We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Absolute Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand America Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand America Hotel to your Saves list
Grand America Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Absolute Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is an exceptional hotel. Beautiful, and immaculate. There isn't a space in this hotel to be disappointed in. From the lobby, to the restaurants, conference areas, and every corner of this property, including the staff, it is exceptional. This hotel offers the type of service and care that too many have forgotten. It is truly welcomed and appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tampagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    180
    50
    19
    12
See reviews for
180
334
48
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst
Level Contributor
188 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Top class facilities with staff to boot. One of the nicest we've ever experienced and much better than many Four Seasons or Ritz 5 Star properties . The owner, Earl Holding, is known for top class facilities (Sun Valley Resort, Snowbasin and the Little Americas) and this is his flagship. Would recommend to everyone with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Mountain or city views both have mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritzytopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Grand America is an excellent choice if you're staying in Salt Lake City. Our schedule only allowed us to stay one night, but, we would have liked to have stayed longer! The hotel is immaculate! Everything was bright and fresh. And, our room was VERY spacious. The staff was extremely friendly and ready to help us if needed. The hotel is conveniently located near the airport. Only a 10 minute drive. I would highly recommend the Grand America Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RunnerHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

What a magnificent property. This is truly a world class hotel. While Salt Lake City may be a bit on the sleepy side make no mistake about it the Grand America hotel is as wonderful as any world class hotel I have ever seen. No expense was spared and the architecture and decoration of the hotel will remind you of the finer hotels in Europe or NYC. the grounds of the hotel are as perfect as I have ever seen with beautiful box-woods and sculpted topiary.

We had an amazing mini-suite with spectacular views. I am not sure I would go back to Salt Lake anytime soon, but this hotel makes a stay in Salt Lake, well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomdenverDenverCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Points of discussion:

1) Low-definition TV reception in hotel rooms, as well as at the hotel bar (Gibson Girl). Inexcusable in 2013 for luxury hotel.

2) Lobby coffee is $3. Really-- they are that cheap and tacky?

3) Bathroom in hotel was clean and large-- however, we could hear every disgusting noise coming from the neighbor man in the room next door.

4) Stale macaroons. So glad I purchased one of each flavor-- to discover all were clearly stale.

5) Service-- less than expected for a luxury hotel. The waitstaff in hotel restaurants were clearly not trained in hospitality-- could have worked at the local chain restaurant. One server tried to argue with me when I pointed out a missing portion of my order (I had to refer back to the menu to get my point across).

Bottom line-- this hotel attempts to achieve 5 star status but falls short.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maroontheta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear maroontheta ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay.

I was disappointed to read that we missed key service opportunities during your visit. Please be assured, I shared your experience with all of our staff, so that these lapses may be avoided in future for you and for all of our guests. I understand how these experiences negatively impacted your stay and for this I am truly sorry. Providing the finest guest service, which includes incorporating the most modern technology, is very important to us. We are in the process of upgrading to high definition television in all of our guest rooms and in the hotel lounge, and anticipate completing the upgrade in the near future.

I hope that time and travel schedules will permit a future return to the Grand America. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back.

Susanne Maitzen
smaitzen@grandamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at the Grand America Hotel last week while on business. This hotel is absolutely beautiful. My colleagues and I spent multiple nights sipping a glass of wine by the fire in the lobby. The staff is extremely professional. The room was clean and roomy. Every night I arrived to turndown service, complete with slippers, a bathrobe, a chocolate and a room service order form for the next morning. I only wish that I could have enjoyed this hotel with my spouse while on a vacation!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in SLC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I booked this to go see my best friend's graduation in SLC. The Hotel is in a perfect downtown location, great walking distance to all of the areas around downtown SLC. Ask for a Mountain View, it's much better than the city view. Staff were all very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a Mountain View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrinceTristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#13 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
3.0 mi away
University Guest House & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Property: Grand America Hotel
Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing