We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new exhibit with Rocky Shores”
Review of Utah's Hogle Zoo

Utah's Hogle Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Salt Lake City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #14 of 160 things to do in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Family-friendly entertainment at affordable prices: this zoo features more than 1,100 animals fom all over the world. Don't miss the brand new African Savanna featuring giraffes, zebra and African lions. Elephant Encounter brings you close with the world's largest land mammals and white rhinos. Rocky Shores boasts over 300,000 gallons of temperature-controlled pools for seals, sea lions and a polar bear. Plus big cats, great apes and more!
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great new exhibit with Rocky Shores”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have been going to the Hogle Zoo for most of my life and the zoo has had a lot of changes and I think the recent additions of Rocky Shores is great. You can see bald eagles, grizzly bears, polar bear, harbour seals and sea lions. The seals and sea lions are particularly entertaining and I could have watched them for hours. The Asian Highlands continues to be great, with chances to see Amur leopards and tigers, as well as Siberian Lynx and Snow Leopards. This summer the zoo also has Lego animal exhibits that are really cool to see up close.

The only downside is the zoo is currently under a lot of construction as they are working on a new African Safari, so there is less to see at the moment. However, I think that the new exhibits are enticing enough to make up for the more limited number of animals and I look forward to seeing the new area in the future.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank futureconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    259
    101
    18
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ogden, utah
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hogle Zoo”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

It had been more than a few years since I've been to the zoo so I decided it was time to go. Lots of changes; some good, some bad. First the good....the new exhibits for the animals are amazing. So neat to get so close to the animals. Was able to look a rhino in the eye while he was taking a drink of water. Also got to get nose to nose to a sea lion. So cool!! Could have sat and watched the seals and sea lions all day. They were very entertaining. A couple of the sea lions started getting a bit too frisky so we decided to move on. The Lego creations are way cool. My kids are huge into Legos so they were in awe over each one.
Now for the not so good...First the construction. I understand that after its all said and done it will be nice and everything but so much of the zoo is blocked off right now. They have a new merry go round in the middle of the zoo. Cool right? Yes, but it is an extra fee to ride it. So when they bring the train back is that going to cost extra also? One other thing I found a bit frustrating is the fact that yes you can bring your own food in, which we did, and yes there are lots of shaded table areas, but there are also signs posted in those table areas that they are only to be used if you purchase food at the cafe or restaurant. We ended up finding a table with no shade near the entrance where everyone who walked in got to watch us eating our pb&j sandwiches. All in all we had a good time and it was a fun thing to do for the day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank meandkids04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lions and Tigers and Bears, Oh My!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Hogle Zoo is good zoo that keeps getting better. I'd give it five stars, except it seems that one or two areas are closed due to construction / renovation. Of course, that also means the zoo is taking time to improve itself.

If you're from out of town and are in the area for at least a week, it is well worth the trip, especially for parents with kids. The zoo is not as large as some of the other big city zoos across the U.S., but it is big enough to spend several hours walking around.

If you've just moved to Utah, definitely worth going to. It's become an annual tradition for our family.

Best time to go - spring or fall, as the animals are typically much more active. The summer heat seems to keep the animals inside - hey, you would to if you were covered in hair! If you do go in the summer, recommend going early or late in the day. Avoid from 12 - 4 pm.

Only one complaint - price is a little high. The zoo should offer more discounts and specials.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 64Aviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Construction everywhere !”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I don't know why the zoo chose the summer months and why they took out such a large portion of the zoo for their renovation. Due to this there is not much to see. Maybe it's best to revisit the zoo when their construction is completed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A zoo worthy of a day trip”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

When I lived in SLC it was customary to take a yearly trip to the zoo. Because of its size, Hogle Zoo is worthy of a day trip. It boasts a large variety of animals, many of them exotic, including an open aviary where you can walk around freely and watch the birds overhead. My favorite walk-through are the Asian Highlands where most of the big cats reside, including a snow leopard which is one of my absolute favorite animals. The only attraction I really didn't enjoy was the train ride through the zoo - it travels too close to a couple of caged animals and when the conductor would blow the horn it would visibly irritate the animals.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Utah's Hogle Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Utah's Hogle Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing