We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$104
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$99
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
$136
$122
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Quinta Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
$108
$104
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Little America Hotel(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
$138
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peery Hotel(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
$107
$98
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand America Hotel(Salt Lake City)
$339
$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,164)
Filter reviews
1,164 results
Traveler rating
902
216
38
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
902
216
38
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfort douglasiced coffeemedical facilitiesmoran eye centerhuntsman cancer institutegreat place to stayred butte gardensice watersalt lakefree shuttleshuttle serviceclean roomsbagelsfree breakfastfresh fruitcookiesexercise room
Filter
Updating list...
1,101 - 1,106 of 1,164 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Our trip to Salt Lake City was to the very impressive Huntsman Cancer Institute to receive a dreaded diagnosis. Needless to say we were feeling anxious when we arrived at University Guest House, but everything about this hotel made us feel comforted. Everything the other reviews here have said is true. We cannot recommend it highly enough. The diagnosis turned out to be a happy one and the University Guest House made a vacation out of a hospital visit.

Room Tip: There was no vacancy on the Internet, but there was by telephone. And a nice discount for hospital patients.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thanks for your review. The Huntsman Cancer Institute is a marvelous place. I am very glad to hear that the diagnosis turned out to be a happy one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Super nice room, great breakfast bar, great location. Only 1 problem: my reservation was confirmed in April, upon checkin the desk clerk tried to bump me to a smaller bed room. After complaining,the manager made it right, but I hate to have to complain to get the room I was confirmed to get.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyeballbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thanks for your review. I am sorry to hear that we had the wrong dates for your reservation and then tried to bump you to a smaller room. I am glad that this was resolved but your right, complaining should not be required. Thanks for your feedback and complaining, this gives us a chance to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were delighted with the alumni rate, especially for the first class service we received. The room was spacious, the beds were comfortable, and the breakfast is the best free hotel breakfast I have seen.

The Saff: Friendly, professional, and courteous to our children.

The Rooms: Clean, spacious, comfortable, and came with useful fridge, microwave, and k-cup brewer.

The Lobby: Two powerful computers, with ability to print 10 pages free, a large supply of games, free USA Today, and a constant supply of water, Starbucks Coffee, Mighty Leaf tea, and hot chocolate.

Breakfast: Pancakes or french toast, sausage or bacon, cereal, yogurt, toast, bagels, fruit, eggs, omelets, and more. A great deal.

The parking can get tight, but we always found a spot within a stone's throw of a convenient entrance. We also found that walking the short distance to the light rail was very convenient, and within a short time that light rail will connect directly from the airport, so we may not even need a vehicle on some trips.

We will never stay at another hotel in Salt Lake City.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BMGLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for your great review. It is really something to hear from a guest that they will never stay at another hotel in Salt Lake City. We are also excited about the TRAX line to the airport. UTA is expecting this to be completed by 2013. Thanks again and we will see you again next time you are in Salt Lake City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We live 140 miles from Primary Children's Medical Center. Our son sees numerous specialists there and has required a number of surgeries as well. The University Guesthouse has been a lifesaver for us. It is a peaceful, clean place to stay over before and after surgery. It is close to the hospital if we need help. The staff is helpful and understanding. I hesitate to tell others what an amazing deal this hotel is because I worry it will be booked next time we need it.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fattzfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thanks for your review even though you are hesitant to tell others about us. We feel lucky to be able to assist those who need to visit Primary Children's Medical Center. I am glad to hear that our hotel is peaceful because that is what is needed during those stressful times when home is so far away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I expected something much less; than we found on our arrival at the University guest house. We had a weeks stay and found the facility to be better than most hotel/motels we have stayed at in our extensive travels. Personnel were always friendly and helpful. Our rooms, clean and very comfortable and the towels were outstanding...thick and absorbent. Breakfast was substantial and offered many healthful options. I can't say enough about the quality and comfort of our stay. A topnotch facility.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, all the rooms were acceptable
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for your review and all the great things you have to say about us. I love to hear when we have exceeded expectations. It is funny that you mention the towels because that is something that we put a lot of thought into when we were selecting them. It is great to know that our guests notice these things. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews