We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
SLC, UT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon and really enjoyed it. It was really easy checking in, when we got there we found out that our room had been upgraded to a suite because we are marriott rewards members. There is a coffee shop in the hotel which was great to stop by on our way to the airport which is a short drive away. As we live nearby we probably wont need to stay here again however we will certainly recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davecommins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    236
    66
    29
    8
See reviews for
76
123
40
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

If you are looking for a nice hotel in Salt Lake City that is right in the middle of downtown this is the place. The resturant is passable but with the many great resturants and clubs in the area ( walking distance) you need not worry. The upper rooms have outstanding views of the mountians surrounding the city. While this is a LDS town I found it has a lot fo historic sites within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TacomaSquattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

The hotel is standard Marriott -- if you've stayed in one full-service Marriott, you know what you're getting and, in general, you won't be disappointed.

On the plus side . . . the location is great. You're only a few blocks from Temple Square and most of the great restaurants of SLC. Self parking at $12/day is not bad. Internet is quick, easy, and free! Large TV with many channels. Rooms have been very nicely modernized -- especially the bathrooms, which are filled with tile and marble. There are bathrobes, an iron, and plenty of towels. The hotel restaurant (Italian food) is surprisingly good and service is first rate. There is an in-hotel spa (which I didn't use), pool, and fitness center. Elevators were generally prompt and waits were few. The concierge was helpful with dinner recommendations and the staff were uniformly pleasant.

Food was very good -- both in the restaurant and room service (which was very prompt). Highly recommend the pizza for a quick lunch or dinner. The bar service is also good (wine choices are adequate, not great) and the bar is lively in the evening but the patrons aren't obnoxious. There is a Starbucks in the lobby for those who need their "fix."

And now, for the negatives. The walls are paper thin. I heard the people in the room next to me using the restroom (and not just the flushing) and taking a shower. When they do so at 5 am, which they did during my stay, it's annoying. The bed was ok but not as comfortable as many Marriotts at which I've stayed. The housekeeping folks start early and are loud -- shouting down the hallways. If you have a low-level room, expect to hear a lot of road noise. Bottom line -- don't plan to sleep beyond 0730 and be lucky if you manage that. I had some issues with my bill that took two attempts with the front desk to resolve. The concierge level is apparently limited only to Marriott Gold and Platinum members, or so I was told.

I was upgraded to an end room. There are two large windows and nice views of the city and mountains. The bathroom was very large with plenty of room for two; however, you are close to several other rooms which can increase the noise level considerably.

Overall, if you want a nice hotel close to everything, this is a good choice. It has a few drawbacks but I definitely think it's worth a try.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisstheDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2010

We just returned from a week of skiing in the Salt Lake city area. Having an allegiance to all Marriotts throughout the country, we chose the City center hotel because of its great location to the many ski areas located a short distance away. From the moment of being greeted by the courteous and friendly attendants we knew it was the same quality service we have come to expect and enjoy. Our room on the 8th floor was just cozy and comfortable as advertised with a great view of the city and ice rink below. Having stayed midweek, the noise level anywhere throughout the hotel was nill with much of the occupying guests being business people there for a few nights. We frequented the hot tub and pool located on the 2nd floor that had a great peaceful atmosphere (obviously because we were the only ones there!) All of the hotel staff were professional and pleasant at every question or request that we had during our stay. Suffice it to say , we highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great hub to work out of for skiing in SLC. Great dinner spots we liked were the Red Rock brewery for pub grub (mobbed on a monday night no less)
Cucina Toscana offers some of the best FRESH pasta dishes we have ever tasted.
BTW.. we visited 3 different resorts (Solitude, Snowbasin, and Deer Valley) all of which were fantastic and the drive to each was all less than 1hr. Easy, simple and enjoyable every day.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bytorandthesnowdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

The pasta buffet in the evening is worth every penny the sauces are great and just yummy.

Average price with tip a person is like 22.00 . so worth it.

I love that starbucks is right in the hotel and you can walk up to the transit system to get around. Great service

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
201 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel after our annual skiing holiday in Park Ciity three years running now and found it a great hotel each time. It is comfortable, the staff are courteous and restaurant selection very good indeed which includes a full blown Starbucks on the premises !
A tip from us is to book a corner room. Ordinary rooms are $89 whereas a corner room is $119. A corner room is much bigger with a wet bar and great views of Salt Lake City, on a few occasions we had a view of the ice rink which is very pretty.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindyloo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

My partner and I arrived in Salt Lake City just at Monday afternoon rush hour. Being unfamiliar with the city, and tired after a long day's drive from Laramie, Wyoming, we were anxious to find a convenient place to stay. We saw the Marriott sign, and decided to stop. An excellent choice! It's fairly expensive, but that's to be expected from a downtown Marriott, and the facilities justify the price. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the view from our room over the plaza behind the hotel was very good, and the location for downtown Salt Lake is superb ... it was possible to walk to everything we wanted to go to and see. There's secure underground valeted parking, and the valets were great ... friendly and helpful, just like the rest of the staff. Not cheap, but worth it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitchiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#24 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake City Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake City Marriott City Center

Property: Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Address: 220 South State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#24 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salt Lake City Marriott City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salt Lake City Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City City Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing