We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Short hike but can be a bit hard

It's a short hike but can be a bit hard. Somewhat steep. The view is beautiful from the top... read more

Reviewed November 14, 2022
jdhosea
Stiff hike but gorgeous

You can see the overlook of the city. The best time to go here is like 30 mins before the sunset... read more

Reviewed October 22, 2022
jonnamae2010
via mobile
Read all 278 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Salt Lake City
from $78.49
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
from $67.11
More Info
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveler rating
171
96
9
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
171
96
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short hike great hike residential area great view of the city steep trail climb slc shoes downtown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 278 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2017

Ensign Peak is Salt Lake City's Mt. Fuji in terms of historical ans spiritual significance. It's claimed that Joseph Smith had a vision of a mountain overlooking the promised land, and when Brigham Young saw this peak, he knew this was the mountain of the vision. The entrance to the park is literally a few minutes' drive from the State Capitol building, but climbing the .6 mile trail up to the top, it's so quiet and undeveloped that you could be back on the frontier. The trail itself is unpaved and steep in places - and I imagine that it becomes a total mudbath with even a small amount of rain. However, the view at the top is unparalleled. It's almost a 360 view of the mountains, the valley, and the lake. If you're at all interested in the history of the Salt Lake Valley, this is a must-see stop. Also, there is a lower vista point with a paved trail, if you don't feel up to climbing all the way to the top.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank HoleySneakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

Ensign Peak Park is FREE to enter and has free parking at its entrance.

The walk up to the viewpoint takes 15-20 minutes and is not too hard.

Breathtaking views at the top definitely make it worth the effort.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank TravelReviewer1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

This is a fairly hard hike if you are older or very young. The views from the top are worth the hike! There are no bathrooms or drinking water, so be prepared.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Mamaperkins6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 27, 2017

This place has a great view of the city and the capital building! Such a beautiful spot!!!!!! Easy hike and great views.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 23, 2017

I wish we had timed our visit a little better and tried to get there at sunset, I am sure it would have been better, but the views were great of the city.

The walk was not a bad one, but I must say my breath was a little harder to get since I live at sea level.

It is worth the walk/hike.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank dgbg100106
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews