We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt Lake City Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
breckenridge,co
Level Contributor
110 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Clean, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

We stayed here on business and got a great rate through the company we were in town to see. We arrived early from Denver, and had our room by 9 am. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Room overlooked the closed ice arena, was very clean and tidy. Parking is $12 per day, but convenient. Plenty of restaurants in the area, and we took the advice of travel books and saw the Thursday night rehearsal of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, it was spectacular! Very clean and friendly city!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Divecozumel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    235
    64
    28
    8
See reviews for
76
122
38
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
S.E. PA
Level Contributor
306 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

I started staying here 2 days after the 2002 Olympics. Slowly the prices have increased and tend to stay high. For the money, not worth it. At the lower prices it's a great value, quiet, great rooms, fantastic beds. The bar and restaruant aren't too great. You're better off heading out to another place for good food or some lively conversation. My family and I stayed here each year pver New Year's from 2003 to 2007 and the staff always pulled through for us but this year they didn't seem to have the same interest in making my Platinum stay worthwhile. I'm staying at the less expensive Marriott Residence Inn now.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvDaSun222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the Marriott City Center on New Years Eve. It is close to everything downtown and the service was great! Good fast room service and the bellman shined my shoes for no cost at all (tip of course). Beautiful rooms and views. Great stay!

  • Liked — Area and Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scottci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

The rooms were awesome, especially the bathroom. Service was great. We were greeted in the lobby by a manager. When we needed a restaurant recommendation, there was another manager that went out of his way for us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Awesome job!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelerinslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2008

I have stayed in many hotels in the greater Salt Lake City area. When I travel on business I like to bring my family - I've stayed at this particular Marriott City Center several times now and finally taking the time to write my review. This hotel was originally referred to me by a few friends who have stayed here as well and they had great experiences! Our rooms have always been very clean...extremely clean! I am a rewards member and stay at a lot of Marriott Hotels (including the Downtown Marriott not far away from this one) and have always noticed how clean the lobby, parking garage, elevators, and rooms are - my wife has especially noticed this! Hands down the best staff we've experienced in Salt Lake City, very accommodating, and very knowledgeable of the area( great dining recommendations!) From one fellow business traveler who tries to bring his family occasionally to another, I strongly recommend this hotel in the Salt Lake area - location is IDEAL, staff is IDEAL, and overall accommodations are IDEAL - not to mention the incredible and picturesque ice rink just outside the main lobby doors. I hope you enjoy as I have!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and Staff
  • Disliked — That we did were not able to stay longer:)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bonvoyageNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juiceman20
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2008

The SLC Marriott City Center is a great place to stay, especially during the winter time when you can look out your window and watch the ice skaters at the Gallivan Center. Plus, with the underground parking, you don't have to worry about clearing the snow off your car. The hotel is in a great location and the staff is very courteous and helpful. This is the best place to stay in SLC and would recommend it to all. My family and I will definitely be back!

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The pool was a little cool.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank juiceman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2008

The lobby is warm, with comfortable furnishings & tasteful Christmas decorations. The room was spacious, the bed was as comfy as can be & the decor felt just like home. Room service was quick, Starbucks in the lobby was great & the valet parking guys were efficient & very friendly. When we first arrived our check-in took less than 5 minutes! We didn't like the room we had (there was no tub) & quickly called down to the front desk. By the time we got to the front desk they were standing there, waiting with another room key in their hand & smiling at us.

We had a gorgeous view of an outdoor skating rink, that just so happened to have every tree around it covered in multi-colored Christmas lights. It was so nice and exactly why we love traveling in December to far away snowy locations!

We purchased the room on PriceLine for a bargain. Salt Lake City is great. Please check out Park City (great for skiing, snowmobiling & shopping) & Logan if you have time. We're already thinking of going back next month to fully see Utah covered in snow. We will definitely stay at the Marriott Salt Lake City Center!

  • Liked — The beds are made up in high thread count sheets, down comforters & down pillows. Just like home!
  • Disliked — Valet parking was $14 a day & we typically spent $5 to $10 a day in tips for the valets.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sheriboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#23 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake City Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake City Marriott City Center

Property: Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Address: 220 South State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#24 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salt Lake City Marriott City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Salt Lake City Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City City Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing