We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,170)
Filter reviews
1,170 results
Traveler rating
907
217
38
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
907
217
38
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfort douglasmedical facilitiesmoran eye centerhuntsman cancer institutegreat place to stayred butte gardensstarbucks coffeeice watersalt lakefree shuttleshuttle serviceclean roomsbagelsfree breakfastfresh fruitcookiesexercise room
Filter
Updating list...
1,115 - 1,120 of 1,170 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The University of Utah Guest House is a great place to stay. My family had a room with 2 queen beds. The room felt big and was very clean. Having a couch in the room was a nice touch when our friends came over. It was also nice to have a fridge and microwave since we stayed longer than one night. The staff was very friendly and always went the extra mile. The breakfast was more than we expected... eggs, pancakes, French toast, bacon, sausage....yum! We also had a great view of the city and the sunset from our room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UtahDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, General Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

I love to hear your comment about the Guest House being a "home away from home." We really do want to make everyone feel the comforts of home while they are staying with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights. The room was quiet, spacious, and clean. We used the university bus service at no cost for attending an speaker's event on campus, to visit the new Rio Tinto Natural History museum on campus and to visit the university's art museum the next day. A stop on the line of Salt Lake City's Trax tram system was just "out the door" and across the pedestrian bridge which gave us access to downtown SLC. From the Guest House we walked to a nearby student cafeteria where we paid (reasonable expense) for an all-you-can-eat buffet both nights. As others have mentioned, the breakfast was pretty good but could use a touch of improvement (the microwaved eggs were so-so; the bacon was on the greasy side). All in all, though, a marvelous place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, General Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like you had a great visit and enjoyed many of the wonderful activities available on the University campus. We are especially excited to have the new Natural History Museum so close. Thank you for providing feedback on our breakfast. We are always looking for ways to improve each of our amenities and this feedback will be very helpful as we make improvements. We hope to see you again next time you are in Salt Lake City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed at the University Guest House for 4 nights. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a king bed, desk, sofa, wi-fi (or wired), microwave, mini fridge, and coffee maker. The Guest House had nice fitness center with various exercise epuipment, including free weights, cardio machines, exercise balls, bands, and balance boards. The Guest House also provided full breakfast buffet in the morning, and coffee/tea service during the day. It doesn't have restaurant of swimming pool, but worked for me. I would definitely stay there again when in Salt Lake City.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ski_supgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, General Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed at the U of U guest house over a two year period while working on my doctoral degree. The people there were very kind, always helpful and cheerful. The breakfast was nice but the microwaved eggs were kind of gross. Good coffee all day long. They used to have cookies in the afternoon, but this stopped for some unknown reason. But they always have big bowls of yummy green apples available. Overall, nice experience, great location, easy to park and beautiful location. Most importantly, the staff of young college students were very nice, accomodating and always fun to talk with. They were more than willing to meet any request to make the stay even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: The south side of the hotel is better. The hospital side is noisy and not my favorite.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanvb159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, General Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments and for being our guest over a two year period. It is good to hear from someone who has seen us in action for such a long period of time. You even remember the cookies. Maybe we should bring them back! Most of all I am very glad to hear that our staff provided excellent service and was great to keep company with. We hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Very clean hotel, exceptional staff and great breakfast! I would highly reccomend the Guest House!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews