We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here the Labor day weekend, we had a great stay. The room was more like a suite than just a hotel room, The breakfast was good with hot and cold items. The only down side of breakfast is the coffee station. Why do all hotels have such small coffee stations? it is the busiest part of any breakfast area, but the are always cramped for space and people are alway lining up. It is like whom ever engineered this thing doesn't drink coffee. Other than that this is a great place to stay, great beds and great location. The BAR as they refer to it is like 4 stools and a small counter, with 6 different beers and limited liquor selection, so if you like to drink other than the basics, you can walk down to a different watering hole down the street. There is a $10 parking fee. The lot does get a little cramped as the night goes on. There was no place to park after coming in later at night. I was able to use the hanicapped parking because my elderly in-laws have a tag that they carry with them. Other than that I do not know where I would have parked that night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mustangwitha302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (890)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 890 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Overall a great hotel. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly and competent staff, and free breakfast in the morning. I didn't like having to pay $10 a day for parking. The lot is a secure lot that can only be entered with a room key, but $10 a day is rather steep.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a nice separation of the sleep and sitting areas.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycfa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I just stayed in the hotel over Labor Day weekend for one night. I was really impressed.

The location is awesome...you can walk to almost anything...restaurants, shopping, movie theaters, Energy Solutions Arena, bars, etc. It is also very easily accessed from the freeway.

The rooms were really well-designed and spacious. I enjoyed the open floor plan, the built-in desk and the swivel TV.

Breakfast was fast and convenient. I enjoyed the different options.

I tried to use the electronic check-out kiosk, but it wasn't working properly. The front desk checked me out just fine, though.

I also wasn't too stoked about parking fees, but the room rate was so affordable that it was still the best deal.

I would recommend this property to anyone...I think you'll be very happy!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_R_ParkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

One night stop over. Beautiful room, really good breakfast, Nice pool area, Helpful friendly staff. No complaints whatsover . Short walk to attractions. Just a shame we couldn't make more use of it for a longer period. Would recommend to anyone, very good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doc055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'm sure this is a really nice hotel, but sadly, we didn't get to find out... I was in the middle of booking a room for our family vacation, when I noticed a small "Know before you go" section. It said there is a $10 per day parking fee. That was a deal-breaker for us. Here in Utah, most hotels (and businesses) offer free parking, so we'd rather save that money and look elsewhere. I'm sad they have this policy, as we were excited about staying here. I just wanted to let others know, since I didn't see the parking fee policy anywhere else on the hotel's website.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

15 minutes walk to Temple Square and one block to public transportation. Friendly staff, clean and spacious room, much better than average breakfast... all of that for a very reasonable price. No doubt an excellent choice in Salt Lake City.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swissworld_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

So this is not a review of the hotel itself (as we did not end up staying there) but a cautionary tail about Hyatt's reservation policy. I reserved a two queen bed suite (i thought). I called the hotel directly and spoke to the front desk staff when I made the reservation to confirm that they had a two queen bed suite and to ensure that one would be available for us (there were three os us staying in the room). We arrive at the hotel (grandpa, me and a five year old) only to be told " We have no two queen bed suites". When I showed him my reservation (stating "Two queen bed suite" on it) I was told that, due to a convention they could not guarantee the type of room. What?! Didn't say that on the website plus I'd gone the additional step of calling the front desk. Wouldn't that have been the time to tell me of this "policy"!?

Staff was "kind" enough to call and find a hotel that had a two bed suite and pool plus gave me a "few thousand hyatt points" (although I'm not sure why I'd stay with Hyatt again if they can't guarantee me the type of room I reserved) but that's the least I'd expect in this situation.

So beware when you make your reservation you might not get what you reserved.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
4  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
1.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#17 of 75 in Salt Lake City
809 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown

Address: 55 N 400 W, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#8 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $130 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Hotel Salt Lake City
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing