We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but too expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice but too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with exceptionally friendly staff. Excellent happy hour in the evenings with free wine & nibbles for a full hour - a very nice touch! We were in Utah for a conference and the hotel was ideally located, a mere 5 minute walk to the convention centre. The bathroom was huge, and the bedroom was extremely luxurious. Bed was very comfortable, really enjoyed my stay! All in all, great experience however not sure it would be the worth the high price we paid, a little on the expensive side.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SuperAureus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    283
    72
    44
    27
See reviews for
144
324
58
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Had a great weekend rate in july. Normally 5 star prices which are still reflected in all other pricing, but service is accordingly good. Very nice stylish rooms, good wifi, friendly staff. Very nice bambara restaurant with nice feel. Downtown location. Parking at next door garage 20$, valet 27$.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank panda58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Really disappointed with this hotel……. we thought it would be great! But it wasn't. Firstly the rooms are very small, almost felt like we were in a closet. Our "view" was looking straight out at a brick wall, and the L shaped pokey room did not have a couch or sitting area like shown in the photos. The level smelt smokey also. No complimentary water provided, ($8 for a bottle if you want!) or coffee, and to add to it WIFI was 19.00 per day!!!! What a joke!
The staff told us that you had to be in the Hilton membership to gain free internet service, however we previously stayed in a hilton ( without this membership) with FREE WIFI…….so go figure.
No pool or hot tub in this place which was also a let down.
Valet parking, is somewhat inconvenient really as whenever you wanted something from your car you had to wait 10mins for the valet guys to go and retrieve your car just to get your sunglasses out (for example).
Also- a painful wait for the lifts…..only 1 lift operating out of 4!!!!

Only plus side…..fitness room was ok, but not impressive, and close to shops and restaurants.

Our 2 nights in Salt lake city were very disappointing, as it felt like we were in a box the whole time that had a punched out window. Now I'm not one to usually write up a review, but after being disappointed with this hotel i would suggest to do your homework first so you know if this hotel suits your needs. For us- it did not.

Room Tip: If you stay here- only get the BEST room suite- the others seem small and pokey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noodles975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darynw, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
I would like to take a moment to apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay with us. I will immediately address these issues with my staff and work to make sure they do not happen in the future.

I would love to discuss your concerns further. Please feel free to contact me at daryn.white@kimptonhotels.com

Once again I sincerely apologize our hotel did not meet your expectations.

Looking forward to speaking with you

Daryn White
General Manager
Hotel Monaco SLC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Hotel Monaco is the only hotel I will use in Salt Lake City from now on. The rooms are smartly decorated and functional. The bed is comfortable. The climate control, unlike many hotels, actually works. And this hotel excels in the area that most often causes me to mark down a hotel in reviews: Internet connectivity. The Internet speeds are sufficient to make it actually useable. The restaurant ("Bambara") and bar are attractive; the service and food are great (though some of the dishes on the menu are a bit overpriced). If you eat in the bar, you have a couple of additional food items not available in the restaurant: a chicken sandwich and a hamburger. I did not try the chicken sandwich, but the hamburger was one of the best I have ever had. The hotel is only one block from the Gallivan Plaza TRAX station, on the Green line. It is a less than 30-minute ride from the Airport station, with no transfer required.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was suppossed to be pet friendly and they didnt have a place for pets to go. You have to be prepare to pay valet parking, evrything you have to pay, no coffee in the room. There were only one elevator out of 4 available, the elevator was so crowded there was hardly any room to move. The hotel doesnt provide you with a map for local places. There was a homeless man right in front of the entrance sleeping in the planter, not a good sign.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank harogonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darynw, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback. I would love to discuss the challenges with your stay more in depth. Please feel free to contact me at daryn.white@kimptonhotels.com

Looking forward to hearing from you

Daryn White
General Manager
Hotel Monaco SLC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, UT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great, fun, property!
Look at their website for deals!
The restaurant is delicious, rooms comfortable and location is perfect!
If you have a pet, bring the critter. Bikes available and yoga mats in the room!

Green Features: A plus for being green! A recycling bin is in each room.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmjmarkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great place to stay. Check-in was quick and easy. Hotel room was very nice. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant was excellent.The food was very good and the wait staff was attentive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenL709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Address: 15 W 200 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#20 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing