We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Luxurious and Romantic. The best SLC has to offer.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand America Hotel
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Was getting ready to book a hotel in SLC for a Holiday getaway with my wife and was all set to book at the Little America hotel when my father told me that I had obviously not heard of the new Grande America built for the 2002 Olympics. He was right so I checked it out. I bit more pricey, but we managed to get a very good holiday deal.

We stayed in a Premier Room King. It was beautifully appointed and very roomy. The bed was amazingly comfortable. We had an amazing night's sleep which almost caused us to miss the Breakfast buffet (more later).

The location is central enough that we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go that evening, including Temple Square and our restaurant that night, Bambara. When we got back to the hotel we walked around the grounds for an hour. There were many fun shops and in one lobby a life-size gingerbread house. There was a sign that siad "Help yourself" but we kept our mittens to ourselves.

We finished the evening in a lounge sipping gourmet hot chocolate and lisetening to a young lady playing guitar and singing Christmas songs. Very romantic.

The next morning we availed ourselves of the Breakfast Buffet. I ahve never had a breakfast like this before. The quality was outstanding. I only regret that I had but one stomache to fill! Well worth the price.

Wonderful stay made for a very romantic holiday vacation with my sweet wife.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valnjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Valnjr1-

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your stay at The Grand. As you might imagine, the experiences from our guests play a significant part in our continual effort to enhance the guest's stay. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Salt Lake City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,521)
There are newer reviews for Grand America Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

801 - 807 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

It's a great pleasure to stay in such a lovely hotel. The rooms are large, very comfortable and extremely well equipped; there's no queueing for lifts as there are at least 6; the main restaurant offers a wide selection of delicious food, and the waiters are attentive and thoughtful. It's easy to get into the centre of the city on the free tram which stops outside the hotel; this was a relief as we had difficulty locating the hotel by car (that probably says more about us than the location of the hotel!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have found myself in Salt Lake at least once a year for the past three years. Each time I have stayed at the Grand America and each time I have been completley wowed. It is a Four Seasons/Ritz experience at a fraction of the price. The last two times I was there I got in late at night but this time I got in earlier and headed out to dinner and came back to find teh lovely turn down service with awesome bed slippers and my robe laid out for me. What a welcome treat after a long business dinner.

The last time I reviewed this place I suggested that some of the furniture needed to be updated but I think I have changed my mind. The furniture style is right in line with this hotel's style. I am surprised to know that this hotel is only ranked #2 in Salt Lake. I can't even think that anything could be better. This is an unofficial love letter of sorts but just thinking about how awesome the bathrooms are is making me look forward to my next trip.

The room service was great too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meleetyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear meleetyme -

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and the kind words regarding our property. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand upon your next visit to Salt Lake City.

Regards -

Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I don't know if you can find a friendlier staff. Very nice rooms. Great ambiance. Very nice pool area. Local law does require you to order food with any alcohol. Can ride train for free to downtown or walk the 5-6 blocks. All is top notch at this place.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Jdk_mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

If you are looking for "the" luxury hotel in SLC - this is the place. Very much of a Ritz Carlton feel to it. Services in all areas - fantastic. Room service - best I have experienced in a long, long time.

Do yourself a favor and enjoy a great dinner at the Garden Café and then finish it off with a drink at the Gibson Lounge.

The only downside is that for business - you are about a mile or so from the downtown business district of SLC. Not a huge deal as cabs are easy to come by.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed here for a conference in April. The room was beautiful, very opulent, and it was lovely to return to the room at the end of the day with chocolate and bedtime music for the turn down service. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary. We found a great deal on the price by purchasing the "21 day advance" package. We got a King Suite for around $200. I would have expected to pay $400-$500 for the room and service we got.

Our room was immaculate, not a speck of dust or a thing out if place. In the evening, the staff came by and did a turndown service for us. They laid out robes, turned down the covers, gave us mints, and provided the next day's weather.

The ambiance of the hotel in general was spectacular. Clearly a 5 diamond hotel. The subtle music in the hallways, the lighting. It all makes you feel like you are in a royal castle.

We'll make this a regular anniversary stop.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank UtahCountyMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear UtahCountyMickey-

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Guest feedback is very valuable to us and it is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We love having locals as our guests and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,859 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-4100
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $233 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing