We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Place to Stay...But!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Salt Lake City City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Salt Lake City City Center to your Saves list
Marriott Salt Lake City City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 South State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #24 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Place to Stay...But!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

If downtown Salt Lake City is your destination then this is the perfect place to stay. There are numerous tourist sites near by and a variety of good eating establishments within walking distance. The staff is warm and very helpful. The hotel is well kept and up to date and the rooms clean and comfortable, however, a couple a minor issues annoyed me. First was the shower. I can't speak to every room, but my shower was challenging just to turn on and when that was complete the trickle of water was barely sufficient to remove the sweat I worked up! No doubt the hotel is doing its part to conserve water, but really? The second issue was with the add ons. I thought the parking fee and wifi fee (free for first 24 hrs.) were a bit steep, but not outrageous. Obviously the hotel is geared more for the business traveler.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here two nights while visiting Salt Lake City. The location is superb and is close enough to Temple Square to walk. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was well laid out, clean, and spacious. The bathroom was large and clean and everything functioned as you would expect. The hotel clearly my wife and my expectations and we would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can get it, ask for a corner room. We were upgraded due to my frequent Marriott guest status...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanHeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, UT.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I take my girls here for an annual trip. We love this location!! It overlooks the City Creek Center. Great restaurants and shopping right out the back door. As far as the hotel itself it is very clean and comfortable. The staff is so warm and welcoming. The gym has lots of great equipment and the pool and spa are large and fun. Our room had a beautiful view of Temple Square. (Also within walking distance.) The only issue I have is that I think we were on the "family" floor, and there were lots of loud families coming and going. We'll be back again next year for the annual girls trip. Love this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the north side on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraDraper_UT_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable bed, clean rooms, well sized gym, fairly good restaurant and basement parking. I had a very comfortable stay in the hotel.

They could improve on their front desk service. The lady offered to program my room key for parking but it didn't work which was Inconvenient as I had to back up from the exit, re-park and go back to the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelnow2011db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The rooms are nice and clean. The hotel is well kept. The food was above average at the restaurant. I travel a lot and have stayed in many hotels, this is above average but there's not really anything that stands out about it. The location is a short walk from the Salt Palace - I prefer to stay at the downtown Marriott when attending events there. The lobby is really plain, dark, small and not very welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
215 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

They claim this is a luxury hotel. Yes the rooms are nice. But the little things are lacking. The concierge lounge is weak. Lounge is dark with little space in the serving area. Food choices a bit weak, no variety the entire weak in the hot serving. And they were out of bananas for 3 days, someone was not doing there job. Housekeeping needs improvement. I requested caffeine coffee for the machine, in writing, and left a tip. The next day left decaf only. And a luxury hotel without turn down service. Weakest Marriott I have stayed in in a long time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theebdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Spotlessly clean and impeccably staffed. We arrived late, the valet went out of his way to assist us and Molly at the front desk was so welcoming and courteous. Plenty of restaurants close by and I must recommend the Copper Onion. Very nice downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jethro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a ...
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#27 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 956 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#20 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Salt Lake City City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Salt Lake City City Center

Address: 220 South State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#24 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Salt Lake City City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Salt Lake City City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City City Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Marriott Salt Lake City City Center Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing