We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homestead Suite - Sugar House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House
Ranked #56 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Homestead Suite - Sugar House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Quiet hotel even though located is a heavily traveled area. Room was clean with well maintained hardware (stove, refrigerator, and sink). The staff were all knowledgeable and gave concise, easily followed directions. The hotel sits back off the street which made it a bit difficult for me to see on the first pass. Parking was sufficient. The rate was excellent since my wife booked it through Priceline. I would stay there again when I'm in south Salt Lake City. We were on the second floor so the elevator was a welcome convenience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleal, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to thank you for letting us know about your wonderful experience here at hotel. It's great to hear that your accommodations were great and that our staff was very helpful. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    36
    29
    25
    38
See reviews for
38
29
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

When in town I always chose this location. It's close to the Freeways, i80 and 2-15 belt, and fairly close to downtown for any fun. The rooms are always clean and ready early on, just in case Early check-in is needed. Very accommodating. Greyson is always ready to help with anything and has done a good job training the Front desk in handling any issues. I love the scenery here, there is a small creek and walking path to the South of the hotel that is great for early morning walks/jogs and evening strolls after dinner at one of the MANY restaurants. Everything in Sugarhouse is in Walking distance including Barnes&Noble, noodles co., Rubio's, Old Navy, Bed&Bath and Whole Foods just to name a few... There is also an awesome $1.50 Movie Cinema just a quick 5 minute walk from the hotel and store fronts =)

All in All, it's a good place to stay. Very close to Park City(25min), Downtown(10min), Dog Park(5min), etc etc... I found it convenient with all the close by shopping and food centers, as well as peaceful which is rare at Any hotel. This has outside access which is nice for those who keep to themselves, like nature and enjoy minimal social encounters during their stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room with either Glass sliding door to 'closet' area, or a hanging curtain to "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbenington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleal, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
"It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. Our company motto is ""Excellence Every Day, Every Way,"" and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I really wanted to give this hotel a higher rating because I enjoyed several things about this hotel including: (1) its proximity to great shopping and restaurants; (2) it was a nicely furnished and comfortable room; and (3) the front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. However, there are a few things I did not enjoy about this hotel. First, my hotel room was not refreshed once during my five night stay (sheets and towels hadn't been changed once, carpet wasn't vacuumed and floors weren't swept, and soaps/shampoo/etc. were never replenished). Second, my room came with a kitchenette with some basic supplies to make a simple meal. However, the small kitchen area, including the dishware, wasn't very clean and discouraged me from cooking. In-room coffee service was offered but since the room wasn't serviced, I had to keep going to the front desk to ask for coffee, creamer, and sugar.

It is an excellent value and I would consider staying here again if I was only staying for one or two nights. But for longer stays, I would recommend another hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook a little creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yale_Alum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleal, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience. I know how committed we are to satisfying our guests, which is why it gave me great pleasure to read your kind words about our staff. Given this commitment, it was with great concern that I read the rest of your account. You have my most sincere apologies that your stay wasn't totally enjoyable.

As is true of most extended stay hotels, we offer scaled back housekeeping services. We also offer additional daily housekeeping service for a nominal charge. I do regret, however, that we were not able to make this clear to you before you booked your stay with us. for this i am sorry.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure in the future we properly communicate our services to all guests. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction.

If there is anything you would like to discuss further feel free to reach me at eleal@extendedstay.com. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

my husband and I had to come to salt lake city for medical and stayed in here....... very CLEAN, very NICE, QUITE and close to lots of food and buslines.. ALEX at the front desk helped me by copying some paper work i needed real quick and JESSICA helped get a fax i needed as well , very RESPECTFUL and HELPFUL.......... nice place to stay and relax WILL MOST DEF stay again if we have to come back to utah. thanks for making our stay comfortable .......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanamo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleal, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that Alex and Jessica were able to meet your request in a timely manner. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Within walking distance of Westminster campus, but that's the only advantage. No daily cleaning, coffee not always ready at the front office in the morning, had to go ask for individual coffee for room coffee maker, dishes are hand washed. Can you trust the cleanliness of the maid and/or stranger who stayed in the room prior? I don't!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlleyOopIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleal, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our Sugarhouse Location. I sincerely apologize that our services did not meet your needs. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate feedback as yours. Yet, in response to your feedback, I will personally ensure the staff is properly trained on our amenities thus ensure situations as you encountered do not occur again. I sincerely apologize again.

In regards to the lack of our daily housekeeping services please note that one of the reasons we are able to provide such low rates is by eliminating such services the extended stay traveler seems as no need such as daily housekeeping.

If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at eleal@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great team-
Clean, simple and a great convenient location.
Staff is great and very helpful.
For a no nonsense stay and conveniece to many places- stay here an they will treat you right.
Great upgrades and construction is over.

Room Tip: South side is quiet and you can hear water all night
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleal, Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I'm so pleased to hear that we are your choice Hotel when you visited The Sugarhouse Area. It is GREAT to hear our staff was very helpful. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have stayed here many times this year as we come to SLC for medical services. It has indeed been our home away from home. It is wonderful to find an affordable place with so many advantages. The kitchenette has everything you could want. The staff has always been friendly and accommodating. They go out of their way to make sure any special reservation requests are met and that we are happy with our room. The rooms have always been clean and comfortable with everything in working order. We find the location unbeatable, a quiet haven in the middle of the city. There is convenient access to a variety of restaurants, the Wholefoods market and a quickstop just up the street. The nearby walking path and creek complete the home atmosphere. It's easy to forget you're in the middle of a city. The location is convenient to the hospitals and clinics we have needed to visit. It has been good to have such a dependably pleasant place to stay on our trips. We will continue to stay at Sugarhouse Homestead Suites whenever we're in Salt Lake City.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleal, Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you continue to visit us during your trips to Salt Lake City. It's also great to hear that our Staff is always accommodating to your needs. We sincerely thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
1.7 mi away
Ramada Salt Lake City
Ramada Salt Lake City
#51 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
2.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake...
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt ...
#17 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
6.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport
Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City...
#54 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.7 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott University Park
Salt Lake City Marriott Universi...
#25 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House

Property: Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House
Address: 1220 East 2100 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84106 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites - Salt Lake City - Sugar House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Extended Stay and HotelQuickly so you can book your Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Salt Lake City/Sugarhouse Hotel Salt Lake City
Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing