We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wedding Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wedding Stay”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My daughter was getting married so I booked a room for my husband and I, as well as a room for the bride and her friends. The hotel staff was so accommodating. They offered to put the wedding flowers in their refrigerators, let my daughter's friend check in early so she could decorate the room, etc. They were willing to help with anything we needed.

Hotel rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. The hotel was also close to downtown and both the Gateway Mall and City Creek Mall. We could walk everywhere.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ifawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    236
    81
    27
    13
See reviews for
268
185
40
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed two nights and had this observation: this hotel is the perfect compilation of everything I look for in a good place. Clean, elegant, friendly staff, affordable, AMAZING free hot breakfast, good pool, great location, excellent in house food service....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattwatrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We really liked this hotel. The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable. There was a nice sitting room area with a sofa bed and refridgerator. They had a nice continental breakfast from 6:30-9:30 am. It was right next to a shopping center with a lot of really nice restaurants. I also liked that their fitness room was open 24 hours. The only downsides were a $10 per day parking fee and the AC unit was located next to one of the beds and did not disperse air evenly (really cold if you were in the bed next to it). Other than that, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was quite flawless. The check in went quick and they were super helpful. The room was expansive and the pillows were nice and soft. VERY comfortable sleep. I would have given my stay a 5, but at breakfast there were only spoons available so we had to pick up our pancakes/sausage with our fingers. Other than that, everything was topnotch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Positive: The staff was very friendly. The breakfast good.

The Not So Positive: The coffee pot was not cleaned from the last persons. Old coffee grounds still in the pot. When we showered, the tub filled half full with water. Badly needed drain cleaner. For some reason, the fitted sheets kept coming off the bed. One sheet corner had blood stains. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randym20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, WA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here one night beginning of June. The location is ideal for downtown tourist and business alike. It is right next door to the Gateway Mall where there is shopping and restaurants within walking distance. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. They suggested eating at Red Iguana which has excellent moles.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WA_traveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the SLC Hyatt Place next to the Energy Solutions Arena in SLC for 3 days. All of the negatives that we normally experience at hotels were non-existent on our trip. Yes, the hotel is not quite as elegant as your normal Hyatt. But, we don't need all of those extras all of the time. The location is great and free Wi-Fi mitigated having to pay for $10 parking. Other hotels in SLC have charged us twice as much.

What separated this property from others was the great personal service we received from Greg, the front desk supervisor. We had a light bulb out over the shower that our maid ignored (even with us leaving her a note). We called down to the front desk. Within five minutes, Greg was at our door, in his nicely-tailored suit, with a new bulb and a small step-stool to stand on. We joked with him and his attire, he was very friendly and changed the light bulb quickly.

We had another issue the next day with our toilet. Matt and also Brady came up immediately to resolve the issue. Again, they were friendly and accomplished the job quickly. At large hotels, many times we would wait 2+ hours for such an issue to be resolved.

Finally, we had a glass of wine at the front counter that Hyatt uses for serving food and drinks for their guests. Talking with Greg and Brady when they had a moment free was like talking with long-time friends. The cupcake we ordered wasn't to our liking. Greg brought over a heated chocolate chip cookie to replace the cupcake. It was terrific. And, to top it off, he gave us a couple of glasses of milk.

The SLC Hyatt Place has earned two long-term customers. Besides the service, the room is fine, the location is great. The price is nice. Yeah, it sounds stupid, but we feel like we have friends at this hotel.
Jim

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegasniceguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
1.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
1.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,775 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#17 of 75 in Salt Lake City
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Address: 55 N 400 W, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#8 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Hotel Salt Lake City
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing