We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely flawless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand America Hotel
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
austin tx
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely flawless”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

At every turn, this elegant hotel earns it's 5-star rating, and extravagant prices. You will find ultra modern amenities and friendly, unpretentious, professional staff. Super fast elevators never leave you waiting long. The light rail runs right in front of the hotel, and connects to anyplace downtown. The view is magnificent from the upper rooms. The restaurants and pool area are fantastic. I did not want to leave...

Room Tip: The valet parking is well worth the price difference from self park. Some of the best interactions w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 78armadillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    224
    57
    24
    12
See reviews for
232
408
53
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I attended a square dance convention at the hotel, staying in a king executive suite. The hotel is top quality with very professional staff, large rooms with lots of amenities, a superb shower, excellent beds, and beautiful art work all over the hotel. Free wi-fi! The food in the several restaurants is also very good with excellent service. The Eggs Benedict I had was probably the best ever. The only drawback is prices. The room price for our convention was not bad: $190/night for our suite, but food and services are very high: around $50 for breakfast for two, and the same for a half bottle of wine with room service. Good view of the fireworks from our room. And I had to call room service to stop the maids from bothering us, five times in two hours.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveK619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed four nights in executive suite. This is really an excellent hotel. Well located. Very professional staff. Rooms are nicely decorated, and beds excellent. Service was very good. I am hard to please, please but this hotel is top notch, so I must give it 5 stars.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Robert -

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Grand with us. Feedback is such an important part of our effort to keep improving the Grand's hospitality experience. Thank you again for your kind remarks and for recommending us so highly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The Grand America Hotel is very stylish. It has beautiful furniture and paintings as well as stunning glass chandeliers. It is worth going to just to have a look around.
The bedrooms are very big and the marble bathrooms take you back to a different era.
The hotel is a short walk to Temple square and the Tabernacle as weldl as to a few restaurants. We went to the Whiskey Street on Main Street.5 mins walk.
If you can try and get a room on the top floors. We stayed in room 2493. It is a corner room and gives you more views.
I hope to be back. This hotel is really worth the price.
The garden cafe serves nice food. My husband had the lamb chops and was happy with them and I had a Chef special with prawns. Very well done.
Desserts were also tasty. The berry cheesecake is very good and nicely decorated with crystallized lavender for extra taste.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleNoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
197 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

In town for a wedding and we chose this hotel as our base...and we are very happy we did! From the moment you walk in you feel like you are at The Ritz...with all it's ambience, elegance and tradition! First and foremost the people who work at this hotel are some of the friendliest we have encountered as we have traveled around the world...and they are a tremendous asset for this fine hotel. Also the flowers around the hotel are not only beautiful but they fill the Lobby with an incredible fragrance you don't find in many fine hotels today.But in addition to its people and it's beauty...the hidden gem is the French bakery La Bonne Vie. We have never tasted macaroons as wonderful as these except at Spruengli in Zurich, Switzerland and they are something not to be missed! In fact everything in the bakery is absolutely incredible and this is a real treat even in a hotel as wonderful as this. Although there is a sense of Old World charm and elegance throughout the hotel it is nice to see they have stayed current with the times by offering the latest in its Fitness facilities. The machines were great that I used and some of the latest on the market. Even though it was a busy weekend we did get an opportunity to enjoy the pool on Saturday for a few hours and not only was the large pool very beautiful and relaxing but the service and food were both top notch as well. After also visiting another hotel this weekend across the street where friends were staying for the wedding we know we made the right choice staying at this hotel and it should be at the top of your list as far as the place to stay in Salt Lake City!

Room Tip: Request a higher floor with a view of the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim2344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Big rooms. Comfortable bed.
Immaculate! Room was very clean.
Great Staff. Very attentive to our needs.
Brunch is wonderful! Afternoon tea was a delight.
Room service was relatively quick.
Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on East side give a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiker2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

I surprised my husband with a stay here for his birthday. Upon checking in they had an employee walk with me to my room to make sure the keys worked and everything was to my satisfaction. The room was beautiful and very large with a big bathroom. We had a east view out our window and it was beautiful. We walked around to see all of the hotel since it is older and it has some amazing antique furniture throughout some areas of it. It has that old time luxury feel but with all the modern conveniences too. We ate the breakfast buffet in the morning and it was delicious with lots of choices. I love that they have live music playing in the lobby lounge in the evenings. Customer service was great. We went as a couple but also noticed several families there. They even had a movie (Disney) night at the pool with popcorn and cotton candy. We are planning on taking our kids soon. We really enjoyed our stay and can't wait to go back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Momhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,775 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
627 reviews
2.9 mi away
University Guest House & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Property: Grand America Hotel
Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-4100
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing