We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My guest house stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Guest House & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
University Guest House & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My guest house stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I will stay again and do recommend staying at the guest house. My family and I had two room. The staff was friendly and very professional. There was free parking and free continental breakfast every morning. The beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyonsbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    196
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
351
136
78
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topanga, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at this property largely because of the many positive reviews on TA and also its location on the University of Utah campus. UGHCC is located on the north eastern part of the campus on Fort Douglas Boulevard next to a chapel in a residential area across from the medical school. It was cold and snowy the weekend I was there so I didn’t try walking to the main part of campus (the part with the library and bookstore) but those looked less than a mile away. There was plenty of complimentary parking in front and behind the hotel. Snow visited the area the weekend I was there but the snow plows came through.

I believe the TRAX stop and the campus shuttle stops are close by the hotel. Take note: the campus parking authority is quite vigilant as I discovered when I didn’t get my UGHCC parking permit displayed soon enough on my rental car.

My room was plenty roomy and had a microwave, college sized refrigerator, coffee maker, and flat screen TV with a full complement of cable/satellite channels. There was no thermostat that I could see so I just ran the heater unit on low heat all night and that kept the outside winter cold at bay but those sensitive to AC noise may wish to take note of the fan that had to run all night. The bathroom as fine and I had no issues with the house keeping. My check in and check out experiences were fine.

The hotel didn’t seem full that weekend and I didn’t have any issues with noise apart from noting the occasional clomp-clomp of guests in the room above mine. The hotel is smoke free and really seemed that way the weekend I was there except for the one guest just outside the lower level entrance all weekend. There is a workout room and a guest laundry but I didn’t use either.

I appreciated the complimentary hot breakfast every morning especially since there didn’t appear to be any restaurants closer than town about a mile away and it snowing outside. The buffet offered cereal, fruit, toast/bagels/muffins, different variations of omelet, French toast or these really skinny pancakes, and some kind of breakfast meat (bacon or sausage). The coffee was better than average I noticed. There is a grocery store about off campus about 2 miles away. Before we all got snowed in, I did stop by a good pizzeria but hard to find because it is below ground beneath a pharmacy.

UGHCC offers a better than basic lodging experience located on the University of Utah campus with good access to downtown Salt Lake City (about 10 minutes on surface streets). This is not the Ritz or some luxury hotel experience with tips required every few steps but a decent place for a no-nonsense, value-minded traveler to make a stop near but not in downtown Salt Lake City and on the University of Utah campus. At breakfast, I ran into an acquaintance who I found out has been coming to the campus regularly for the past year and I suspect that this person found UGHCC sufficiently a good value to be a repeat customer. When I return to Salt Lake City next spring, I expect to be a repeat customer too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J13345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thanks for your review. I think you covered just about everything. It is great to hear that you had a good experience. The pizza place you went to is called The Pie. It is a very popular pizza place for the college kids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Spent five wonderful days. Every member of the staff provided excellent service. The view is spectacular and the rooms comfortable and well appointed. Room had a fridge, microwave, Keurig, and full hair dryer. Lobby had hot breakfast, warm cookies and cider in the afternoon, and lots of board games. Full fitness center and soft spaces all over the hotel. Free wifi and a 24 convenience store provided everything you need. Train to downtown is right across the street. Management at the Hiltons and marriotts in which I've stayed recently should take lessons from these folks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metsluvrnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. I think that after a week you have a very good sense of our hotel. We strive to make this a comfortable and friendly atmosphere. Most of our front desk staff are students and they do a wonderful job at making our guests feel welcome. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Nice hotel. the breakfast was really good. Great service from staff. 24 hour coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. Very nice common area with games and such for the kids. Great location for activities at the University of Utah and if you have family or friends at the hospital. Close to downtown, but up and out of the valley. Nice views. A pool would give it a 5 out of 5.

Room Tip: Ask for room on west side to get view of city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UteAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
UteAlum,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We love when our Alums come back and stay with us. I'm glad you could take care of our amenities and our beautiful views of the Salt Lake Valley.

Please make sure to ask for pool passes to the Jewish Community Center on your next visit. It is just 2 minute ride on our complimentary shuttle. They have and indoor pool and hot tub and in the summer they have a great outdoor pool as well. These passes are complimentary to all guests.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in town.

Go Utes!

Perry Hacker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just attended a weekend retreat at the Guest House. Setting, the mountain views are great. The "real" coffee maker, mini fridge and microwave all appreciated. Very comfortable rooms and quiet sleeping rooms. Conference rooms worked well. One of the most comfortable conference chairs that I have used in a long time. Staff very accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimfromDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad to see a review from the perspective of someone attending a retreat/meeting here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Talk about customer service - this staff has it all. Everbody who works at the hotel seems to love their jobs ~ kudos to them and their manager. Great location, spacious rooms, really nice beds, linens and pillows. Excellent meeting space and technology. It will be my first choice of a hotel for future trips to SLC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am very glad to hear that our staff delivered great customer service. Our mission statement is Complete Guest Satisfaction and we strive to reach that goal every day. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

As a first time guest to the University Guest House, I was impressed from the moment I arrived. The staff at check-in was so warm and friendly. My guest room was clean, comfortable, and modern. The meeting space was state of the art. I needed to make a last minute addition to our meeting and the staff jumped to make it happen. I know the next time I head to Salt Lake, I have my place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am very glad to hear that you were impressed with your first visit. I hope we can exceed your expectations again the next time you are in Salt Lake City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
3.0 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
3.0 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Property: University Guest House & Conference Center
Address: 110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180-room hotel features spectacular views of the Salt Lake Valley and the surrounding University of Utah campus. Its proximity to both a TRAX train station and a campus shuttle stop allows you to explore both campus and Salt Lake City easily. Add affordable, comfortable rooms with fantastic amenities and you’ll understand why visitors love the Guest House. Our amenities include complimentary hot breakfast and wireless internet, complimentary local shuttle, state of the art fitness room and 30,000 sq ft of conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing