We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Light” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ellerbeck Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ellerbeck Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 11 Salt Lake City B&B and Inns
SF
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Light”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

We had a wonderful stay. We stayed in the Spring Room - so light and gentle; the bathroom was a delight and opened to a private roof deck.

Debbie, the innkeeper, was the perfect balance of service and giving us the space to be private and feel at home. There are 2 sitting areas - one right outside of the bedoom that afforded pleasant relaxing time in the eveing.

I thought it was the perfect location - walking distance to downtown, yet quietly residential with tree lined streets.

We loved it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KnitandPurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
18
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

We to Salt Lake City on business and we were looking for a change of pace. The Ellerbeck Mansion Historic B & B built in Victorian Era circa 1892 fit the bill. From the moment Debbie greeted us at the door our stay was perfect. My room the "Calm Seas" overlooked B Street in the historic district. The furnishings were comfortable and very clean. Breakfast included a fresh fruit dish which was wonderful. Downtown, Temple Square and the Family History Library are withing walking distance. There is free parking in the rear. This is also a great city park within walking distance called Memory Grove Park with a great jogging route up City Creek Canyon Road. - Ed and Joe

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdSAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

This lovely old home was delightful. I stayed for a week during a conference, and it was wonderful to get away from the convention center and the big box hotels, and pad into the sparkling kitchen to get myself a cup of (complimentary) tea in the evenings. It was a short walk to downtown through the lovely flowers and fountains of the Mormon Temple Square. I felt safe walking at night. The B&B was super-clean. I never saw a bug or a speck of dust. The innkeeper was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious, and not so huge you felt like you were wasting half of it. I had the Summer Hill room which was charming. The rocking chair was so comfy! I can't say enough good things about this B&B. Do yourself a favor and stay here if you get the chance.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMcW320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

after reading the last reviews I was really worried as I had not checked these before booking - when I got there I mentioned the bad reviews - the manager was sorry to hear about the reviews and really tried to make a good impression. We found the inn to be very clean - no problems there. It is a great location - walking distance to the main downtown and great restaurants. Breakfast was average at best - fruit was good. Manager was pleasant - better experience than I expected - I would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetogotobandbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2009

The Ellerbeck was my first experience staying at a Bed & Breakfast. I absolutely LOVED it! I can't wait to go there again. I loved the decor. It has such an elegant, yet homey feel. The hostess was wonderful. She made sure we had everything we needed. Our room was VERY comfortable. The room was very clean and had such a cozy feel to it. The bed was so comfortable. The Ellerbeck is in such a perfect location. It is in easy walking distance to a number of local attractions. In the morning, we ate a wonderful breakfast that was brought right to our door...so I got Breakfast in Bed! The food was great and presented well. I have been telling my family and friends how wonderful this place is. My husband and I are planning to stay there for our next anniversary.

  • Liked — The relaxing atmosphere
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank laynie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, UT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2008

Do Not stay at this bed and breakfast unless you want to take home a case of bed bugs! The entire home was filthy, dust every where. The breakfast was a joke and the inn keeper was not sociable.

The price was high!

Breakfast was served by a hostess in a dirty T-shirt and old sweatpants.

When we got home I woke up with bed bug bites all over my body.

Stay away from this place!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Bed Bugs
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rhigginb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerbeck, Owner at Ellerbeck Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2009
When I saw this review I can't tell you how disheartened I was. The reviewer must have been sadly mistaken or may have had an axe to grind. No verbal reports of bed or other bugs have ever been heard by myself or out Innkeeper. A very close inspection has yielded nothing of the sort. Rooms are cleaned and sanitized, and fresh clean linen is changed as soon as a guest checks out and regularly in between. We pride ourselves in having and maintaining the cleanest most well kept Inn possible. As bad luck would have it, this poor review came before any other reviews had been made of our property. When there was only 1 review and it was a terrible one, it's a real uphill battle to encourage guests to visit us so they can trust their own eyes and experience the real comfort, cleanliness, and tidiness that so many satisfied guests have enjoyed with us over the years. Please come see for yourself, read the hundreds of wonderful comments in our guest book, stay with us, and let us know if your stay at the Ellerbeck Mansion isn't one of the highlights of your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2008

The Ellerback has a good location but that is about all. The cleanliness was terrible. In the bathroom there was dust on the horizontal surfaces and a large fingernail clipping on the floor. The baseboard moldings were filthy in the room.

Breakfast was mediocre. The fruit course consisted entirely of some cut up melon, there was no fresh baked bread or pastry and the egg and cheese main course was served on a commercial croissant.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerbeck, Owner at Ellerbeck Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 10, 2009
Our meticulous innkeeper assures that all surfaces are dusted, rooms are cleaned, fresh linens are on the beds, and bathrooms are sanitized. In addition, deep steam cleaning of all surfaces is conducted on a regular, periodic basis. As the owner, I'm constantly personally inspecting the level of cleanliness and service that we pride ourselves in. This reviewer is, respectfully, nearly alone in his assessment. As can be confirmed, every contribution to Tripadvisor this reviewer has made on all listed properties has been a rating of Terrible. This anomaly stands out, as all of these properties have by and large an overwhelming rating of Excellent by other reviewers. We continue to provide the kind of service and hospitality that we ourselves would love to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
1.3 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerbeck Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerbeck Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ellerbeck Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 140 North B Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84103
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellerbeck Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ellerbeck Mansion is conveniently located at the corner of 3rd Avenue and B Street, in a quiet residential neighborhood just five blocks from the center of downtown Salt Lake City. Guests can walk to Historic Temple Square, museums, Family History Library,downtown shopping and dining. The mansion isa short fifteen minute drive from the Salt Lake International Airport and just 30 to 45 minutes from our famous ski resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ellerbeck Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerbeck Mansion Bed & Breakfast Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing