We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over all a great experience... could have been a 5 star but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anniversary Inn - South Temple
Ranked #4 of 11 Salt Lake City B&B and Inns
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Over all a great experience... could have been a 5 star but...”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed in the Sultan's Palace this month for our 10th anniversary.

Just a few points-
-I believe this specific suite is over-priced after seeing the other rooms in it's price-class.
-The king bed is great, but it is so huge that the bed frame is easy to trip on. I have a huge bruise from bashing my thigh at the end. Obviously I'm not the only only to hit it with something as there are many dents in that area.
-The bathroom was a great size
-The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. A sugary croissant with a sugary yogurt parfait (don't get me wrong- everything tasted great, but too much sweet for the morning)
-Cheesecake was a nice touch.
-Night clerk was very nice (and very quirky)
-Room was STUFFY! Can't open the windows.
-The bed is SO big and there is no place to put a suitcase without tripping over it.
-Only one bedside lamp, so no options for mood lighting. The overhead lighting was bright!

So overall, I don't have many complaints (and I'm very picky!), but I do feel it is slightly overpriced. Next time I think I may try another BnB that doesn't have as nice a website but could possibly have better rooms.

Room Tip: Pick a larger room than the Sultan's palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunShyneBYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Provo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed the end of April and already the rooms on the top two floors were very hot! We told the front desk and he cranked up the a/c but only the hallway seemed to cool down. He offered us another room, which we switched to but it was also on an upper floor and only slightly better. The decor is fun, but that doesn't do anyone much good if you can't sleep from the heat. When we took a shower/bath in the morning, there is no bathroom fan and it just heated up the room horribly so the morning was almost worse than the night.
You can't get your own ice, either. I appreciate the help the staff gave us, but it's not worth the money if it's not comfortable. We won't come back here unless we can see they've figured out a way to make each room have their own temp control and have a strong a/c system.

Room Tip: Savannah nights was a good room, it had a corner terrace, amazing tub and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, utah
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We've stayed here many times and LOVED it, but we've always been in the basement. This time we were on the third floor, and our room was stifling! We complained, and they told us the air was running and it should cool down. We left to attend a concert and got back nearly four hours later, and it was so hot we couldn't hardly stand it. They brought us up a portable fan, but said they couldn't do anything else about the temperature. It was midnight by then, so going someplace else was not very feasible. We stayed, and left early in the morning (which is sad, when you spend that much money and stay in that nice of a room, you want to enjoy it). They ended up giving us $50 off, and a $50 coupon for our next stay, which was nice of them, but it was still a lousy night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loganbeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The inn was in a beautiful old house but it certainly does not live up to the hype. We stayed in two different rooms and feel very differently about each one. The first was the Kahn Mansion room. First off there are no controls for the A/C or heat in the room; the room was too hot most of the time, even after calling the desk several times. The bed was king size but while not uncomfortable it did not meet the standards for most good hotel rooms. Breakfast was just average, a ham & cheese croisant, yogurt, coffee, and juice. The water brought in for tea was just warm and we had to call the desk and ask for hot water. The two nights we spent in that room had us thinking we had made a mistake. Our last night we stayed in the Savanna Nights room; that was a nice room. The bed was a little better and the bath was a lot nicer. Breakfast was the same. There is no coffee maker in the room and I had to call the desk for coffee each morning. That is an inconvenience. We were booked for the Phanton room but after checking it out we asked if there was something else available. For a special couples get-away I would recommend staying somewhere else, but just to spend a night or two Anniversary Inn will work.

Room Tip: All rooms are a bit nosy but the rooms we saw on the second floor were better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John-in-Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I loved staying here. I was surprised to see it wasn't a 5 star rating! We stayed in the enchanted forest room and it was amazing. Huge room, big bathtub, robes, even cheesecake in the fridge and sparkling cider all included. There was music playing in our room which was nice when we got there. Check in was very easy and smooth and we had a coupon for 50% off. The rest of the B&B looks beautiful inside and out. Breakfast was delicious (yogurt with fruit and granola and a pastry and tea/coffee and juice) and laid outside your door for whatever time your requested, they just knocked once when it was there. I hope I'm back in SLC one day to stay here again and check out one of their other rooms!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEH85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We always have a great time when we stay here. All the rooms are so much fun and different compared to other hotels or b&b's. The decor, breakfast brought to your room, treats, robes... always a good time! I wish it cost less to stay there, I would probably try every room:) I would recommend anniversary inn to anyone. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

A month after our stay we discovered an additional $150 charge on our credit card. We were accused of burning holes in the comfortor. I am currently seeking legal advice if for nothing else but to clear my name and put an end to this incredible dishonesty. Also, the rooms were not as great as the pictures on the website.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank andrea083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salt Lake City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
1.3 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,796 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,477 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
1.2 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
782 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#43 of 75 in Salt Lake City
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anniversary Inn - South Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anniversary Inn - South Temple

Property: The Anniversary Inn - South Temple
Address: 675 E South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84102-1153
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anniversary Inn - South Temple 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Touch of Elegance, a Hint of Adventure. The Anniversary Inn is Salt Lake's most romantic getaway. Each of the 14 rooms is designed around a specific theme. The South Temple location is in the heart of the historic downtown Avenues area of Salt Lake City just a couple of blocks from Temple Square and two shopping malls. Spend the night floating down the Mississippi or sleeping in the Jungles of Africa. If you've never stayed at an Anniversary Inn, you have got to try this place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Anniversary Inn - South Temple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anniversary Inn Salt Lake City
The Anniversary Inn - South Temple Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing