We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

One night stop over. Beautiful room, really good breakfast, Nice pool area, Helpful friendly staff. No complaints whatsover . Short walk to attractions. Just a shame we couldn't make more use of it for a longer period. Would recommend to anyone, very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doc055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    225
    73
    23
    10
See reviews for
244
169
39
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roy, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'm sure this is a really nice hotel, but sadly, we didn't get to find out... I was in the middle of booking a room for our family vacation, when I noticed a small "Know before you go" section. It said there is a $10 per day parking fee. That was a deal-breaker for us. Here in Utah, most hotels (and businesses) offer free parking, so we'd rather save that money and look elsewhere. I'm sad they have this policy, as we were excited about staying here. I just wanted to let others know, since I didn't see the parking fee policy anywhere else on the hotel's website.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

15 minutes walk to Temple Square and one block to public transportation. Friendly staff, clean and spacious room, much better than average breakfast... all of that for a very reasonable price. No doubt an excellent choice in Salt Lake City.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissworld_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

So this is not a review of the hotel itself (as we did not end up staying there) but a cautionary tail about Hyatt's reservation policy. I reserved a two queen bed suite (i thought). I called the hotel directly and spoke to the front desk staff when I made the reservation to confirm that they had a two queen bed suite and to ensure that one would be available for us (there were three os us staying in the room). We arrive at the hotel (grandpa, me and a five year old) only to be told " We have no two queen bed suites". When I showed him my reservation (stating "Two queen bed suite" on it) I was told that, due to a convention they could not guarantee the type of room. What?! Didn't say that on the website plus I'd gone the additional step of calling the front desk. Wouldn't that have been the time to tell me of this "policy"!?

Staff was "kind" enough to call and find a hotel that had a two bed suite and pool plus gave me a "few thousand hyatt points" (although I'm not sure why I'd stay with Hyatt again if they can't guarantee me the type of room I reserved) but that's the least I'd expect in this situation.

So beware when you make your reservation you might not get what you reserved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, Usa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was visiting for business purposes and was given a very spacious room on the 6th floor. I wish that I could remember the name of the front desk person but he was very helpful and accommodating. He gave us a map of downtown Salt Lake City and was able to walk to an outside mall area behind the convention center. Great room and great location.

Room Tip: Always ask for a top floor room facing away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waltp61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed here back in May as part of a road trip through America. This hotel is amazing - ideal location, nice rooms, clean, etc etc.

But the part where they truly excelled was with customer service. The guys went out of their way to tell me about the hot spots in the city, and also spent good time telling me about the religions and cultures of the area. It really made my trip much better!!!

I assure you, you will not be disappointed. I can not recommend this highly enough!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drewunalkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Piney, Wyoming
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Everything - from the staff to the workout facility to the location to the quality of the rooms was fantastic. Looks like a brand new facility! Breakfast was one of the best I've had in comparable hotels. Location is great - we parked and walked or took Trax wherever we wanted to go. Loved that it's right at the Gateway, too. Only downside was that our TV remote didn't work but that was fine - we weren't in our room much anyway. (LOVED the seating area/pullout bed!). We'll be back - next time with the kids!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
1.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Downtown Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Address: 55 N. 400 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#8 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Hotel Salt Lake City
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing