We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel close to restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent hotel close to restaurants”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is in a nice location. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is clean, the staff friendly and helpful. You get a nice view of the mountains surrounding the city in the distance. Toasters on 300 S is a convenient place to get a quick sandwich.

The only complaint I have is that I chose the option of parking my car rather than valet parking, but was billed for valet parking. This is something you want to check for before you leave the hotel because I have so far been unable to correct this despite 4 phone calls and getting the runaround between the front desk and accounting headquarters.

Also, you probably should not expect to ever get the bill emailed to your email address despite what it says on your checkout receipt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrappistJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    238
    68
    29
    8
See reviews for
78
123
40
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We haven't stayed at Marriott in Salt Lake City, but we had the nicest stay. People friendly and curtious. The room was so nice. And very comfortable. I would stay there again.... And again. The location is so close (walking distance) to shops, resteraunts, clubs (night life). The view in our room was gorgeous. The pillows aren't to big or fluffy. Just a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vnts4500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC Utah
Level Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is one nice property. Perfect location. The rooms are very nice and the hotel is spotlessly clean. The staff are very good, with a nice restaurant and very nice bar area. You just can't miss with this property. Classic Marriott all the way. Use the valet as parking is scarce.

Room Tip: Use the valet, parking is scarce. Best deal anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csolsen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Have stayed here multiple times on business trips, and it is a good choice for the business traveler. The rooms and facilities are exactly what you would expect from a Marriott, in their typical style.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank frankviz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Concierge level—the hotel seemed to go well beyond norm to provide high-quality dinnertime food in the concierge lounge. The concierge kindly noted that dessert would be delivered at a later hour and suggested that she reserve for us a slice each of key lime pie and chocolate decadence to greet us following our stroll through City Creek Center.

Beautiful wood and marble throughout. Quickly-attentive staff. Comfortable, nicely-sized rooms. Close walk to all of downtown. Adjacent to convenient Traxx stop.

Room Tip: High floors on State-street side offer good views of Wasatch Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merryole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Marriott City Center because it seemed so comfortable, after a day or so, it felt like a place to lounge and central to shopping and more. Staff was nice; maids helpful.First night was pretty expensive; then, a $119 special that was worth more! Look for specials.

Room Tip: Look for specials...second floor is great to be near the fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterfly1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business purposes! Large clean rooms with large beds, who sleeps good (very important....:-). Bit old fashioned! Hotel is on 5-8min from conference center. A good hotel, but nothing special! I didn't eat here....there are nice places in the environment to eat!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaapjanboelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#21 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake City Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake City Marriott City Center

Property: Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Address: 220 S State St, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-5251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#24 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salt Lake City Marriott City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Salt Lake City Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City City Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing