We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Hot Water, Terrible Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“No Hot Water, Terrible Customer Service”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed here last September and were really looking forward to it. However, it was not even close to what we had hoped. There was no hot water to shower and almost zero water pressure. Our room keys did not work once. And when we talked to the front desk about it they blamed us and said that we were demagnetizing the cards? We have never once had that happen at any hotel we stayed at ever, and yet it was all our fault. It was really annoying to say the least. Our room was tiny and the window looked right out at a parking garage. I won't be staying there again.
The hotel looked nice. And was in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mesheree1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darynw, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
I would like to offer our apologies for the lack of service you received during your stay with us. I assure you that I personality will address this issue with the employees involved and fix this issue. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any additional information you would like to add about your recent stay with us. Thank you for bringing it to our attention

Daryn White
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
801.595.0000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    318
    82
    47
    30
See reviews for
172
392
63
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

What an amazing stay! Hotel Monaco started us out with an upgrade from our Villa Suite to a Magestic Suite...so very nice. Dinner at Bambara was amazing! They provided us with menu's that had been printed with "Happy 10th Anniversary" on them just for us.
The next day we brought our two boys to the room to spend the night. The Hotel Concierge service had sent up two gold fish, a tray of cookies and a complimentary movie for them. When we checked out our boys told us it was the best hotel ever!
The hotel was very clean and close to plenty of dining options. Everyone was so helpful, friendly, and made us feel like VIP.
Can't wait until our next stay~
Thank you Hotel Monaco & Bambara for the unforgettable weekend!

Room Tip: We were on the North East corner in a Magestic Suite. The views were amazing. Couldn't imagine a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 30AJA71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Hotel Monaco is in a great location in downtown Salt Lake City. The hotel is on the Trax line from the airport and is walking distance to the convention center and many good restaurants. The rooms are a bit small but have very comfortable beds.

Room Tip: You have to request in advance a room with a king size bed. Some rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZ85603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darynw, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for your recent Trip Advisor review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. You are correct - we have a wonderful location with great access to everything downtown. We look forward to your next visit.

Please let me know if I can assist in the future!

Daryn White
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was our second stay at Hotel Monaco and we were again blown away by their customer service. Every single person at the hotel is courteous, friendly, and seem to be happy doing their job, how refreshing! Upon check-in our daughter was so happy to see a fish at the front desk that when we arrived at our room later that day, they had put a goldfish in our room just for her! It made her trip. Time after time the staff goes above and beyond. Also love all the little touches: cocktail hour, hot apple cider in the lobby, yummy food.

Only complaint would be that the restaurant isn't open til 8am on the weekends...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamiezuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darynw, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks jamiezuss! I appreciate your thoughts on the hotel and staff! The hotel staff here are chosen for their ability to make guests feel special by finding out what you need and making it happen. I am so glad we were able to do that for your daughter.

We look forward to seeing you both again soon!

Daryn White
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I flew out to SLC about a month ago for work. I had attended the Outdoor Retailer show. We booked our stay here at the hotel Monaco. When arriving we checked out stuff at the desk and unfortunately instead of having a room with 2 beds for the both of us we had a room with 1 bed. So they brought us a roll away bed for the night until we could get another room the next day.

Our stay was only for 2 nights so by the time we were done and ready to head back to the hotel we decided to just skip switching room since we were leaving the next morning to fly back home.

The rooms were exceptionally clean. The employees were very friendly, especially during the busy time for the OR show. The location of the hotel was practically diagonally across from the Salt Palace which was convenient for walking to and from. As well as located within walking distances of a mall and many restaurants.

The hot water in the room took a few minutes to actually get warm for the shower. Other than those few quirky things, it was a beautiful hotel and I would definitely love to visit again.

Oh not to mention the FREE happy hour from 4-6 of wine!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbrady1880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
230 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Great little hotel close to downtown in the heart of the city. Evening wine tasting and chair massages in the lobby. Great rooms and extremely attentive staff make every stay a delight. Not for those on a budget but worth the price.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with a mountain view are my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darynw, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Always nice to see happy guests writing reviews for us! Thank you Gary for sharing the details of your stay. I am so glad you were able to experience our wine hour featuring tasty wines along with chair massages. Hopefully we will see you for your next Salt Lake City adventure!

Take care,

Daryn White
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Just finished a three night stay and it could not have been better. I am very particular about beds and this one was superior. Real down pillows and high quality bedding. The room is a little small since the hotel was built in 1912, but fine for one person. Bathroom was nice and everything very clean. I found the hotel to be very quiet. I also highly recommend the conference facilities. Service was great and delicious food served for our meetings. Our only complaint was that everything seemed overheated and we had to ask for AC several times, even though it was winter.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darynw, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Wow Laura, thank you for your wonderful words! We take great pride in making sure every aspect of our hotel is comfortable for each and every guest. I am so happy to hear that everything from your guestroom to conference was perfect. Thank you for your review on us and thank you for being our guest. Till next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,775 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#13 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Address: 15 W 200 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#20 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing