We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Award: All of my available stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand America Hotel
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed in Earl Holding's hotel, Little America in Salt Lake City many years ago, thinking it wonderful (but now being refurbished). This time I stayed in the Grand America, and it seemed to me he had hired the very best home designers to create the best hotel room I have ever stayed in. The room(s) had every nuance one can think of from living room, bedroom, multi-room bathroom .... with multiple sink areas, stretch-mirrors, unbelievable space for extra towels and personal items, both tub and shower areas. Every room had special allocations for personal items and comfort. Were it removable, I would have taken the entire room home with me.

The building itself was built and decorated for special guests to the 2002 Olympics and retain that flavor, from beautiful chandeliers to spacious hallways to table/chair groupings for conversation or cocktails. The bar area is large and can be considered a bar or a living room.

Service from bellhops to front desk to rooms was top drawer.

The dining room serves a wonderful buffet and dinner is not fine-dining but good.

A free trolley out front gets one to Temple Center or the airport, in a city with a charm and
friendliness of an outstanding nature. Wide roads and a highway system of easy transit are among the attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Executive Director of Hospitality Communications at Grand America Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Charles B –

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We were humbled by your kind remarks and delighted that your overall experience was excellent. We are always happy to hear that our spacious guestrooms, generous amenities and gracious service are appreciated by our guests. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your high praise and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Susanne Maitzen
Executive Director of Hospitality Communications
smaitzen@grandamerica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 1,535 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our 1-night stay was very nice. The bathroom and dressing areas were enormous! Very clean and pretty throughout the hotel (love the chandeliers!). We were close enough to walk to destinations downtown. Our room overlooked the hotel pool area but it wasn't noisy or distracting. This hotel is much more comfortable and luxurious than the Monaco where we stayed 1 year prior.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mumzie4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Grand America is a nice hotel in a good location. One source of irritation, the hotel is undergoing renovations. There is no mention of this on the website. The rooms are large and clean. They will not serve alcohol in the bar unless you purchase food. I am not sure if this is a hotel thing or a Utah thing. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The higher floors offer much better views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTraveler50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Director of Guest Experience at Grand America Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear WorldTraveler,

We are delighted to have had you stay with us at The Grand America Hotel. Thank you for recognizing our front desk staff and the service provided to you. We are very sorry for the inconvenience that the Spa renovation may have caused for you. We are working towards opening a new state of the art Spa and Fitness Facility scheduled for September 2013 opening. Your review also pointed out a very interesting aspect of hospitality in Utah. The liquor laws are unique and some do require the purchase of food to consume alcohol. I hope you were able to enjoy the ambience of the Lobby Lounge despite this inconvenience.

We hope that if your travels bring you back to Salt Lake City, you will visit us again at the Grand.

Best,
Annie Fitzgerald
Grand America Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Grand America Hotel is in a great location. Walking distance to all the sites of Salt Lake City. Very clean, elegant, friendly, and service oriented. In room breakfast was outstanding. Close to public (and FREE) trolley transportation. Very good value for beautiful room.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nnrntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

After a long day of travel from the east coast, this was an oasis of elegant rest and repast. The staff were amazingly helpful & sincerely pleasant! The room was expansive and welcoming, especially the gorgeous & huge marble bathroom! The food was really top notch!! Traveling with 2 other couples is a feat in itself, but we all agreed for once, and this was the start of a 12 day adventure together, this was probably the best hotel of our trip!!

Room Tip: Request a room with a mountain view on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed here for ten days this June. The room was nice, but not overly large, and maid service was wonderful. This location has limited TV offerings. Also, the location charges a fee for pool and gym use. In actuality, I liked the Little America across the street better.

Room Tip: Check your prices. There are some good deals for this hotel, but also for competitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aldenp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Grand is a home away from home. Service is impeccable, the staff is universally warm, with attention to the smallest details. Everyone graciously and genuinely goes the extra mile for the hotel patron.

Rooms are luxurious, with marble, spacious bathrooms/shower/and tub.

Beds are cozy, and internet service is fast. Daily local paper and Wall St Journal are a treat.

Staff: Marcie is the ultimate concierge- she loves her role and it shows! So helpful, knowledgable and warm. Ali runs the restaurants with cosmopolitan flair and warmth.

Best breakfast buffet anywhere- breads, pastries, even the chocolates are all homemadeand exquisite (forget about calories; diet before you come!) food is fresh, tasty, and both healthy and decadent choices!

The Grand is a superstar hotel with a family feel. The top-notch management is felt at all levels. Nowhere quite like it. Can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Facing the City-County building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,880 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#13 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-4100
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $222 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing