We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candlewood is ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport
Ranked #54 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Candlewood is ok”
Reviewed May 19, 2008

What first attracted me to this hotel was price and location to the airport. Upon arrival I thought wow looks pretty nice on the outside, but the rooms are a little dated. There weems to be a vomit smell in the room, I can't tell if its the deoderizer or what but it smells. The room is pretty good for the price, full fridge, dishwasher, microwave, and electrice stove top 2 burner. The gym equiptment is quit dated they have 2 treadmills but one is in need or repair and the other is ok but not great. The service is below average can't say they are too warm and fuzzy at the front desk. I would not stay here again too many choices in Salt Lake area find another.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — smelly room, dated room and fitness center
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank edojapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    56
    15
    10
    11
See reviews for
13
37
16
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2007

We stayed at the Candlewood suites for 3 nights during a ski trip. This hotel really needs some work, especially when it comes to serivce. Several things in the hotel did not work properly. We booked our trip through a last min vacation package service and the room came with 1 queen bed bed. I had called earlier in the day and asked if there was a room with 2 double beds available, she said yes there were plenty available and we should just ask for one at check in. Well of course when we got there the desk clerk said they could not change the room because it was pre-paid and there were just not enough double bed rooms to spare, or even a cot to spare. The hotel looked at most half full. Second, since this is a extended stay hotel ( which we didnt know) they do not do made service and will not even bring towels if you need extra. Even when I went to the front desk they gave me a hard time about extra towels, saying I should have hung them up. The second morning there was not hot water at all in the hotel. They said they had a mechanic on the way over, but gave no estimate of when they would be there. So had to go showerless most of that day since we were leaving early to go skiing. The remote control on the TV did not work, and they had no extras. One postive thing about this place were the kitchens and the size of the rooms. That at least made the space issue a little better. The rooms were clean enough when we got there as well. This hotel just needs to get alot better with customer service. I would advise trying one of the other many airport hotels around SLC.

  • Liked — Kitchens in the rooms
  • Disliked — lack of service and hot water.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank icem2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salt Lake City hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 20, 2006

Very clean, very comfortable rooms at a good price. I was never bothered by the airport. I could not hear the noise. Complimentary use of laundry facilities, a decent gym facility and a helpful staff made for a very nice, very comfortable stay. I would stay there again. It is very close to Temple Square.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2005

Our stay here was our first experience with Candlewood Suites but it won't be our last. Since we function on opposite shifts, we got a 1 bedroom suite. The bedroom was a genuine room, with a door that shut! Bathroom was king-size! Appreciated the two TVs. The kitchen had everything we needed: full size fridge with icemaker, microwave, all utensils. There is a free laundromat on the premises. Another convenience is the Candlewood Cupboard, which offers snack and convenience foods on the honor system. The hide-a-bed in the livingroom had the typical thin mattress, so an air bed or foam pad on top of it would help. The hotel is easy to get to from I-80 and North Temple, and is close to the airport. We didn't notice a lot of airport noise. We'll definitely stay here when we visit Salt Lake!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IdahoPug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Airport / East
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#38 of 75 in Salt Lake City
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#26 of 75 in Salt Lake City
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Salt Lake City Airport
Radisson Salt Lake City Airport
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Airport
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Air...
#36 of 75 in Salt Lake City
212 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Salt Lake City Airport
Courtyard Salt Lake City Airport
#39 of 75 in Salt Lake City
254 reviews
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#42 of 75 in Salt Lake City
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport

Property: Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport
Address: 2170 W North Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84116-2913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home™ Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City Airport Hotel is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls, free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie or music from the hotel library and enjoy in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Work off some stress in our 24-hour Fitness Center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). The Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City Airport Hotel is located just 2 Miles West of Downtown Salt Lake City and Temple Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport Hotel Salt Lake City
Candlewood Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing