We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great property, great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great property, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a great experience at the SLC Hyatt Place. I reserved two rooms, one for my wife and I and one for my wife's best friend and her husband. We were very warmly welcomed at the hotel. My Hyatt Platinum status was recognized and I was offered late checkout (about the only Platinum benefit at Hyatt Place). I was surprised at how young the staff all were (University of UT students I assume), but they were all very eager to help. Everyone seemed very proud of their city and were happy to point us toward tourist destinations, shopping and dining. We mentioned a restaurant we wanted to try and one of the staff members passed along a certificate for free appetizer.

There was one staff member who seemed a little surly. We went to the hot tub to find it dangerously hot. Our friends own a hot tub and keep theirs very hot but this was too much even for them. We mentioned it to this staff member who simply said "that's not possible." Not even an offer to check on it. On another occasion, we returned to our room to find it not refreshed. The staff was happy to send the housekeeper back to the room to clean it.

The hotel is separated from downtown by a few blocks. Salt Lake City's blocks are about three times larger than other city's blocks though, so it's about a 5-10 minute walk to Temple Square and City Creek Mall. The hotel is also located inside the free fare zone and near a light rail stop so that's an option as well. Speaking of light rail, SLC is just putting the finishing touches on a line to the airport that passes right in front of this property.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have a great view of downtown and the Wasatch Mountains. Rooms on the west h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    209
    69
    22
    9
See reviews for
221
161
39
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I like the Hyatt Place concept, I like the size of the rooms and the basic design. I was not keen on the downtown SLC hotel.
The rooms are large, over 350 square feet with quadrants for bathroom, sleeping, leisure and work/food. There is a mini-fridge, but no microwave, and a graite countertop.
The bath has a separate sink and commode/shower. The shower is spacious, about 3 x 6, with glass doors.
The sleeping area is large enough but the bed tables are only surfaces, did not have drawers which I consider a negative. Clock radio was easy to use and effective.
Leisure area is a sectional sofa which is very adaptable. Being able to watch the big screen TV from either the sofa or the bed is a nice touch.
The work area......depends on the room configuration. In the standard configuration there is adequate power and connectivity, in the configuration I had in SLC this was not the case; there was inadequate power and if it wasn't for wi-fi there would have been no connectivity.
The standard room configurtion works for me with the back half of the room devoted to sleeping and bath and the front the work/food and leisure. My configuration had the front of the room the food/work and bath and the back half leisure and sleeping.....one has to walk completely around the room to get from the bed to the bath.
Check-in and front desk service was very good, very pleasant. Housekeeping was spotty. One day they took my day old bath soap and did not replace it. Another day they did not replace my bath towels and it took a while to get them after calling the front desk because none were available.......they were being washed. The graite countertop was not wiped even when used.
Complementary breakfast was fine, nothing to write home about.
Location was good, a short walk to downtown and even shorter to the Olympic Memorial mall/plaza,
Bottom line: good design, spotty service. I might try a comparable product next trip to SLC,

Room Tip: Avoid 01, 02, 26 and 27 they are less effective than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We liked this hotel. It's in a good spot, next door to a big mall, and the tram. We didn't end up using the tram, because we were not very familiar with where it went and how to buy tickets. The better restaurants are a bit of a hike, but as the city is quite flat, this posed no problem.

Room Tip: Some rooms seem to get more frequent use, so the bed was a bit soft. The helpful staff gave us a di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMC666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel never disappoints. The staff is friendly and helpful, always greeting guests with a hello and a smile. The complimentary breakfast is more than the standard continental fare served by most hotels. The decor is modern and updated, the rooms are spacious, well decorated, and quiet. The bed is very comfortable. The location is great; a very short walk to TRAX. The Gateway Mall is nearby. I always look forward to staying here when in the area for work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tahawus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NV
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Hyatt Place provides a consistent high level of customer service with each and every visit in this city and others we've visited. Their front desk staff greeted us each day with smiles and offers of assistance finding whatever we needed in the city. They're friendly, the rooms are great, the beds are awesome, the grab and go items are ALWAYS tasty, the breakfast is filling, and the Hyatt Place never lets us down!
This particular location is PERFECT for downtown excursions. The Gateway Shopping Center is right next door and is a beautiful walk. There is plenty to do in the area of the hotel. Public transportation is just a few minutes away by foot. The location is easy to find off of I80. It's just a perfect location.
The only practice that I disagree with is charging hotel guests for parking. I find this practice to be greedy. Charge people who aren't hotel guests, but don't charge your customers. I know this is commonplace among many hotels in downtown SLC - but not all of them. I think the Hyatt Place should rise about this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDivineMissM_89801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I am completely happy with this hotel now. in an previous review, the only bad mark i gave had to do with poor wifi service. But since then, and as of January 2013, Hyatt Place downtown SLC is streaming high speed wifi (3.2 MB down and 1.3 up...approx.) more than acceptable for my use anyway.

Everything else about Hyatt Place is still top notch, great service, great breakfast and great location.

Room Tip: book early or else you may be out of luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveinABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I love to stay at this Hyatt, customer service is always top notch. The rooms are beautiful, clean and comfy. You will literally be five minutes from the airport. This is where you want to stay when flying in and out of SLC.

Room Tip: I have no complaints about this hotel. It is situated for travelers , to far out for a weekend of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Address: 55 N 400 W, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#8 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Hotel Salt Lake City
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing