebrate our anniversary with a show, dinner and overnight stay. The hotel and their staff made it a memorable night. We were on the 19th floor in a corner room with a cake waiting for us! The friendly and efficient staff gave suggestions for dining - had reservations for Ruth's Chris (great as usual) - will take the suggestions for the next visit to SLC. We're looking forward to the next opportunity to stay at the Grand America!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1RASCALCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,798 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#20 of 75 in Salt Lake City
636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#13 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Property: Grand America Hotel
Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-4100
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing