We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accomadations, but don't be loud!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #27 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great accomadations, but don't be loud!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel was great; comfy beds, modern, clean, hot tub, sauna all that.
My wife and I were in town for a wedding. The wedding party had blocked off a whole bunch of rooms, bringing the hotel a whole lot of business. Why didn't they just put all of these rooms on the same floor? Not sure. The bride and groom had a suite which we did most of our hanging out in. We barely played music on the stereo and were talking at relatively normal volume and the bell hop repeatedly came to the room to ask us to keep it down.
Annoying.
Give large wedding parties their own floor!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel T, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Ryan G R,

Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we would certainly like to extend sincere congratulations to the newlyweds! I understand the need to celebrate such an occasion. However, our hotel often maintains a high occupancy and typically cannot block off an entire floor for a party. Noise from such a party can even carry to other floors. We want all of our guests to have a great experience. It is my understanding that we were able to accommodate your group in a meeting room to avoid impacting other guests and to provide you with a more comfortable setting. I hope you enjoyed the celebration and look forward to the opportunity of serving you as a guest again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel Turner
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    367
    161
    75
    50
See reviews for
169
198
82
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laredo, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Came here for the 2013 ISMRM meeting. Chose hotel for its proximity to the Salt Palace Convention Center. The Radisson is literally next door to the convention center. They are not connected, however. Plus, as I discovered, the entrance from the Radisson to the Convention Center is to the BACK END of the Convention Center. The Salt Palace has one of the more obtusely designed, tortuous layouts of any convention center I have ever visited, so getting to the working part of the convention took a bit of exploring. If you want to stay in a hotel that is right next to the front entrance of the Salt Palace, that would be the Hilton, as it turned out. However, the Hilton is also more expensive.

Otherwise, there was nothing to complain about. Service at the hotel was impeccable. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable, etc. Wifi was included, and the business center had free hi-speed internet and printers with lots of paper to print out city info and airline boarding passes. No breakfast included.

There is also a nice workout gym and a small indoor pool on the second floor.

The AC in our room failed, but they quickly moved us to another room.

The hotel is within walking distance of the Mormon Tabernacle, and we took the opportunity to go see the Mormon Tabernacle Choir sing on Sunday morning (doors open at 8:30AM for seating, they rehearse as people come in to get seated, and start their televised program at 9:30AM. We were among the first in line there at 8:00AM, but the line gets long very fast, and people showing up later do not get in once the place is full).

It is also within easy walking distance of one of the Crown Burger restaurants, a must-eat place if you love hamburgers! Lots of excellent restaurants in the area, many within walking distance (again, the Hilton is probably closer to the main concentration of great restaurants, but it is farther away from the Mormon Tabernacle). The Radisson is right next to the trolley line, and the local downtown leg is free (we were told).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vrmgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel T, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear vrmgi,

Thank you for your very positive feedback! Indeed, it is very difficult to find a much better location than our hotel. When accessing the Salt Palace Convention Center from our hotel, you do not even need to cross a street. We are centered between the two major malls downtown; City Creek Mall and Gateway Mall. There are so many restaurants within a 2-4 block radius that it is always easy to find something you will enjoy. Your compliments on our service are very much appreciated. Our team takes great pride in our service and we are always looking for ways to continue to improve. It seems that you were really able to experience a good variety of what our hotel and our city has to offer. I hope you will visit again soon to see some of the other attractions our area has to offer.

Sincerely,

Joel Turner
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas, Usa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The Radisson Downtown was a nice hotel. My room was clean but a little small. I was impressed with the number or electrical outlets. More than I can remember in any hotel. I really liked the shower head. It was huge and gentle. The lighting in the bathroom was excellent. The beds were very comfortable. The only thing that kept me from giving the hotel 5 stars was there was a sound that was always there and noticeable especially at
night. I'm not sure if it was air circulating or water? Everything else was great!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel T, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Dave F,

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in one of our recently renovated rooms. I would really like to address the issue with the continuous sound that disturbed your stay. If you would be so kind as to call me and provide additional details, I will have our maintenance team look into it right away. We hope to have the opportunity to be your host again on your next trip to Salt Lake City.

Sincerely,

Joel Turner
Front Office Manager
801-933-8001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I had the opportunity to coordinate and host a management retreat at the Radisson SLC Downtown for my executive team. We simply had a great retreat. From the quality and cleanliness of the room, to the very supportive Sales and Meetings staff, everything exceeded expectations. Having had the chance to interact with many employees of the sales team, it is clear that the DOS is taking care of customers - he was really impressive when he greeted me in the lobby. We had some last minute changes and the Exec. Planner was really helpful to adjust to our needs. The location to City Creek, the Gateway and the Energy Solutions Arena was ideal - the 'something for everyone' location made the offsite components of the retreat really enjoyable for our team. Overall very impressed.

Room Tip: Great views from the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chriseggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel T, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear chriseggs,

Thank you for your very kind review! We always strive to offer the best experience possible for our valued guests and we are elated to read that you had such a great retreat! If you plan on having more retreats in the future, it would be our pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Joel Turner
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver Area
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located right on the light rail line and within easy walking distance of the convention center, Temple Square, Gateway and City Creek malls. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The room was a king room with an extremely firm mattress and very soft (flat) pillows. Not the most pleasant sleeping experience. The room has a workstation area with lots of electrical outlets. The tv was a fairly large flat screen with free Showtime movie channels. The signal was not high def, which I don't understand. If you are upgrading to nice tvs, why not upgrade the signal? The nightstand had a nice I-home style alarm clock, so you can plug in your iPhone, and extra electrical outlets located there too. The tub/shower had a fixed position shower head which was pointed straight down. If you want to shower without soaking your hair - good luck. Room had iron and ironing board, hair dryer, safe for valuables. I had to work for three days from this room, and the Internet service worked flawlessly the entire time. I had a great cell phone signal all over the hotel including in the elevators and by the pool. I used the gym several times, and the equipment was in good shape and there were plenty of machines and tvs to watch while working out. Overall a nice hotel, great location.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RRColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel T, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear RRColo,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel! Based on your comments, I understand that you were staying in one of our recently renovated rooms. It seems that you were very pleased with some of the amenities and disappointed in some. We are in the process of addressing some of the aspects you mentioned. Many of our guests, such as you, find our location to be a great convenience. Recently the light-rail train line to the Salt Lake City International Airport was completed. This is very exciting as it means that now our guests can access the train outside Terminal 1 at the airport and arrive approximately 1 block from our hotel within 20 minutes. I am very happy to hear that the complimentary internet service worked as it should. We have been working closely with our internet service provider to work out some discovered kinks in our system. Thus far, we believe their adjustments have made a significant difference. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Salt Lake City!

Sincerely,

Joel Turner
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at the Radisson while participating in the Unite Fitness Retreat program. I choose Unite in part because I loved the idea of being in a city and I've always been pleased with Radisson Hotels. This one was the best by far. The rooms are very cool, very clean, and I loved the free internet and the VIEW was incredible. I also can't say enough about the Unite Fitness Retreat camp, the program has turned my life around and I am very satisfied with my experience. The food they served at the Copper Canyon was delicious, they made healthy food taste good. A big thank you to Unite and also to the Radisson!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel T, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Shay P,

Thank you for your enthusiastic review! It is always a pleasure hosting our Unite Fitness Retreat guests. Your compliments on our recently renovated rooms, the complimentary high-speed internet and the Copper Canyon Grill House & Tavern are much appreciated. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Joel Turner
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Nice hotel in the center of the city next to the convention center. Rooms are good, clean and large. The breakfast buffet is better than average (great sausages). For lunch and dinner the menu is extremely limited, because they are "between chefs" apparently. What they serve is well -prepared though.

For a hotel that caters to convention attendees (i.e. business people) they do need to improve their wireless, it totally bogged down in the evening and was practically useless.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel T, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear HKT_13,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and your experience in the Copper Canyon Grill House and Tavern. To clarify, we have a chef who started in our hotel recently. We are very excited to have Chef Kim on our team and look forward to the new menus that she has been rolling out. I have tried some of the new items myself and they are delicious! I understand your concern with the speed of our WiFi. We doubled our speed approximately a year ago to ensure the needs of our guests would be fully satisfied and we now plan to increase the speed again. We can really see the usage of this amenity growing and we know that this is important to our guests. Please come back and visit again soon!

Sincerely,

Joel Turner
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#23 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#21 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.6 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown

Property: Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown
Address: 215 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#12 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#22 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, excellent value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Radisson
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing