We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool cold as ice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #24 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Utah
1 review
“Pool cold as ice”
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Booked this hotel for a mini family getaway. The front desk staff were very friendly and fast. Rec'd everything I requested. Room was very clean. Had 2 full sleep number beds which were nice. The pillows were horrible. Flat and lumpy. Took the kids down to the pool which was ice cold. We couldnt even swim in it , it was so cold. The next morning while we were still in bed the maid knocked on the door and proceded to come in even though we had a do not disturb sign on the door. We chose this hotel because it was so close to the Gateway Mall but we will never stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazydayz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    389
    172
    83
    51
See reviews for
176
211
84
540
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

I was here on business travel for 3 nights. The first thing I noticed was how close it was to the Gateway Mall and Energy Solutions Arena. Not to mention my work site.
It just so happened that they overbooked the day I showed up so they placed me in the Salt Lake Plaza Hotel down the street for that night free. Then I could return to the Radisson to check in the next day. I'm here to say that the Plaza was better . Bigger room and it had a refrigerator and microwave oven. I showed up at the Radisson and my room was clean but small and just wasn't cozy. I had a Sleep Number bed which is unique. A lot of people like those but the overall experience here just didn't do it for me. I agree with most of the reviews for this hotel. Especially about what one reviewer wrote about the front desk staff not appearing to like their jobs. There was a mix-up in my booking from my company that required paperwork to be faxed to the hotel. My company told me they took care of this earlier. I didn't believe them because the hotel said they haven't seen anything. Later in the evening, I went up to the front desk telling them there had to be a mistake. The lady went into the back and sure enough, the faxed document was there. Turns out that the fax was sitting at their machine all day. I didn't get an apology at all. The views from the room was pretty good but in downtown Salt Lake, every view is good because you are surrounded by mountains. You can climb a small tree to get a good view so I'm probably giving this hotel to much credit for that.
I'm glad that I didn't pay to stay here. If I was paying, then I would give that other hotel down the street my patronage instead. One bright side is their restaurant. Again, nothing fancy but at least their menu was versatile and you have to check out the breakfast they serve.
In conclusion, I'm not saying you shouldn't stay here. It's not bad, but just not great. Fairly average.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — how basic it was
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank urban_kowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wausau WI
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2008

Real nice place. Right downtown. Trolley station across the street. Walk to Gateway big outdoor shopping center and food court area. I'm here on Sunday though and be advised I just walked for 45 minutes and only found a McDonalds and a Sunglass Hut open in the whole town! I have never seen a town so closed! But the free internet works well in my room today and the rooms have those sleep number beds that I love and the lobby is nice and staffed by friendly people.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Town is closed on Sundays
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ord757fo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2008

a convention was going on next door was very noisy, rooms are small and the beds were not comfortable

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2007

Participated in a conference at the SLC conference center. This hotel is in a GREAT location, right next door and was priced reasonably. The room was very basic but comfortable and I was able to get access to the internet for business purposes. Lounge and restaurant are very average but they worked for a short business trip.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Balckyball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2007

The best part of our stay at the Radisson Salt Lake Downtown was the location of the hotel. We were attending a basketball game at the Energy Solutions Arena the night of our stay and the hotel is just down the street from the arena. It was also very close to the Gateway Shopping Center, Temple Square and other downtown attractions.
The other positive part of our stay was the staff – they were very helpful and friendly.

The negatives. The non-smoking room we stayed in smelled like cigarette smoke. It wasn’t an overwhelming smell, but still a little annoying. The air-conditioning/heating unit was horribly loud and interrupted our sleep. The faucet in the bathtub was very sensitive and keeping a constant temperature was difficult. The room we stayed in had a Sleep Number Bed and because of the way it was hyped by the hotel, I expected it to be incredibly comfortable. We found out, however, that it is just a glorified air mattress. I don’t find air mattresses very comfortable, and therefore didn’t find the bed too comfortable either.

Despite it’s location I probably wouldn’t stay at the Radisson Salt Lake Downtown again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Problems with the room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank cm42lb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

Front desk staff all seemed to hate their job. Unfriendly attitude. This is a cheap hotel with most traveller being childrens sports teams. Definitely not recommended for vacation stay.
I booked through priceline and even tried unseccessully to cancel, after reading all negative reviews.
Priceline needs to rate this hotel as a 1-star, instead of 3-star,

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank amuzed2death
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#27 of 75 in Salt Lake City
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
782 reviews
0.6 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown

Property: Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown
Address: 215 W South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#12 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#22 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, excellent value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Radisson
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing