We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand America Hotel
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel lives up to its name. Rooms are very large and comfortably furnished with excellent bathroom. No meals were included but those we paid for were excellent and reasonably priced for the class of hotel. Free wifi signal was strong and good speed.
The hotels location is excellent for exploring the Temple Square sights as it is a 15 minute walk or a free tram calls right outside the hotel.
We would have rated the property as 5 star had it not been for a charge made to use the indoor pool. This is the first time we have seen this and this is our 75th trip advisor review.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,088 - 1,094 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here recently for a weekend and had a great experience. This hotel is up to the standards of a Ritz-Carlton, and we had a great rate. The room was spacious, extremely clean (and I am very picky), and the staff were friendly and helpful. The bathroom was large and had separate shower and soaking tub as well as 2 separate sinks/vanities. My children enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub and it was worth the $10 extra per day per room to access the spa amenities. Self-parking was free and the location is close enough to walk to many attractions, so we didn't even use the car. We had to check out quite early on a Sunday morning, but were able to have the breakfast buffet that is offered earlier than their big Sunday brunch buffet. This was very good and very reasonablly priced ($15 for adults and $7.50 for kids) for the variety and quality of the food offered. I will definietly come here again if in Salt Lake City and recommend it to people who are looking for a luxury hotel experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for a good view of the mountains. Even the standard, non-suite room is very sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was there on business and really enjoyed myself. Salt Lake is a great city and this hotel is a great hotel! Impeccable service and a most friendly staff along with really nice rooms make this place a must stay if you are in Salt Lake. Well placed in the city and within walking distance of many of the area sights.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place is 100% class. The lobby is astonishing. Around the corner from the lobby you find one of the most unique toy stores ever. The Rube Goldberg machine displayed in the front is mesmerizing.
The rooms at this hotel are nothing short of fabulous. Depending on the room type you choose, you may end up with a separate changing room, living room, a marble bathroom and more. The beds are luxurious, especially after a day on the slopes.
To get into the gym, pool, and hot tub you have to pay an extra fee for access to the spa. It is worth it if you have kids or need to wind down in the hot tub.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

When you walk in, you feel that you are transported from the otherwise relatively sterile surrounding of Salt Lake City to a different place and time. The lobby is incredibly welcoming, with plenty of comfortable sitting room, and the rooms are large and private. The bathroom alone was enough to make this a pleasant stay, and the staff was incredibly accomodating and attentive throughout the day. One thing that was a little disappointing is that maybe this was just bad luck, but it always seemed that the concierge desk was always empty - which was annoying when actually looking for advice on a few things we wished to do in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank criollo_gringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanneMaitzen, Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

I am truly delighted that you enjoyed your hotel accommodations including the ambience of the lobby, the spaciousness of your guest room and the luxury of the bathroom. I am pleased you were able to be transported from the day to day happenings in the city and relax. I am especially proud that you recognized and appreciated the attentiveness and service from our staff.

The staff of the Grand America Hotel is truly what sets our hotel apart. I was disappointed to learn that we missed the opportunity to serve you at our Concierge desk. We do have a Concierge staff at the hotel from 8am until 10pm daily. I understand how the lack of service could have a negative impact on your stay and for this I am truly sorry.

I hope that you will return to the Grand America in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,

Susanne Maitzen
smaitzen@grandamerica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Grand America is a cut above most places that my wife and I have stayed at. The hotel is beautiful, from the welcoming entrance area to the room we stayed in. Everywhere you walk within the hotel the appointments shout "class". Our stay here was supposed to be a treat for us. However, we got in late for our one-night stay and had to leave early the next morning for Paris. As a result, we weren't able to soak up all that the hotel offers. We will go back and stay for a few days and enjoy all that the hotel offers. As it was, our room was reasonably priced. We reserved a Premiere Room - King. It had a wonderfully comfortable bed, a sitting area with a nice sofa, table, and a view of the city. Nothing special with the bathroom.

We were given a coupon for a free room upgrade to be used within a year of our stay. We'll go back and use this coupon and enjoy more of what this hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fallfan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Beyond clean. Stayed on 24th floor very large suite. Most comfortable bed. Two lArge flat screen tvs. Door between den and bedroom for privacy and quite was very nicE. would stay here again. Would vote for free coffee in the morning. Hope you enjoy this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
664 reviews
0.9 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-4100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $223 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing