We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Historic building with beautiful lobby, small but well appointed rooms, awesome restaurant, hang out lobby blasting an eclectic mix, and very very friendly staff, and ......wine tasking at 5 PM daily. What's not to like andg why stay anywhere else in Salt Lake City (finding hip here, who would have thought...)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schnepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2009

Couldn't have said it better than Travel Diva 7 below. Felt a bit of an outsider in SLC, but felt like one of the cool kids on the back of the bus at Hotel Monaco. Although it is a bit out of my budget, I would definitely stay there again if ever in SLC. The decorating is funky and hip, the staff is brilliant...so nice and welcoming from the front desk to the valets. Traveled to Salt Lake to see a concert and was amused to find the band staying at the hotel too. I will be looking for Kimpton hotels whenever I travel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madmission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

My then fiance (now husband) stayed there for a night back in 07 and it was amazing. We loved everything about it. We got engaged there and it couldnt have been any nicer! We go back there for our anniversary and they printed out these menus for us that said "Happy Anniversary" and it had our names printed on them. We kept them of course! The food in their restaurant was delicious. The room was perfect and I loved how our tub was huge and jetted! I could live there.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingWife08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

I read good reviews about this hotel - and indeed they were all true. The valets, concierge, and guest service people were great! However, I was a bit disappointed with the room - not for its size, but the fact that I could hear EVERY conversation the couple next door was having - which meant that not only could they hear us, but I spent the entire time worried they were annoyed with each time my pomeranian happened to bark, granted we were all on the dog floor. We had an excellent room service person who was nice enough to bring turkey or ham up for the dog each time we ordered food. The restaurant was ok - we ordered dinner twice from Bambara and found it to be more expensive than need be for what we received. Just a tip upon check-in they do put a security hold on your credit card for lost or damaged items (for us it was $300) along with the full stay... so you will have pending charges on your card until you check out. Considering this hotel is right in the middle of SLC - should I ever go back I will stay there again - just ask for a room possibly more secluded.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirsdi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We made a reservation for one QQ Room and one 1-bedroom-Suite, for a short stay in SLC after flyling in from Europe. Just the time to detox prior our one month vacation in the wild west.

Hotel Monaco SLC is the standard Kimpton fare. Good location, young staff, typical decor (hype or cheesy, depending on how you feel about it), well appointed rooms, nice food available.

Swift check-in, with young smiling attendants. Good bellman service. The cheapest room got upgraded to a Double-Double Corner Room on the last floor. The Suite was on a middle floor. Both matched our expectations, except that TV set in the bedroom of the Suite was an old one in a cabinet, not a now standard flat screen, which was in the sitting room only.
Good size bathrooms with nice Aveda amenities of memory serves me well. Those were supplied scarcely, as is common practice nowadays.

Nice if not great breakfast at Bambara, with nice food selection. Young smiling service, very effective.

One nice touch with the Valet, which I don't think I ever saw anywhere else. They wipe your windscreen clean, which is clever and useful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PASCAL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Recently stayed at the Hotel Monaco in SLC...this hotel lives up to the Kimpton Hotel reputation. We enjoyed nicely decorated rooms, comfortable beds, and great service....excellent restaurant on site.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Oh, let’s admit it. Salt Lake City is not the most scintillating destination. But after an interminable 11-hour drive from the San Francisco Bay Area, the Hotel Monaco was like an oasis of elegance and hipness in the middle of this desert. It’s like the anti-Salt Lake City. The public rooms are colorful, tasteful, sensuous. The fun continues in the rooms. We booked the Monte Carlo suite and arrived road-weary with our dog. The staff was gracious and welcoming – moments after the bellman left, housekeeping arrived with a doggie bed and food/water bowls. Hats off to the interior designers because the rooms decorated with a plethora of colors and patterns that is pure genius. Whimsical but elegant. It’s all in the details and unlike cookie-cutter chain hotels, Kimpton pays attention to small but important touches. Like a jogging map of Salt Lake City, multi-plug cords on top of the desk, roomy animal print bath robes, a stereo (music playing when we arrived – nice touch). The Monte Carlo suite has a huge bathroom with jetted bath and water temperature selector. Great after a long day on the road. Sign up ahead of time for the Kimpton In-Touch membership and get free wifi. I highly recommend this hotel – its right up there with Portland’s Hotel Lucia but much more luscious.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravelDiva7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhotelmonaco, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2009

Dear TravelDiva7,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Monaco in Salt Lake City. I am so thrilled that both you and your dog enjoyed your experience with us! We hope you will visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,

MaryLynn Beck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#13 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,901 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City

Address: 15 W 200 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#20 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $142 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing