We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - apart from the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I agree with the positive things that other reviewers have said about room quality and not at all with the negative things they say about the service staff - who I found friendly, welcoming and helpful: we arrived well before the stated check-in time, but were given a great room on arrival. It's such a shame that the breakfast experience (OK it's complementary) would befit a much lower-grade hotel. Uncleared and dirty tables and floor, guests left to forage for themselves, poor tableware, horrible oatmeal (watery and unsalted), tasteless pastries. A bit of effort, and they could transform the place into something that's uniformly excellent - such a shame.

Room Tip: Once the new tram-line to the airport is completed (which conveniently passes right outside), you wi...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 889 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel was great. We only stayed one night but we would definitely stay again. The breakfast was the best free hotel breakfast we've ever seen. The self check-in was really cool. The free wifi worked well as well. The only annoying thing was the parking fee.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmhorton65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This 3 year old hotel may not be as well known as other SLC traditions but maybe that's why they try a little harder. The rooms are modern, well laid out, with 42 " HD flat screens and component inputs to spare not to mention free Wi-Fi putting to shame pricier places that charge extra. Yes they charge $ 10 per day for parking and the lot is small but there is an overflow lot close by. The convenient location to shopping, movies, downtown and the freeway is handy. Try to request a room on the west side away from the pool and construction that can be a bit noisy. The free breakfast with Egg muffins, pancakes and the asst. of baked goods was better than most complimentary continentals. Special kudos to employees BRADY and AMBER who excel at multi tasking with a genuinely willing attitude --rare at this price level! We will definitely be back. BB

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank BBBulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Hyatt Place. It's a beautiful property and new. The rooms were very clean. We had a view of the city and the mountains. The breakfast was very good, just small seating area for guests. We walked to the Gateway Mall to eat. The only thing that was strange is that they had some construction work going on across from us and the workers were working at night with a jackhammer when we were trying to go to sleep. The room price is a bit expensive, but it was worth it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler888888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the all the positive reviews. Our rating, although very good, would be somewhat more modest. We would concur with the reviews that the rooms are spacious and well appointed. Our room was very clean, perhaps as clean as any room we have stayed in. The view from our window of downtown Salt Lake City was wonderful. The only issue we had was the breakfast. It was good but not exceptional. We may have suffered from expectations that were too high to meet. We would certainly recommend that this property be considered.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the east side of the hotel...that will give you a view of downtown salt lake.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harlan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This Hyatt place was great. Room was very large with comfortable bed, nice bathroom, great shower and good breakfast included in the rate. Gym and small swimming pool on site.
The hotel is very close to Temple Square and lovely shopping areas. All within a 5 minute walk. We stayed on Saturday night and walked up to Temple Square on Sunday morning. When we arrived the Mormon Tabernacle Choir were doing their Sunday morning service. It was incredible to listen too and to see. A must if in Salt Lake City on a Sunday morning.
Great hotel in Salt Lake city. Far exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dublinlady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Fabulous hotel, super clean, quiet and friendly staff. The breakfast was wonderful and pool was clean and warm. I would stay hear again and recommend it to my family and friends! It was also in the perfect location as it is right across the street from the Gateway Mall. There are over a hundred stores and some terrific places to eat without having to drive around. A super stay!

Room Tip: We had rooms on both sides of the hotel and it was quiet on either side.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
1.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downt...
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
805 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown

Address: 55 N 400 W, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#8 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $131 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Hotel Salt Lake City
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing