We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was our second stay at Hotel Monaco and we were again blown away by their customer service. Every single person at the hotel is courteous, friendly, and seem to be happy doing their job, how refreshing! Upon check-in our daughter was so happy to see a fish at the front desk that when we arrived at our room later that day, they had put a goldfish in our room just for her! It made her trip. Time after time the staff goes above and beyond. Also love all the little touches: cocktail hour, hot apple cider in the lobby, yummy food.

Only complaint would be that the restaurant isn't open til 8am on the weekends...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamiezuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darynw, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thanks jamiezuss! I appreciate your thoughts on the hotel and staff! The hotel staff here are chosen for their ability to make guests feel special by finding out what you need and making it happen. I am so glad we were able to do that for your daughter.

We look forward to seeing you both again soon!

Daryn White
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

I flew out to SLC about a month ago for work. I had attended the Outdoor Retailer show. We booked our stay here at the hotel Monaco. When arriving we checked out stuff at the desk and unfortunately instead of having a room with 2 beds for the both of us we had a room with 1 bed. So they brought us a roll away bed for the night until we could get another room the next day.

Our stay was only for 2 nights so by the time we were done and ready to head back to the hotel we decided to just skip switching room since we were leaving the next morning to fly back home.

The rooms were exceptionally clean. The employees were very friendly, especially during the busy time for the OR show. The location of the hotel was practically diagonally across from the Salt Palace which was convenient for walking to and from. As well as located within walking distances of a mall and many restaurants.

The hot water in the room took a few minutes to actually get warm for the shower. Other than those few quirky things, it was a beautiful hotel and I would definitely love to visit again.

Oh not to mention the FREE happy hour from 4-6 of wine!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbrady1880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Great little hotel close to downtown in the heart of the city. Evening wine tasting and chair massages in the lobby. Great rooms and extremely attentive staff make every stay a delight. Not for those on a budget but worth the price.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with a mountain view are my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darynw, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Always nice to see happy guests writing reviews for us! Thank you Gary for sharing the details of your stay. I am so glad you were able to experience our wine hour featuring tasty wines along with chair massages. Hopefully we will see you for your next Salt Lake City adventure!

Take care,

Daryn White
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Just finished a three night stay and it could not have been better. I am very particular about beds and this one was superior. Real down pillows and high quality bedding. The room is a little small since the hotel was built in 1912, but fine for one person. Bathroom was nice and everything very clean. I found the hotel to be very quiet. I also highly recommend the conference facilities. Service was great and delicious food served for our meetings. Our only complaint was that everything seemed overheated and we had to ask for AC several times, even though it was winter.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darynw, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Wow Laura, thank you for your wonderful words! We take great pride in making sure every aspect of our hotel is comfortable for each and every guest. I am so happy to hear that everything from your guestroom to conference was perfect. Thank you for your review on us and thank you for being our guest. Till next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Hotel Monaco in Salt Lake City is located downtown SLC. You can walk to great shops, restaurants and Theaters. Its a 15 min walk to Energy Solutions Area where the Utah Jazz play. You also have the TRAX rail line ($2.50 one way fare) right across the street from the hotel. From the valet attenda nts to front desk to housekeeping were all wonderful. Always with a smile and a nice greeting. Between 5-6pm in the lobby they have complimentary wine.The room was absolutely wonderful. The décor was awesome. From the carpet to the crown molding all very nicely appointed. The combination on the wonderful bedding and black-out curtain are a deadly combo; might sleep well into the middle of that day if you aren't careful. The sitting area of the room was great with two beautiful white chairs and a couch. We didn't want to leave, we were so comfortable and relaxed. The fitness center was a little small but there was never more than 3 people in it at once.

Room Tip: We were in Room 1103/1104
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myrna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darynw, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Hi Myrna!

Thank you for your recent review of the Hotel Monaco - your comments mean a lot to us, specifically our staff and will be shared.

We genuinely enjoy making our guests feel at home, as for many of us this is also like coming home - each day, and are always so thrilled to get a review such as yours.

Hoping we see you again in the very near future!

With our thanks,

Daryn White
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Hotel Monaco in SLC continues to impress. I've stayed there multiple times and have yet to have a bad experience. The location is perfect, the rooms are funky and fun, the staff is amazing and the experience is unbeatable. Not one thing to complain about.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darynw, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

WOW! Thanks Melissa! Your note really made me smile. We are so happy to have had the honor of you staying with us multiple times. We can't wait to see you again soon. If you need something to make your next stay special, let us know!

Daryn White
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Excellent staff. Great location. Amazing restaurant. Thoughtful afternoon hosted wine and munchies...Parking fees are 20 dollars. Noise can sometimes be an issue. This is an older building that has been very nicely refitted as an upscale hotel. If you want something a "little bit more fun" in DT SLC you will love this place.

Room Tip: There is no pool, spa or hot tub...If you are a skier and looking for a good apres ski soak...look e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,876 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City

Address: 15 W 200 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#20 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $162 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing