We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Short hike but can be a bit hard

It's a short hike but can be a bit hard. Somewhat steep. The view is beautiful from the top... read more

Reviewed November 14, 2022
jdhosea
Stiff hike but gorgeous

You can see the overlook of the city. The best time to go here is like 30 mins before the sunset... read more

Reviewed October 22, 2022
jonnamae2010
via mobile
Read all 278 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Salt Lake City
from $78.49
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
from $67.11
More Info
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveler rating
171
96
9
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
171
96
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short hike great hike residential area great view of the city steep trail slc downtown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 278 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2019 via mobile

My fiancée and I loved the view from ensign peak park. We only hiked up to the viewing mound as it was nearly 100F degrees . Nevertheless the view was perfect and we would Highly recommend visiting this park and snap some photos like ours

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank MKassapian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 10, 2019

The park is easy to get to and offers a great view of the city. There is an easy hike to a viewing spot, or a more strenuous hike to the actual ensign peak. Either way, take in the history (with interpretive plaques and monuments) and the sights. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank GoGatorsWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 5, 2019

There is a low-level walk that gives a decent view of the luxury neighborhood and city view in the distance (without climbing the peak. Therefore this is do-able by almost anyone). However, it is ideal to climb the peak if you make it to the park. Beware, it is steep and a bit arduous. Not for the faint of heart or grossly unfit. I'm of average fitness and literally thought "what if I died here?" because I was traveling solo. Seriously, I'm not trying to scare anyone away. It's definitely worth it but take your time...it's a beautiful climb with unique vegetation, unusual birds and the huge reward at the summit. Much easier coming down, but you want to take that easy as well. Parking is on-street in a residential neighborhood.

Date of experience: May 2019
4  Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 5, 2019

The Ensign Peak hike is pretty easy, but a little steep. I did it at night and it offers beautiful views of Salt Lake city. You can see lights everywhere. There are beautiful flowers along the trail as well. The only downside is parking, you have to park on the street. But overall it's a great hike I would recommend to anyone visiting SLC.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 1, 2019

Amazing views of SLC. Its on a hill to you want to arrive by car. We ubered then walked down when finished. I wish this place had a restroom and water fountain. We needed both but couldn't find any.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank danbL5348MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews