We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt as welcomed as house guests!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Felt as welcomed as house guests!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2008

The lobby is warm, with comfortable furnishings & tasteful Christmas decorations. The room was spacious, the bed was as comfy as can be & the decor felt just like home. Room service was quick, Starbucks in the lobby was great & the valet parking guys were efficient & very friendly. When we first arrived our check-in took less than 5 minutes! We didn't like the room we had (there was no tub) & quickly called down to the front desk. By the time we got to the front desk they were standing there, waiting with another room key in their hand & smiling at us.

We had a gorgeous view of an outdoor skating rink, that just so happened to have every tree around it covered in multi-colored Christmas lights. It was so nice and exactly why we love traveling in December to far away snowy locations!

We purchased the room on PriceLine for a bargain. Salt Lake City is great. Please check out Park City (great for skiing, snowmobiling & shopping) & Logan if you have time. We're already thinking of going back next month to fully see Utah covered in snow. We will definitely stay at the Marriott Salt Lake City Center!

  • Liked — The beds are made up in high thread count sheets, down comforters & down pillows. Just like home!
  • Disliked — Valet parking was $14 a day & we typically spent $5 to $10 a day in tips for the valets.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sheriboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    236
    66
    29
    8
See reviews for
76
123
40
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

OMG Bed Bugs! I settled in for what I thought was going to be an average nights sleep. Generally, I don't sleep soundly when I'm away from home. I also drink water during the night at home or away. Well, I woke up at around 1:30am and to my dismay, out of the corner of my eye, I thought I saw something crawling. OMG yes I did! I turned on the light and blood spots were on the sheets. I turned over the pillow and there they were. The little [--]. I caught one in my water bottle to show the front desk and remained calm. Things do happen and I travel a lot and have heard about this growing problem. The hotel looked clean the view of the skating rink and the X-mas lights were romantic. But those little vampires! The hotel staff moved me right away but I just could not sleep the remainder of my 4 night stay. What a bummer!

  • Liked — The food and the people were great.
  • Disliked — My room had bed bugs!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ToGrandmasHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
118 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

This is a fairly large Marriott in a new building (built in 2000). It is located in the city center but is a little far to walk to Temple Square. The room is typical Marriott, perhaps a little too typical. Bathroom on the other hand was more spacious and upscale than average. The breakfast and snack offerings in the exec lounge were a little disappointing considering the size of the property.

Property: 4/5 - Service: 4/5 - Cleanliness: 4/5 - Location: 3/5
Room: 4/5 - Amenities: 4/5 - Views: 3/5
Value: 5/5 (paid $109 weekend rate)
OVERALL: 4/5

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jpl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2008

We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful. Our 9th-floor King room was spotless and a very nice size. We had an eastern exposure and watched the sun rise over the mountains: Glorious. Also, the breakfast (not included) was excellent. The first day we had the buffet. The second day, I ordered a dish of granola with fresh fruit, and when it didn't come out right away, I was puzzled. Turns out some nice prep work was going on back in the kitchen. the waiter brought a HUGE bowl of custom-tossed granola with honeyed almonds, and a lovely plate of sliced banana with a mint garnish. The coffee was outstanding and the orange juice fresh squeezed. We asked for a take-home box for the granola and snacked on the contents for the next three days. For our Saturday/Sunday stay in September, our rate was only $104/night. Also, one can park free on the street over the weekend until 8 a.m. Monday. For those reviewers who feel this is a blah hotel, it all depends on what you are looking for. We thought it was absolutely fine and a very good value.

  • Liked — Clean, courteous, great views, excellent price.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ChandlerHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

Excellent valets. Clean room. Good bed. Nice location. Above average hotel.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank mrpond2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

I stayed at the Marriott with my Sister attending a convention. The rate was decent, but between the lack of housekeeping and the pop machines we stayed next to, I was a bit disapointed. The desk agents weren't overly excited about any questions my Sis had about access to the convention center, and room service took too long and wasn't worth the wait- Could it have been an off day? Sure- But I'm not headed back.... I like Salt Lake and enjoy the Monaco more (especially the free wine!)

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodTImes2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

Usually when you book with priceline you get the crummy room they don't ever book. We loved our spacious room. The bathroom was huge. We had an Eastside view which was spectacular. The view from the swimming area at night was incredible-overlooking the Gallivan Plaza. We were also within walking distance of almost everything downtown. We traveled with our 5 year old and appreciated the number of channel selections. Our visit was perfect.

  • Liked — Family friendly, comfortable beds, great pool.
  • Disliked — $$ for parking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cacheeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#24 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake City Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake City Marriott City Center

Property: Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Address: 220 South State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#24 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salt Lake City Marriott City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salt Lake City Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City City Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing