We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms,great location,decent hot breakfast too”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
University Guest House & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Its hard finding a nice hotel in this part of SLC/Sugar House area. Most are run down and not great. I'd rather spend a bit more and have a view, location, nice rooms and breakfast, and noon check out is nice too! Friendly, helpful staff too.
If you or your student attend U. of Utah they give you a discount. :) Maybe our son will attend in 2 years!

Room Tip: king suite 365 is a corner room with windows overlooking downtown/lake though over the busy road on...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livinthedreamBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,066)
There are newer reviews for University Guest House & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

This place is well located. Easy tram to downtown and Temple Square.
Nice continental breakfast.

Enjoyed the university atmosphere.
Friendly staff. Clean facility
No need to rent a car. They drive you free to nearby restaurants and botanical gardens.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhupesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The block of 25 rooms for our wedding guests RAVED about the University Guest House! The Reservation, front desk and all staff was accommodating to our many guests and all of their questions, room adjustments etc. Of course - there was no way to beat the price offered during the city's largest "Out Door Retailers Convention" for an East-bench location near the Natural History Museum, Zoo, our home and wedding venue. Best decision we could have made!

Room Tip: West facing room have great view of Salt Lake downtown, lake and superb sunsets!
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorib660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed here for one night at the end of our vacation-returning to Dallas. The hotel staff was quite helpful and friendly. Restaurants were too far away from the hotel.Downtown was about 10-15 minutes away. Hot breakfast was provided and had a lot of variety-bagels,eggs,muffins,etc. Nice selection. Our room was a master suite- not luxurious but a good value for the money. A very large group of boys (with parent escorts) made way too much noise and ran up and down the hallways,finally calming down around 11:00 p.m.This was not the fault of the hotel. The only improvement tip that I noticed about our room was the carpet-it needed to be steam cleaned to remove spots and stains.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethanyG550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We always stay here when we visit Salt Lake City. The rooms are nice, the beds are comfortable, and the breakfast in the morning is great. The staff is always polite, especially the desk staff, and everyone always has a smile.

Room Tip: We like the double queen rooms in the "older" part of the hotel (not that it looks old, of...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank PointePrincessmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

When my father was admitted unexpectedly to the u if Utah hospital from out of town, I was able to book a room at the guest house, even though they were apparently booked up. They could not have been more accommodating and helpful. It was a 5 minute walk to the hospital, I ate well and slept well. The bed was super comfortable and the breakfast delicious. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We found it a perfect place to stay and just walk to a concert at Red Butte. Clean, nice rooms,
excellent beds. In the area of Fort Douglas-which means it is very quiet and a very nice change from noisy downtown locations. It was a bit hard for us to find from 400 South and we drove to and fro a while. We are going back to spend another night to see Sheryl Crow at Red Butte and are looking forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: I am sure they are all equally nice.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
2.9 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,521 reviews
3.0 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
2.9 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.6 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott University Park
Salt Lake City Marriott Universi...
#17 of 75 in Salt Lake City
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Address: 110 Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $156 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180-room hotel features spectacular views of the Salt Lake Valley and the surrounding University of Utah campus. Its proximity to both a TRAX train station and a campus shuttle stop allows you to explore both campus and Salt Lake City easily. Add affordable, comfortable rooms with fantastic amenities and you’ll understand why visitors love the Guest House. Our amenities include complimentary hot breakfast and wireless internet, complimentary local shuttle, state of the art fitness room and 30,000 sq ft of conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing