We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott City Center Hotel SLC Utah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
College Station, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Marriott City Center Hotel SLC Utah”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Spent one night here. Very nice hotel with good location if you want to be downtown. The concierge lounge is nice, and the hors d' oeuvres are better than most Marriotts I have been in. However if you want a drink you will be subject to Utah's liquor laws which are still very strange.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarineAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    252
    71
    31
    9
See reviews for
86
124
41
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howell, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I usually enjoy staying at Marriott hotels, being a Platinum member. I asked for a king sized bed but they put me in a room with uncomfortable double beds - not even queens. The breakfast in the concierge lounge was limited in selection and I was continuously trying to find staff to replenish items such as bread, plates, silverware, glasses, etc. and the person in charge of that area was not very pleasant as well as being slow. I was with a group and we had 3 rooms for 4 nights reserved and we all found the same issues, so we changed our flights and plans and left after 3 days. Although we tried on our day of arrival to get other accommodations, nothing was available.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank movinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

The beds were very uncomfortable and no air circulation within the room. The do make you pay for parking in their garage. Also there is no continental breakfast like their website states. Not a place I will stay at again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson75, Manager at Salt Lake City Marriott City Center, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Mr. Anthony,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. It is difficult to receive such a low rating and clearly we need to apologize for your experience. We have recently replaced several hundred of our beds and will continue to look at other solutions in order to provide a more comfortable stay for our guests.

After some research, we were able to track your reservation to a third party website which listed several of our amenities but was less than clear there is a charge for breakfast and parking. We are in the process of working with this website to update and clarify these points. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I am sorry we have lost your confidence and hope you will give us another chance to be of service to you in the future.

Sincerely,

Tyson Lybbert
(801) 366-8053
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were quite nice. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows cradled your head for a great nights rest. The bathroom was quite large and the shower was really nice. The only bad things about the room were that the outlet looked like it was ready to fall off the wall, and the sink and the shower dripped.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Husker_0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I love this hotel. The rooms are spotless, have laundry baskets and scales. The concierge lounge always has good healthy food. The desk clerks, bells, and maids are top rate. And today for Valentines day? Free donuts. What's not to love.

Room Tip: Ask to have your room facing the scathing rink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyDo1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We went to Salt Lake City for a weekend getaway. We chose this hotel on a whim at the last moment. What a nice surprise it turned out to be. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. It's not super fancy, but that's not what we needed. We went up to our room (6th floor) and opened the curtains.......wow, what a great view. It was night time and we had a spectacular view of the ice skaters at the Gallivan Center along with all the beautiful, colorful lights in the surrounding trees as well as the city lights. It was like a mini Rockefeller Center. We were in walking distance to many downtown attractions. We walked to dinner both nights. The price and the service were very good. The only down side was paying the $14 per night for parking. Overall this hotel is an excellent value. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the west side of the hotel during the winter for a great view( city lights, ice sk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingal060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I was staying one week at the hotel. The staff was nice and willing to help. The buffet breakfast is a bit poor for my European standards but you could have a complete American style buffet breakfast for around 18 dollars.
My room was in the 10th (room 1039) floor and had a nice view to the snow covered Wasatch Range. The room was ample and clean, although the sliding doors of the wardrobe were a bit faulty and difficult to open or close. The bathroom was nice, but then again the bath drain pipe was not working properly. Maybe the most annoying thing was the air cond system that was noticeably noisy, even when it was disconnected
The single room price was $139 per night (taxes included) breakfast not included.
From the hotel you can walk easily to the City Creek mall (5 min walk) and if you prefer to walk for a little bit longer there is "The Gateway" mall just 20 minutes walk from the hotel. Wifi is free and works very well. In all this hotel is a good and convenient place to stay in SLC.

Room Tip: Chose a room in the upper levels of the hotel (floor 10,11 or 12) to have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMORENO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#26 of 75 in Salt Lake City
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
#23 of 75 in Salt Lake City
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake City Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake City Marriott City Center

Property: Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Address: 220 S State St, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-5251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#24 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salt Lake City Marriott City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salt Lake City Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City City Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing