We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Beautiful hotel and good location for downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand America Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand America Hotel
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and good location for downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel. We had a suite that swallowed us in luxury. The bed was very comfortable and the sitting room nice as well. We had 2 separate sinks to get ready at and there was more than enough room in the shower/tub area to stay out of each other's way. The evening turn down service was a nice touch. We were there on business and enjoyed dinner in the smaller restaurant. The food was predetermined, but was very good.I had the trout and was very happy.
The hotel lobby has a very nice atmosphere and the lounge area is a great place to relax in the morning and evening. We enjoyed coffee and pastries in the morning there. They have music in the evening that is not too loud.
The location sits on the corner of one of the light rail stops. We took the rail from the airport for $2.50 each. Taking the rail throughout downtown is free when you stay within a certain square radius, which the hotel is in. It was very convenient to hop on and off toward Temple Square.
We loved our weekend here! The staff was very nice too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freetofly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    183
    52
    20
    12
See reviews for
192
349
48
526
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
192 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The Grand America exceeded my expectations and our stay turned out to be one of the best experiences I have had. The rooms are beautifully decorated with attention to every detail and very, very clean. We were greeted with smiles throughout our stay and everyone went out of their way to serve our needs. We also loved the little touches like chewy chocolate chip cookies available 24/7 near the check in desk and the little samples of sorbet by the lounge. There is a lovely restaurant with incredible food and several lounges so you really don't need to leave the hotel for meals or drinks but if you decide to everything is within walking distance or a short cab ride away. The beautiful grounds outside are a perfect place for photo ops. The only down side was that the indoor pool was closed for renovation, something my daughter was looking forward to. It would have been nice to have been told about this at the time of making a reservation or at least a small discount off our hotel bill would have been nice. I would absolutely stay here again. Also make sure not to miss the Sunday brunch which is $45 for adults and $22 for children and worth every penny. It beats the Sunday brunch at the Bellagio hotel in Las Vegas hands down.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Clearly the best hotel in town. Beautiful entrance. Wood, gold and imported tapestries on the main floor. Nicely appointed rooms with large bathrooms and closets. We loved it that you can walk to the free trolly to take us downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high enough for a good view the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmandSirius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've stayed in many four and five star hotels around the world but the Grand America has to be one of the nicest. It's located in the unlikely place of Salt Lake City. My son and I were doing a cross country trip and I sprang for a Junior Suite. It was quite the room with nice views, incredible beds, a beautiful sitting room and an exquisite bathroom (all marble). The staff was very helpful and the property very well maintained. I did have a package delivered there and I didn't appreciate being charged for them just to receive my small package and hold it for the same day arrival. My only complaint is that the hotel facilities like the pool and spa closed way too early. After a day of driving, we were looking forward to a nice swim and spa. By the time we got back from dinner, everything was closed. Apparently, this is the way life is in Salt Lake City, so try and arrive early. The Grand America was pricey for SLC, $225 for the suite but well worth it.

Room Tip: I gave the spa only two stars, I was able to walk through and it looked quite nice but it closed so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mshap29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I cannot think of one thing to criticize. It was opulent, luxurious, gorgeous, and completely comfortable. I wanted to bring my room home with me, especially the bathroom. The Gibson Girls Lounge was fun! Everyone was polite, professional and concerned with my comfort. Fabulous in every way. 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natchittychat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Natchittychat-

Thank you for such a generous review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to sharing it with our staff. If your travels bring you to Salt Lake City once again, we hope you'll stay at The Grand. Until then, we remain at your service.

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

My room was spacious, elegantly decorated and totally comfortable!
Very surprising for a large conference hotel. The service at the sunlit bar off the lobby was impeccable. Just wish I'd had my wife and children with me...my room was next to the pool and the weather was perfect. Salt Lake City is not my kind of city but if you go this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manning W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had our best hotel experience ever at the Grand America. It was our honeymoon and they definitely made us feel special. We were able to check in early and given a congratulatory card from the staff.

Everyone we came across was friendly and helpful, even before we checked in. My husband called the hotel from the airport asking for the name of an emergency dentist. The concierge was happy to help.

Our room was beautiful, including the bathroom. It was large, well-decorated and very quiet. The view from our small balcony was great.

The pool and hot tub were very nice too.

We had a cocktail and snack in the lounge, which has a great happy hour. We wish we could have made afternoon tea.

There are many great restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel. There's also a new outdoor mall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akchick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear akchick3-

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear you were able to enjoy a nice honeymoon stay with us. We hope you’ll stay with us again should you travel through Salt Lake City once again!

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
3.0 mi away
University Guest House & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Property: Grand America Hotel
Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-4100
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing